We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homey feeling ”

Forastero Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forastero Guest House
Ranked #16 of 33 Sucre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

If you are seeking a backpackers atmosphere where you meet lots of people then this is not the place for you! However we really liked this place that felt like you were visiting your grandparents house. Nice and clean, fantastic breakfast, fast wifi and the owner is lovely.
We initially only booked 1 night as we wanted to fly out the following day, however as we couldn't get flights, we had to stay in sucre for an extra 4 nights. We were able to stay 1 extra night at Forastero but then had to leave as a large group booked out the entire place. This was fine and they even helped us find accomodation for the following 3nights, what i didn't like was that i felt rushed leaving the room! We had to have our stuff out of the room by 9ish as the large group had arrived .. How can you have check in at 6am and check out at 11am???
I know they did us a favour allowing us to stay an extra night when we only initially booked 1 but if im paying full price for a room i expect to be able to stay in the room until check out!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 8433tiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed almost a week at this hostel, the owner(lady who speaks English) seemed to be friendly at first, but at the end it came out one of the worst hostel we've stayed.
Hostel has two building, one in inside is much nicer, however we stayed at the one near to the gate. We payed 50 Bol each person including breakfast but breakfast for first 2 days were ok, it became worse and worse day after day. No hot water in shared bath, it was complained by the other couple staying there, but our dorm had hot water which was nice.
Little bit far from center.
We asked for towels but it was very smelly. Don't use it.
No match for making a fire in kitchen.
They never cleaned carpet, they only give a gentle swipe on the floor on first floor.
Wifi was super slow we couldn't open a single picture, and it didn't work on weekend, we wanted to use wifi at the other building but owner locked the door in order to block us away. That was really terrible and the owner plugged out computer whenever we use it only to save electricity. After check out, the other couple found there was no toilet paper in the bathroom, asked owner to give some, but she was asking for money.
We asked for laundry, it was just about 1-1.5kg, but she charged us 25 Bol, they couldn't find our laundry so we had to go to laundry and find our clothes, even laundry was very wet when she returned it back, she didn't say sorry at all.
Our bus was in the evening, we had to spend afternoon in hostel, everything happened after checked-out, please be aware if you are going to leave Sucre in the evening, don't stay here, if you are leaving in morning, it's ok.

Room Tip: Stay in the building which is inside. Not outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ddoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz709, Propietario at Forastero Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I'm very surprised about this review, because these guests stayed at FORASTERO for many days and they were very happy, they were very nice guests and I was friendly with them, The only problem was the last day, the check out is at 11,00 a.m, but they stayed in the house until the departure time ( 8.00 p.m) using showers, kitchen, wi-fi and the computer, and they refused to pay 25 Bs. as it's normal after the check out. I'm sorry but I consider that what they say is not true at all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had the luxury of renting a double room with ensuite bathroom. Normally these rooms aren’t that big but this room was very spacious with lots of windows and even a balcony. On arrival the friendly owner (Beatrice) gave us a map and told us a little bit about the city. They also have a travel agency and can help you to book tickets to your next destination or to the Sunday market in Tarabuco.
All together a very nice, clean place with lots of space, a garden, tv room, living room and good wifi!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneloes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed over new year, and it was a perfect quiet haven – close enough to easily walk to town but far enough away from the bars and party places.
Great guest kitchen, lovely clean sunny bedroom overlooking the garden, huge shared bathroom. With breakfast included it was excellent value for money and the owner was extremely welcoming and friendly. It was like staying at someone's house, but not in an intrusive way.
We found the bike hire a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremyandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

In the Forastero Guesthouse we booked a double room for three nights. It was a clean room with a big comfortable bed and a balcony. The shared bathroom was spacious and clean. Kitchen facilities weer excellent. Breakfast was included (not when sleeping in a dorm) and there was also a tourist agency. The only thing was that the real backpackers spirit was missing, but for us it didn't matter, we had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank welmoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We loved staying at Forestero Guest House! The owner Beatrice was very helpful and has created a lovely setting from which to explore Sucre. The beds were comfy and the rooms spacious enough. We had a lovely view of the garden and access to a balcony. The breakfast is basic, but good, with everything you need in the morning. The kitchen is well equipped and clean, although we didnt need to use it very much. The bathrooms are also clean, the showers work and have hot water. The shower drain is a bit blocked, but it's not a problem unless you like to take super long showers. I would definitely have liked to stay longer at Forestero!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here through Christmas and had a really lovely time. We originally booked for three nights bought seeing the house we immediately decided to book for the full week to spend Christmas here. It is more like a large home than a hostel or hotel. Beatrice the owner, Mariana were both extremely helpful and welcoming. We had a huge kitchen to use, which we gladly enjoyed with several other travellers for a huge Christmas dinner. There is a laundry area and outside yard and garden. It is a few blocks away from the plaza, but still very close. There is a delicious place to eat across the road called SuperPlanchita.
We highly recommend this place and would stay here again. They are opening a new annex in the same complex in January as well. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amesleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.3 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 59 in Sucre
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.3 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forastero Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forastero Guest House

Address: Destacamento 111 street 394 | between Colón and La Paz streets, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside FORASTERO Guest House, which is already very well reccomended, we're opening FORASTERO ANNEX, in the same adress. The cheapest option, thinking in backpackers and students, big and comfortable dormitories with 3-4-5 and 7 beds, good bathrooms with hot showers and jacuzzi, full equipped kitchen, beautiful garden and common areas. We organize any circuit for our guests, with the lowest prices. DON'T BE HOMESICK..COME WITH US!!!!! Your staying in Sucre will be unforgetable.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing