We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful, charming, lovely...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Hostal de Su Merced

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Hostal de Su Merced
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
1 review
“Delightful, charming, lovely...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

From the moment you enter the gracious foyer every effort is made to attend to your every need. The staff simply could not be kinder or more professional. This is a converted colonial mansion built around a lush courtyard and captures the essence of gracious living. The property is very well kept, the hot water abundant, the rooms sparkling clean. The breakfast buffet was extraordinary. Between the orange drenched sponge cake, brazo de gitano, media Luna's, bizcochitos, fresh juices and yogurts we were in heaven. Far and away the best breakfasts we had in Bolivia. Sucre is an enchanting city and El Hostal de Su Merced is perfectly located to explore and enjoy its delights.

Room Tip: although the room initially assigned us was perfectly nice I spotted one I liked more and asked if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaguadalupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us

We are not just a hotel and we offer an exceptional service attending each individual request.
It’s a pleasure to know that you loved our homemade breakfast.
I will share your review and will congratulate the whole team.

I hope to host you again in your ”Sucre’s second home”.
With warmth,

Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    113
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
224
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed three days in Sucre and fortunately we got a room in the Hostal de Su Merced. It is a clean, nice hotel in a colonial style house. Especially the help we got at the hotel desk was great. (organization of a city tour with a special guide, folkloric dance show). We can only recommend the hostal de Su Merced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Juerg S,
I thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am happy you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel and specially the friendliness of our staff. I will congratulate front staff members: )

The entire team and I hope to see you again for your next visit in Sucre.
Sincerely,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre, Bolivia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed in a few hotels in Sucre. This was by far the best!. Staff were lovely and remember your name from day one. Everything smelt clean, fresh and homely. So much thought has been put into making each guest`s stay really delightful. I was suprised and touched when I got back to the hotel thinking that I'd left the bedside light on and realised that the bed had been turned down and a couple of home baked cookies had been left in a basket on the pillow. Breakfast was fit for a king with none of the watered down juices that you get in other hotels. Everything was fresh and tasty. Personally, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sucre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Shirleylou,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are not just a hotel and we try to offer a warm and familiar service
Me and the whole team are very pleased to know that you wouldn’t stay anywhere else! This is your home and we hope you could visit as soon: )

Sincerely,

Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

a colonial house, very well located, with a very nice terrace. Staff is also truly thoughtful, which makes a pleasant difference. The room is spacy, but there are no lifts, so if you are carrying heavy luggage, might be a goood idea to ask for ground rooms.
:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Owner at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Thassio :

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, I’m happy that you were satisfied satisfied with our hotel.

It’s very nice to know that our friendly and helpful staff makes the difference. We have no lifts but we have strong people that could help you with heavy luggage : )

We all hope to host you again in our home!
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Lovely room, very clean and ours had a small balcony with 2 chairs looking out over the street. Solicitous staff, great city views from the upper terraces. Very nice interior courtyard with beautiful flowers. A very comfortable place to stay in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: We really liked our room on the 2nd floor with a glassed in balcony hanging over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElderTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear ElderTrekkers,

Thank you for your review, I will share it with all the team as a motivation source.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed: our lovely rooms, our interior courtyard, the view of our terraces and specially our friendly staff.

We look forward in welcoming you back at your “Second home” in Sucre.
Kindly,

Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have spent two nights here, the hostal has an excellent location and the room was nice, big, clean and well equipped. The staff was very kind, helpful and also English speaking. The room service was perfect as well, choose bravely from their a la carte.
Due to weather conditions our flight was cancelled and no info was shared with tourists. The staff was extremely helpful, calling the airport to get more info, ordering us a taxi and host us one more night until we could catch our flight. I highly recommend to stay here, one of the best service ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyorgyi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Gyorgyi,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

For all our team: “No detail is too small and no request is too large, so we are very happy to know that you appreciated our support.
I will share your review with all the team as a source of encouragement for our future efforts.

I hope you could come back soon.
Sincerely,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I must say mention that of all the times I have visited this lovely country of Bolivia, the best of all hotels I have been to al Hostal de su Merced, Sucre. The attention there was very kind, polite,The staff was mostly friendly, specially Hilmar. I like the room was very clean. I like the beauty of the Hostal,,

Room Tip: I highly recommend you, the room 19 it was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafo0202, Propietario at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Eliana,
Thank you for your trust and for your review which I have shared with our staff.

It’s a pleasure for me and all our team to be considered as the best hotel in Bolivia!!
We are not just a hotel and our aim is to offer more than a warm bed, a clean room and a friendly smile.

We will be waiting for you in your Sucre’s second home,
Kindly,
Carmen GANTIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#12 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Property: El Hostal de Su Merced
Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing