We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor but awful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Antigua
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Don't be fooled by the nice entrance and decor of this hotel: the service is inexistent.
you just don't feel welcome in such hotel!
These people definitely need a few hospitality lessons. For a bit more bucks escape to the "Parador Santa Maria la Real": it's another world!
Breakfast especially showed us that they simply don't care about customers.
It could be great with a little of warmth and attention but it isn't!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molincom, Gerente at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Lamentamos profundamente haberle causado la impresión de no ser bienvenido a nuestro hotel, nada más lejos de la realidad, esto ha ocasionado tener nuestra primera opinión calificándonos como malo. Sobretodo nos pesa no haberle contribuido a usted para una buena estadía en nuestra ciudad.
Haremos esfuerzos intensivos para mejorar nuestra calidad de atención que en esta oportunidad no ha logrado su satisfacción, a diferencia de la mayor parte de opiniones de otros huéspedes que indican un alto nivel del mismo, y no repetir esta situación con personas que, como usted, merecen el mejor trato.

Tenga usted la seguridad que su crítica nos ayudará a superarnos.

Atentamente,

María Teresa Molina
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a Birthday treat and absolutely loved the place. It's located perfectly just two blocks from the beautiful Plaza in the buzzing City of Sucre.

We booked a suite and the room was amazing, spacious and full of character, culture and modernisation. It came fully equipped with a large wardrobe, fridge, cable TV, Wifi all around the Hotel and a jacuzzi Bath, which we enjoyed a number of times!

The Hotel staff were brilliant, so friendly and helpful. We had a Birthday surprise organised consisting of some champagne, chocolates, flowers and fruit in the room which the staff had displayed beautifully with rose petals and white table clothes.

Around the Hotel is amazing, we had a balcony facing the colourful garden and upstairs there are plenty of terrace space over looking the City with breath taking views.

I'd highly recommend this place to anyone who fancies a slice of luxury whilst visiting the City, and the price we paid was actually very reasonable compared to the prices we are used to paying in England.

Room Tip: The standard rooms looked just as luxurious as our suite, so if the budget is tight, go for one of t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleighrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molincom, Gerente at Hotel Villa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Ashleighrach,

Queremos agradecerle sus comentarios tan positivos sobre nuestro hotel, pero sobretodo deseamos agradecerle el habernos dado la oportunidad de apoyarla para festejar tan importante acontecimiento para usted y su pareja. Mil gracias.

Atentamente,

María Teresa Molina
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here for three nights with our 2 teenage sons in 1 room. The room was large enough for all of us with lovely furnishings & comfortable beds. The fridge was appreciated too. We took a picnic up on the verandah one night with beautiful views of Sucre (which we all loved) Continental breakfast was just ok but the location was perferct as just off the main square. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I loved the rooms and great service they have! It was my first time Sucre and I felt like at home in that hotel! hope i can visit it soon :) The food was delicious and the people at the hotel were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armiloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Good things: Impecably clean, nice furniture, comfortable stylish rooms, spacious, great location close to main square. Breakfast simple but OK.

Areas for improvement: This place is a little bit spartan and soulless in its public areas.It could make much better use of its gorgeous courtyard. When we stayed it was mostly empty (because it's difficult now to get to Sucre after the banxkruptcy of Aerosur) and thus the hotel is a bit sad. However, if it were full, it would be very noisy because the walls and ceilings are thin. Wifi is ok but not strong. Breakfast staff a little bit dopey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Very big rooms. Lots of wood. Good bathroom and very good bfast. The whole place is spotless and has some lovely areas like the rooftop and gardens to sit in.Only about 2 blocks to plaza. The staff were so friendly and helpful. All speak some English.Very quiet. Loved our 3 night stay here. Fully recommend and much better than many places double the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Lovely huge rooms with high ceilings and parquet floors with large modern bathrooms. The hotel was only two blocks away from the main square. The breakfast buffet was lavish and included real rather than instant coffee. There was also a small patio garden I never had time to sit in. Highly recommended. Central heating was turned on on demand.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guatemaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.6 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#15 of 18 in Sucre
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Posada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Antigua

Address: Calvo 237 | Frente Al Museo Del Convento de Santa Clara, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored mansion of 1860 in Sucre, the constitutional capital of Bolivia, with one of the best preserved colonial city centers of Latin America. The building is converted into a comfortable hotel maintaining the old structure and style but combined with modern facilities and design. This gives it a unique character, with striking decorations and hand-made wooden furniture in the tradition of a real boutique hotel. The hotel is part of the Historic Center of Sucre and offers spacious garden, courtyard - patio, rooms and terraces with splendid views over the old city and mountains. Free use of the gym and of WiFi all over the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing