We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff told us this monastery (now converted into a charming hotel) once housed a group of brothers living in the heart of the Spanish colonial city of Sucre; it has a fantastic motif with archangels adorning the walls of the common areas and even a confessional in one of the enclosed courtyards. The American breakfast was spectacular, the beds comfortable, and the gas shower was the best I've had in 4 months in South America. The rooms are a little smallish and the wifi isn't the best, but the friendly staff and attention to detail in the rooms more than made up for it. Plus, how many people can say they stayed in a place where dozens of monks once lived?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilandLauraHoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Perfectly located. Nice colonial style with secluded central court and breakfast terrace and very clean. Standard rooms are a little bit basic. Same for the breakfast. The bed however was worn out and by no means comfortable. What a pity. Nice roof terrace at sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMONASTERIO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for your comment, it help us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wonderful location in the heart of the historic district in this beautiful city. Lovingly restored monastery from the Spanish era - many original furnishings & paintings. Very nice rooms with baths & terrific staff. Just beware of the rooms on the main lobby, which can be quite noisy. Climb the spiral staircase to the rooftop sitting area for a great view of the city.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the central courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at hotel monasterio for one night arriving early after a night bus from La Paz, we were able to check in and have our room immediately ( well ahead of regular check-in time) which was greatly appreciated as we were in much need of a hot shower and freshen up. We found the hotel to be very clean, rooms very comfortable and opulently decorrated. Hotel Monasterio certainly has a grand and luxury feel about it. Perfectly located only 1.5 blocks from the main square, we highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for convenience with a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones del piso de arriba
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Grifo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.5 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Kolping Sucre
0.2 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Calvo No 140, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: £47 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monasterio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel " MONASTERIO " offers to the visitors of our city, a different concept of services in hospitality , offering guests comfort and quality delighting with exquisite works of art distributed in all Hotel spaces . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing