We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Hostal de Su Merced

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Hostal de Su Merced
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Beautiful hotel. Great views over beautiful Sucre from the many roof terraces. Very relaxing surroundings with birds, patios and many plants and flowers. Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Well organized hotel. Yummy breakfasts with fresh juices, homebaked cakes and fresh eggs.

Expensive by Bolivian standards, but worth every Boliviano. Definitely reccommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polds83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    113
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
224
60
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Here you get the best breakfast! And we've been around.
We had an upper room with all the frills. Great room, great view.
If we'd go back, we would choose this place in a hart beat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We're part of a group of 11 people, here for ten days. People are universally satisfied. Rooms entered from central courtyard resplendent with flowers. Staff is excellent. Breakfast includes many choices including fresh fruits, juices, scrambled egg, dry cereal, quiche, coffee, tea etc. Pleasant surroundings, well presented food. On request, they served a light dinner meal to us on the rooftop terrace. Quite excellent.

The hotel has wireless internet and a computer room as well as a lounge/conference room perfect for small groups. The staff is delightful and they accommodated our needs completely. Sucre has many fine museums and active street life so you will spend much time walking in the neighborhood. The city reflects a feeling of happiness and safety. There is very little presence of police and security, which suggests a low crime rate. People on the street and in shops are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

My brother and his wife were staying at Hostal de Su Merced as a part of a year long South American trip when the calamaty of serious illness struck Sue in the middle of the night.
The prompt action of the staff got her to Hospital, where emergency brain surgery was performed, wow, and then followed 3 weeks in ICU before she was remotely well enough to be medivaced to BA and then later home to Australia.
I arrived some days later and was overwhelmed by the dedication of all the hotel staff, from the owners to the night porter. Nothing was too much trouble. From daily trips with us to the hospital for translation right through to using "backdoor" methods to make sure Sue was always well attended to.
Hostel de Su Merced. I salute you.
By the way, it is simply a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TassiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed here after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Lovely peaceful courtyard with roof terrace with stunning views (esp at night with little light pollution). The bed was rather too springy for my liking. Comfortable clean rooms. Breakfast fine. Overall it is probably the best place to stay in Sucre, but seems slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

A well deserved reputation for service, hospitality, charm and highest value in the city. This hostel pays attention to all the details and delivers the highest quality and value we have found in Bolivia. We would much rather stay here than in the 5 star hotels of La Paz.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandCarol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

This place is absolutely lovely. Beautiful rooftop terraces, super clean and stylish rooms with wooden floors and classy antique wooden furniture, hot showers and a hairdryer, comfy beds. Breakfast buffet is served in a pretty room and has more choice than most places I stayed at in Bolivia (fruits, eggs, pancakes and other yummy cakes, some kind of quiche). Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Only downside: it's rather pricey by Bolivia standards.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chupita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#12 of 17 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal de Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Property: El Hostal de Su Merced
Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing