We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent home base for Sucre”

Forastero Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forastero Guest House
Ranked #13 of 29 Sucre B&B and Inns
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent home base for Sucre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I'm not sure what to make of some of the not-so-good reviews posted - they do not reflect our experience at all. My girlfriend and I stayed here on a 2.5 month backpacking trip and both felt like it was one of the highlights. In fact, we were so comfortable here that we extended our stay by several nights (that and my girlfriend was sick for a couple days...but I guess she could hardly have picked a better place to get sick). I found the guesthouse to be clean, comfortable, and homey. The breakfast was excellent and the fact that it was served at a specific time and place (i think 9-10 or something like that) made it a good way to meet other travelers. We also used the parilla in the back yard and grilled up some meat. The location is good too- 10 minutes from the plaza but in a quiet neighborhood.

Beatrice was very nice and helpful...perhaps like everywhere in South America, it really helped our experience that we are both fluent in Spanish. I felt like the staff were friendly. Beatrice's tour company is also useful for arranging activities in the area, and the prices are good.


There was an incident while we were staying in which the neighbor's wall collapsed into Forastero's driveway, causing internet and power problems, but this can't be blamed on Beatrice - just on shoddy construction and the fact that the neighbor was storing stacks of wood pallets up against his side of the wall!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
34
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had such a wonderful time staying here. We stayed in the guesthouse which has a kitchen and small sitting area attached, it was perfect for what we needed. The price was amazing considering all the space and privacy we got but best of all was the service we received from the kind woman who runs the place. We arrived in Sucre at 730pm and booked our room at an Internet cafe, we arrived there 15 minutes later and she was so eager to greet us and had prepared our room already!

She made the most wonderful breakfasts, egg sandwiches and strawberry smoothies was my favourite. She also booked tours and bus tickets for us without hesitation. Also, her English was amazing! She really made our stay so enjoyable and we had an excellent time in the beautiful city of Sucre. I would definitely recommend this place. It's close enough to the plaza and city park and you can't beat the rooms, food and service.

Room Tip: The guesthouse is great but the bed sags a lot in the middle. If you have back problems you may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Did you ever sleep in a hotel which had furniture and a pink bathroom from the seventies? Did you ever had glow in the dark stars above your head? Well we did and we didn't like it.

We only slept here for one night and that was enough. When we arrived we didn't get the double room we booked. Other guests hadn't left and instead of moving them to the other room, we ended up in the twin. Rooms were very clean.

There are two women running this hotel. One doesn't speak to you at all, the other promissed us to call a taxi for the next morning 6am. 'Yes, I will be there, no problem'. But there was nobody around at 6am.This is quite weird for you should be able to check in at 6am, as stated in the hotel policy. She did however left us some bread as a breakfast, although breakfast is normally only served between 8 and 9.

You get four(!) keys to get into your room. If you are lucky you will have problems with only one of them. When we came back at 11pm, all lights were off and we couldn't open the front door. Luckely the back door wasn't locked.

The hostel isn't that far from the main plaza but you have to walk a few streets that feel remote. The woman told us there have never been accidents, though.

We paid 126 bolivianos for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Beatriz is a warm, helpful host and our room here (the double/suite) was the most homely, comfortable room we've stayed in during our two and a half months in South America. Lots of light, a comfortable bed, and a great breakfast.

Unfortunately we only booked two nights, and when we tried to book a third an online booker beat us to it. Beatriz still let us use the garden and facilities to relax in the next day, which was really appreciated as our last-minute alternative (Colon 220), was a much less enjoyable place to be.

Room Tip: The suite is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

So...I dont normally even write reviews but feel like there are a few things that need to be shared about this place. In general it is beautiful and as you can see form the rating would still recommend it. Good location,nice garden and most rooms have natural light which we enjoyed.....but the owners seemed nice at first but after a while we soon realized that they are more concerned about money. The first night we checked in (and we had booked) we could not check into our room until 9pm which wasnt ideal as my girlfriend and I had both been on long bus journeys and hadnt seen each other for a few months, both being easy going we said no worries and let it slide not wanting to cause hassle on the first day but were a little annoyed to find she had charged the couple who were checking out for the whole night and then expeceted us to pay aswel but sneakily didnt tell us and denied it when we asked for a small discount which we didnt thing was much to ask after two weeks of staying there and having to move as she was booked out (which I guess wasnt her fault). We were also accused of stealing of pan the first day before we had even had breakfast, then of putting another pan away dirty... seriously? on the last day we were also accused of breaking a glass and they tried to charge us, being from England and Australia we'd happily pay the 2 or 3 dollars or replace if we did break something but didnt. On the last day she also owed us 20 Bolivianos change, hardly anything but when we went back the next day to collect our bags she 'conveniently' still didn't have it. Other than that would agree with the other comments about the mattress being a bit warn out and not much toilet paper, they also turn the fridge off a night, a bit strange. so all in all didnt really feel like a home form home as I always felt like I was being watched by the creepy cleaner after being accused of not washing or stealing things but believe it or not still quite enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWlliams84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived in this hostel at 5am, but check in is at 6am. The lady told us nice that it was no problem to get in a room, but the next day she told us that she would charge the night, because we used a room.
The day after a big group would come and they reserved the complete hostel, so they cleaned the complete hostel, but we were not allowed to use the bathroom and also the kitchen was a problem. The last day our breakfast was just the half of the day before and there was not enough. Also the showers were cold and we heard this problem from other guests too. We wanted to upload our photos on Dropbox, but the lady just shut down the computer. Maybe this was all stress for a big group, but when she would have told us we would have moved to another hostel. It is a shame because the hostel has a nice garden and nice rooms. But service was not here. It was just about making money:(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mephistofiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Beatrice was very welcoming and opens her home to you. The accomodation is great, the showers are hot and the breakfast is a nice treat ever day something different.Can also use the kitchen at any time which is a nice bonus. She also helped us to sort both our bus and tour to tupiza.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhuireann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.5 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.2 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forastero Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forastero Guest House

Property: Forastero Guest House
Address: 394 Destacamento 111 street | between Colón and La Paz streets, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside FORASTERO Guest House, which is already very well reccomended, we're opening FORASTERO ANNEX, in the same adress. The cheapest option, thinking in backpackers and students, big and comfortable dormitories with 3-4-5 and 7 beds, good bathrooms with hot showers and jacuzzi, full equipped kitchen, beautiful garden and common areas. We organize any circuit for our guests, with the lowest prices. DON'T BE HOMESICK..COME WITH US!!!!! Your staying in Sucre will be unforgetable.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Forastero Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing