We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family hostel.))” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of # Pachamama Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sucre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
# Pachamama Hostel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly family hostel.))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 week in large room with bathroom.Family of the hostel was very friendly. Few times offer food for us.They provide kitchen and even large tv lounge plus garden for travellers. Super place for short and long stayed. Higly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RyszardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
45
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I was charged 60 bs for a private room with bath. Bathroom is a tiny closet and everything gets soaked because there is no shower curtain. There is electric shower head with no hot water available every time I tried to shower.

The rooms surround a courtyard which I guess could be nice if it weren't being used as parking lot. There was a huge truck parked there along with another car my entire stay. Also the courtyard is noisy and echos sounds from the kitchen and peoples conversations directly into the rooms. Also the rooms walls are thin so you hear your neighbors use the toilet. Speaking of toilets my bathroom wasn't cleaned my entire stay meaning the waste basket for the used toilet paper ( which had no lid) was never emptied.
Wifi is uselessly slow.
Beds are uncomfortable with thin mattresses. Courtyard has ping pong table but can't use it because there's a truck parked behind it.
Staff is mostly friendly and only reason why the 2 stars.
I'd recommend Quechua inn just up the street which had great hot showers clean rooms and great wifi, and same price. but don't see them here in tripadvisor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a friendly family-run hostel in a quiet spot a short walk from the main plaza and close to the central market. It has a lovely garden where you can relax and a well equipped kitchen (probably the best so far). The beds are comfy and large (for tall people). Stayed here 10 days in total and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a lovely little hostel with a great garden and an excellently stocked kitchen. It is just far enough out of the main centre to avoid the endless fiestas that happen in Sucre pretty much every weekend. It is conveniently close to the central market too. There are a few rules and regulations that on reading earlier posts seem to get peoples back up but you have to remember that this is their family home and you have to respect that. We found the whole family very pleasant and helpful. This is definitely not a place for party animals.....just pick somewhere else. This is definitely a place to kick back in and chill and a quiet spot to do your spanish homework !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I just loved this hostel. Beautiful atmosphere, green little garden, hammocks...Great kitchen very well equipped. We payed 90Bs for a double room and we stayed for 16 days even though we had planned to just stay one week. Its not outside of the city so its close to get in the very center but its not too close so it doesnt get expensive and not too loud at night either. Its actually quiet except if you start the party :P
The family who runs it is wonderful, the sons even speak English :)
If you go to Sucre, choose this place, you will love it!!!

Room Tip: Choose the top rooms for views and the double rooms by the ping pong and up (3 rooms up in a row) ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljulia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I have mixed feelings about Pachamama.

The Good:
- The garden is pretty dreamy, complete with passionfruit vines, hummingbirds, and hammocks.
- It's a nice, quiet place to study and do Spanish homework.
- The kitchen is fully stocked with cookingware and cutlery.
- The dorms are a good size, just three beds with en suite.
- Parking is available for those traveling with a car/motorcycle/bike.

The OK:
- It's possible to get hot water if you can find the sweet spot on the shower handle.
- The hostel is run by a family and the teenage boy they brought in to be their worker bee. They all live on the premises, and you'll share the kitchen with them. They're not especially warm or personable, but they're nice enough.
- Prices are reasonable (40 Bolivianos for a dorm), although other local hostels charge the same and include breakfast, which Pachamama does not.
- Decent location, just a few minutes' walk from the main square.
- The place is generally quiet, except for late night on the weekends when the party venue next door goes bonkers for hours on end.

The Bad:
- The mattresses are terribly thin and worn out.
- Kitchen closes at 9pm.

The Sucky:
- Reception closes early as well, at 9 or 10pm. If you wanna come and go after that, you have to ring the bell and wake up Martin, the teenage boy, to open the door. Some nights it's no problem; other nights, he pleads for you to stay in. I often felt trapped at the hostel or otherwise guilty for going out.

I stayed here for 3 weeks, so it clearly wasn't a terrible place. I did enjoy the hell out of that garden, and made some great memories here.

Room Tip: If you end up with a room on the far end of the building, note that the bathroom window and lighting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingThy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hostel has great potential. A lovely kitchen, beautiful garden and nice clean rooms but we were very unhappy with the staff. Rules such as closing the kitchen at 9, no loo roll to be given out after 9 seem unnecessary. Then to be accused (and shouted at) of lying about not having water for an hour and a half was inexcusable! On checkout they tried to charge us for an extra night, with the employee who'd checked us in having written the wrong date. we were very unimpressed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaAllenDuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.6 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Kolping Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to # Pachamama Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about # Pachamama Hostel

Property: # Pachamama Hostel
Address: Street Aniceto Arce 450-452, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing