We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only in wet saison!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The 7 Cascadas

The 7 Cascadas
Ranked #23 of 65 things to do in Sucre
Attraction details
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Only in wet saison!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

It is pretty difficult to get there, and then there are no big wather falls. But nice for a cold swim, and there aren't too many people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pfisti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We got restless studying Spanish so we decided to get some sun. Finding the correct bus to get on was an adventure. You have to take the Q bus. But wait, not that Q bus, the other Q bus! Apparently you have to take Q, but going 1 of the 4 directions. It didn't help that several bus drivers just didn't want to pick us gringos up. We finally figured out which one was the correct bus because there was a group of locals waiting right next to us who also wanted to go on the hike. We followed them onto the correct bus- one which a driver had told us was the wrong bus. At this point I don't remember which street the correct bus was on.

The drive is fun and you go through the local market and get to see the outskirts of Sucre. It's easy to know where to get off because it's the last stop, in the middle of nowhere, and there are a bunch of other buses. Plus our local friends got off and told us to get off as well. We wound our way through the little neighborhood, bought some bananas for snacks, and followed our friends who were nice enough to keep beckoning us this way and that. You basically continue walking the direction you were going on the bus, and take a right when you reach the end of the houses. Then you go all the way down the big hill until you reach the creek bed.

We are really lucky we had people to follow. When you get to the creek bed you're in a valley and can't see which way to go. We had to tell other lost people where to go as well. Just keep going upstream of the riverbed. You'l know when you get there, because there are people everywhere. There must have been at least 100 people hanging out and BBQing. In fact we and one other group were the only gringos! But it was a lot of fun wandering up the waterfalls. Sure, they're not huge spectacular falls, but a lot of fun nonetheless. The guys ended up swimming in the second to last waterfall, which they all regretted because it was COLD.

I was the only one in my group who was able to climb up to the last waterfall. It is a weird climb up and a lot of people were scared when coming back down. There is a section where you have to lower yourself quite a ways down with your feet floating in midair, and you can't see anything either. So don't climb the last waterfall unless you've got a good stomach for heights!

Before we left we tried some BBQ,got to play some weird string instrument, and also got a bunch of applause from the locals for climbing up a rock (because we had given them applause climbing down a rock lol).

Overall I really enjoyed this hike. The way back was easy enough and there were plenty of buses to take us back. Though I'm not sure we had any chance of finding it without our new friends!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank taace1i1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Waterfalls? More like trickles of not so clear water!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We went to Siete Tazas in Chile which features seven big waterfalls that feed into each other. That was visually spectacular, and so I thought that this would be sort of similar. Wrong. Firstly, the trail isn't anything special, but it does make for a nice day trip from Sucre. After seeing only city for a while it's also pleasant to see some of the countryside outside of Sucre. The waterfalls are very small, with only the tiniest of trickles pouring out. The water is also not the cleanest, and when we were there there was a lot of rubbish around the pool. There was a church group of kids and a teacher from Sucre who were also there, playing in the pool, and they were really friendly, even showing us the right trek to get to the other two waterfalls. Go, if you'd like to see something a bit different from the city, but I honestly would skip this - nothing special scenically and the nature isn't that stunning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice walk from the dinosaur footprint site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Quite dificult to find without a guide (our case) directly from the dinosaur site, locals event don't know where it is so they will send you approximate direction - we ended up in wrong valley :) but it's worth it, nice quiet place where you can swim and relax. I would go there again staying in Sucre.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More talking than waterfalls!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I did a hike to the seven waterfalls with Bolivia Specialist and my guide was Franky. His English was fluent, so much so that he barely stopped talking all day! (He was very nice, but the constant talking was a bit wearing!) We saw 5 of the waterfalls, numbers 6 and 7 being too difficult to get to. They were OK, nothing to write home about, but it was nice just being out in the countryside and getting some fresh air and exercise.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 7 Cascadas also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to The 7 Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing