We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst coffee, worst pancakes.”
Review of Pueblo Chico

Pueblo Chico
Ranked #16 of 119 Restaurants in Sucre
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
new york
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“worst coffee, worst pancakes.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Honestly this was the site of perhaps the worst meal I ever had. Just coffee and crepes, but man, the coffee was putrid dishwater, and the "crepes" were cooked yesterday and served cold and rubbery. I paid, expressed my outrage, and left. This place deserves to be avoided.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keithk_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    28
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good crepes, nice service”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I love black cat so I tried this place; crepes and coffee are good for the breakfast, got some chicken for lunch which was very good too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast, great staff”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a great breakfast here and would highly recommend it on our experience. Food was really good. Staff were lovely and really looked after us. Awesome building and we loved the way it was decorated. Definitely a gringo friendly place, good place to go if you're feeling like a break from the bustling streets of Sucre. They have Wifi too, which is always handy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
677 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,863 helpful votes
“Duck Into this Place and Escape the Plaza”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The location of this place is excellent - right on the main square. You duck into a small doorway and enter a small cozy plaza with only a few tables. There is music here some nights - we saw the stage in the back but nothing going on when we were there.

Food was typical Bolivian with a few real treats. Ask the waiter what they're famous for - I enjoyed it, though it took TripAdvisor so long to list the restaurant that now I forgot what the name of it was. We had a nice bottle of wine, and the food was huge portions. Not expensive, more moderate priced.

We also had some kind of BBQ chicken which was not very good.

Not fancy, not perfect, but a nice change from the typical places you find around the square.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Clueless Staff”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We went to this place for a drink and a snack and were not impressed at all.

The first problem came when the staff could not answer any questions about what kind of wine they sold. So we opted to get a beer each. We also ordered 'nachos with 3 salsas'.

The beers came and the glasses were very badly chipped and cracked. Then the nachos came out. These consisted of a packet of pre-flavoured tortilla chips dumped on a plate and served with thousand island dressing, a kind of thin aioli and a 'guacamole' (chopped and unseasoned avocado, tomato and onion). No cheese on the 'nachos'..

When I asked for the bill, the staff told me the price and I gave them a worn, but usable note. The waitress came back to me and asked if I had another one, because they didn't like it. I told them that there was nothing wrong with it and after a minute of discussion, they gave me my change and we left.

Pueblo Chico is located in the centre of the city and is nicely decorated, but unfortunately it is a victory of style over substance.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueblo Chico also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Pueblo Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing