We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Escondida Hostel
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in June 2012 for two and a half weeks while doing a Spanish course close by. Its situated right opposite the Mercado central but down an alleyway making it a great location (its quiet). The breakfast served is good with fresh juice, toast and a hot drink. The room service is great they clean the rooms everyday, even changed the sheets and towels, best hot showers in Bolivia. The WIFI is good here and you can use their kitchen but if you use the gas there is a small charge for this. Would definitely recommend and stay again as staff are friendly too.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the one right at the end and above the courtyard has a massive ensuite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beedz317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Will be a pleasure to have you again at the hostel.
Thank you very much for the comment ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
30
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have to agree with the other reviewers: La Escondida is a oasis in the middle of the busy market district. There is actually not one bad thing I could say about the hostel: The rooms are big and grouped around a central courtyard with seating and loads of flowers. The bathroom felt completely new and had a huge shower with lots of warm water.
Breakfast was normal for Bolivian standards and the price was good for the location and the quality of the rooms.
The only downside was that the Internet worked only spotty (which was a problem with the provider not with the wifi in the hostel) and that the use of the spotless kitchen costs 5 Bolivianos (but why cook when you can get a three course meal in the market for 10?).
Overall one of the nicest hostels I have ever been to and certanly worth staying in!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj-exploringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Well, I'm afraid I can't say anything about this place that was not said before....
La Escondida is simply this: a quiet oasis within the busiest market area. Inside, the quiet patio, the beautiful flowers and the lovely decorated rooms (wonderful beds and pillows) offer all you want and need from a holiday home. Then you step outside and you're in the middle of the busiest market area, where you can sit in the sun and sip the most delicious fruit juices and buy virtually anything.
I was supposed to stay one night and ended up staying 10. It is truly the most beautiful, tranquil, central hostal I ever stayed at.
The private double room (single occupancy) cost 100 BOB (approx 9GBP) per night and includes a basic breakfast (coffee/tea, fruit juice and bread with butter and jam). You can use the (spotless) kitchen for an extra charge of 5 BOB (approx 40 pence) and buy fresh veg literally at your door step, at the Mercado Central.
They also offer a laundry service (10 BOB per kg) which proved so handy! My clothes returned the same day, smelling like spring. Great.
Sucre is beautiful and staying at La Escondida, in my opinion, will make your travel experience even more unforgettable.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor are sunny in afternoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whoelsecoulditbe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Is very good to know that you had a pleasant stay.
We are here to serve our guests.

Thank you very much and continue enjoying your trip.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

La Escondida ("the hideaway" in Spanish) lives up to its name, More of a hotel than a hostel but at hostel prices. The location is about as central as you can get (opposite the central market), yet secluded and quiet due to its recessed position.
A great respite for tired travelers, and undoubtedly the best place I have stayed in South America, a view also expressed by quite few of the people I met here, many of whom including myself, stayed much longer than planned!
The manageress and staff are are very friendly, helpful and genuine. The rooms (breakfast included) are a home from home, flat screen TV, hot shower, well furnished, comfy beds, and are cleaned daily. The communal kitchen, dining room and cozy courtyard make for easy socializing.
The hostel itself is very secure, hosts a fast Internet connection and seems to be a 5 minute walk from all the best restaurants bars and parks. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
I am very happy to know that the hostel was like a home for you!
Thank you very much ... and best wishes foru you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We planned to stay 2-3 days in Sucre and ended up spending a week here. A friend recommended this place and looking at the facilities and friendly staff, she was more than right! It is more a hotel than a hostel really.

Compared to prices set by the other more known fancy "hostels", this one was way cheaper. It has a lovely patio and basic breakfast is included. The rooms are cleaned up and bed done every day even if leaving late. There is wifi working reasonably well for Bolivia although not the fastest of course. However, the computer in the breakfast room has a very fast connection.

The girl at reception also recommended some local places which were very cheap, local and with good food (such as La Quimba with a cultural and music vibe incl. live concerts on certain nights).

We definitely recommend this place for all tired travelers who want to have a break in a pleasant place and lovely town. It is also perfectly located next to the central market where fresh juices await you for 10 BOB and the best choripan at 7 Lunares in the market too.

Room Tip: The matrimonial bed is not that large so if you want to have more space, you're better off takin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
I am very glad you had a good stay! .. Always welcome!
Thank you very much for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

We are traveling for almost five months through south America and this hostel was definitely the best one!! Very clean, cozy, very nice and friendly staff and the perfect place to stay in front of the mercado. It's including breakfast and has a kitchen as well. They have a very cozy courtyard to relax! It is all you need! And a lot of the people we spoke to stayed way longer then planned. Just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you very much for the review! .. It was a pleasure to have you in the hostel!

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.6 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.3 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#6 of 55 in Sucre
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 55 in Sucre
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Cadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Escondida Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Escondida Hostel

Property: La Escondida Hostel
Address: Calle Junin 445 | Entre Ravelo y H. Siles, Sucre 14, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Escondida Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing