We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Escondida Hostel
Ranked #10 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one night at La Escondida Hostel. It located in a busy street, but once you get into the hostel, it was surprisingly quiet. It has a beautiful courtyard and we stayed in a two-beds room upstairs. The room was bright, clean, simple but comfortable. In addition, the staff spoke good English and very helpful. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario. Es grato saber que el hostal fue de su agrado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for La Escondida Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hostel is tucked in an entryway off the main market street of Sucre. The rooms are further down a nice wide hallway, and thus are VERY quiet, with no street noise at all. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My friend got very sick in Sucre with an obstructed bowel. The staff were very attentive in trying to get us to medical help. One of the young ladies at the desk even rode with us in the taxi across town to get us to a specialist. They also made phone calls for us (since I cannot speak Spanish well) to cancel upcoming reservations due to my friend's medical condition. Very reasonable price; clean rooms with great hot showers. Breakfast included eggs to order! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed for around 5 weeks here in Sucre. The Escondida Hostel is right in the middle of Sucre. For the money you get a great value. It is very clean and the whole stuff is very friendly and helpful. Also they got a nice kind of backyard were you can relax. For me after 8 months travel one of the best hostels.

Room Tip: The Escondida has two buildings. I would recommend to take the which is more fare away from the stre...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We looked at (including the actual rooms) six places in central Sucre, including the Grand Hotel and the top-listed hostel on Tripadvisor at the time, some were cheaper than La Escondida (second on TA at the time) and some more expensive, but this was easily the nicest place to stay. We stayed in two different rooms with private bathroom on the second floor for a total of four nights in April 2013. The rooms were clean, light and bright, well finished and comfortable. Staff were very helpful though English was limited, and they have a secure baggage storage room. There is a nice interior courtyard and the whole place is very quiet being set back down short passage from the busy Junin Street. WiFi and cable TV in the rooms though breakfast is the very Bolivian standard bread, jam, juice and coffee/tea. Excellent location near central market and not far from the main plaza.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonniesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one night. The accomodations were very nice, comfortable beds, nice towls, great shower. The location is right in the center and surprisingly very quite. They did offer a free breakfast, but it was really disappointing given the price (some bread and coffee/tea; eggs were extra). We would have stayed longer, but they were well above other hotels in price. We tried to negotiate, but the discount was minimal. It was strange that they did not give a bigger discount given that they were nearly empty.
If you don't mind spending the money, they cerainly offer nice accomodations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here for a night while travelling through. The staff were exceptional! The rooms are small and cosy and there's no window in the room, kind of like a bat cave :-). Breakfast was pretty poor but we have accepted that as the norm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRIW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in April in a double room. Very comfortable rooms set around a nice atrium. You can hardly hear a noise from the hectic street outside as the building is set back some way from the street (entrance is via a long hallway on calle junin). There is a small breakfast included which can be upgraded if you fancy something extra but the market across the street sells loads of delicious food and fruit juices so you can breakfast there quite cheaply too. The place is spotlessly clean, the showers are hot and rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels provided. The staff are super friendly and the whole place is really relaxing. Right outside the door you're in the thick of it and near to all the major sites or transport to other parts of town in micros. We paid about 170 Bs which we thought was excellent value. It is not a party hostel and more couple focused from what we saw, so it was always chilled out during day and night. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caparso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.4 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.3 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Santa Cecilia
Santa Cecilia
#4 of 32 in Sucre
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Recoleta Sur
Hostal Recoleta Sur
#12 of 32 in Sucre
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 58 in Sucre
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Escondida Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Escondida Hostel

Address: Calle Junin 445 | Entre Ravelo y H. Siles, Sucre 14, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range: £28 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Escondida Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing