We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graet place in Sucre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Hostal de Su Merced
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Graet place in Sucre”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Absolutely magnificent colonial-style building, plenty of communal sitting areas on the balconies and roof. All the facilities that a traveler needs, and great breakfast. But what really makes this place worth more than many luxurious hotels is the staff who are ever so friendly and willing to help. This hotel truly feels ´homey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Roby 8,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are no just a hotel, and it’s a pleasure for all of our team to offer a warmth and familiar service to our guest’s. With your review you´ve showed us that we are working on the right way!!

We hope you will soon visit us again!!
With warmth,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    115
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
226
60
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Together with a group of friends, I spent two nights early this month at this beautiful Hotel. The building and its atmosphere are very attractive; and the location very convenient in the heart of Sucre. The central patio and the terrasses on top are very pleasent and the views from them are great. The sunset and the early morning lights from the top terrasse are superb.
In addition, we found the service efficient and very kind. During my stay, I had to transfer some signed and scanned documents to Europe. Both the reception staff and the Manager of the Hotel did their best to make sure that I could do it as required and on time and once I left the Hotel, they sent me an email to confirm that what I had requested was performed as expected. This was most useful.
I would strongly reccomend to stay in this Hotel to visit Sucre and enjoy its facilities and specially its atmosphere and service.

Room Tip: I had a room at the top floor and the views are superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordiAC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Jordi,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about us.

It’s a pleasure to give the best you our best: a warm and familiar service.
We were happy to help scanning the documents, in Su Merced no detail is so small and no request is too large!

We look forward in welcoming you back at our home,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We chose this hotel based on the previous reviews and were not disappointed! We had a fantastic 6 night stay at Hostal de Su Merced!
The numerous reviews are accurate and photos explain it all! The hotel is beautiful and the entire staff from the owner down to the housekeepers really make your stay tranquil and comfortable. Everyone is helpful, happy and friendly. They seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs! The breakfast buffet has variety with good coffee and juices. Ham and cheese pie was quite unique and a personal favorite! but the Lemon meringue pie was runner-up! :)
If you are looking for a unique, comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay in Sucre then I highly recommend Hostal de Su Merced!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely words about us!

It’s a pleasure for all of us to receive guests with a warmth welcome and to provide them a memorable stay!
Your review has been shared with the team and we are very delighted that you could enjoy 6 days with us.

With warmth,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Su Merced for 3 nights at the end of a 3-week trip in Bolivia and it was just perfect.
The hotel location is excellent (just 2 blocks from the plaza) and the colonial building is superb, with a very nice view on the roofs of the city.
The minute we walked into the hotel, we felt how nice and helpful the staff was. Regarding the room itself, it was clean (although not huge), as was the bathroom - which had a bathtub. The bed was comfortable and the wifi connection was working really well. Breakfast was fresh and served in a nice, old-fashioned dining room.
In summary, this hotel is a very nice treat and a great place to go in order to enjoy Sucre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusterK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us.
I liked very much how you described our service “The minute we walked into the hotel, we felt how nice and helpful the staff was”. With your review you´ve showed us that we are on the right way in our main goal, to have happy and satisfied guests!

We look forward in welcoming you back at the hotel.
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have been staying at the Hostal de Su Merced for many years, and it is always a great experience. It is very well located, a beautiful building, has great staff, and beautiful rooms. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear NR,

Thank you very much for your loyalty.
It’s always a pleasure to receive you in our home!!
We all hope to welcome you again.

Kindly,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here at the end of July based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It did not disappoint. The front desk staff go out of their way to be helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfasts are quite good compared to other places we stayed in Bolivia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
It’s so pleasant to know guests appreciate the quality of our service! We are not just a hotel, we are passionate hosts and we offer a memorable stay at our house!
We hope you could come back soon!
With warmth
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a great place to stay in Sucre (probably the best place to stay). We had read the reviews on trip advisor (which are very positive), but even so this hotel surprised us - it was better than we expected. We spent 5 nights (family of 5) here. The hotel is full of antiques and colonial architecture. It really is a beautiful property. Given the price, staying here is a steal.

Breakfast is the best we have had on our trip and was included in the price of the room. Plenty of hot water (the first hot bath my wife had on our trip - really appreciated!). The hotel is a collection of private locations, stairs, terraces, and common rooms that were fun to explore. The view from the rooftop of the city is excellent. And they keep the place spotless. Everything is wiped, mopped, squeaky clean every day.

The staff were extremely helpful, making reservations, arranging tours, providing money saving tips on transportation, and even helped me scan a document that I needed to have emailed urgently. This hotel also had the best internet connection we have had on our trip. It was always available and fast! Also, the location of the hotel is perfect. It is just a couple of blocks from the plaza, close to a great grocery store, etc.

Overall, this is a highly recommended hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: There are several rooms that are secluded with their own private entrances and terraces. Really any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Nathan,
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s a pleasure for me and the staff to know that we exceeded your expectations and that we could probably be the best place to stay.
We promise to deliver a memorable stay to our guests and you are showing to us that we are in the right way.
Remember that this is your home and you will be always welcome!!
With warmth,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#13 of 17 in Sucre
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 17 in Sucre
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#8 of 17 in Sucre
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Property: El Hostal de Su Merced
Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing