We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really relaxing hostel”
Review of # Pachamama Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sucre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
# Pachamama Hostel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a month while taking Spanish lessons at Me Gusta school (also recommended!). My favorite thing about this hostel was the beautiful garden area, so good for chilling. It had probably the best kitchen I've seen in a year of traveling. And the family who run it are really nice, normal people.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We looked at a few hostels in Sucre but as soon as we took a look at Pachamama we felt at home. We are paying 80 Bs for two in a room with three single beds. We just pushed two of them together for a kind of double bed. We have our own bathroom and the shower is hot. We have an amazing view over the city. We've been enjoying using the well-stocked kitchen to prepare our own breakfasts. Though the staff, a family, doesn't speak a lot of English, they are very sweet, kind and helpful. Everything is very clean; the flowers in the courtyard are beautiful; it's quiet and peaceful. I do recommend asking for a room on the second or third floor so you can have the nice view. This is one of those places that makes me want to stay longer than planned. Wifi is slow; there is a computer in the lobby that I'm told is also slow. There is an internet cafe down the street that is only 3Bs/hour that has very fast internet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

For only 90 Bs, the large matrimonial room and private baño are a good deal, but the club next door that starts loud music at 3 AM makes it hard to sleep on weekends. Also, don't expect reliable Internet, as the boy running it often adjusts the settings so only he can use it to download who knows what... Toilet paper is by request only and electricity went out 3 times during our one week stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShapiroAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at Pachamama for a few nights in March 2012. Was very cheap and overall pretty good, about 90 Bolivianos for a double (I think). We arrived at 3am without a booking and they were very good about opening up for us and giving us a bed. Family run place, everyone was very nice. Not much English spoken, so brush up on Spanish. Only issues we had were:

i) we were too dumb to realise how to work the electric showers properly... just remember to start off nice and slow... the harder you turn it on, the more cold water comes out - spent the whole time having lukewarm showers which was a bummer.

ii) It was a little bit out of the main square, which meant a bit of a walk to get around. Not a massive deal, but slightly annoying at times.

Watch out for that poor scruffy dog... if you speak Spanish, maybe mention to the owners that he needs a haircut and that will probably chill him out a bit. Cat is friendly tho.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I really liked the place and was sorry to leave. Good value, friendly staff, lovely room and handy to have a kitchen. I got a towel and the wifi was fine for Bolivia.

Only negative was potential to be a little noisy but I wasn't troubled. Best to get a room upstairs.

Spanish school Fenix literally round the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmicmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very nice sunny garden, great for meeting other travelers, well-equipped kitchen to prepare your own meals, friendly staff. Parking available in the courtyard. Very good value and cosy atmosphere, only about 15 min walk from the centre. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mate44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We spent two weeks in this delightful hotel, conveniently located a short walk from the central market and Pza 25 de mayo. Excellent value at 45 bolivianos (about 7 dollars) per person per night for a clean and comfortable double room, with own bathroom and hot shower. The fully equipped kitchen was ideal for making our own meals which we could eat either indoors or at the patio tables in the beautiful garden, exchanging travellers’ tales with the other guests. The helpful, friendly owners made us feel at home. A computer with Internet connection is provided in the reception. I only wish we could have stayed longer, to spend more time relaxing in this lovely garden oasis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Glorieta
#11 of 18 in Sucre
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#16 of 18 in Sucre
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to # Pachamama Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about # Pachamama Hostel

Address: Street Aniceto Arce 450-452, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing