We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Selenita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selenita
Ranked #5 of 29 Sucre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Garden Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Selenita for a month while we studied Spanish in Sucre. Very glad we did as it is a wonderful little boutique hostel run by a nice couple who speak English, French, and Spanish. The garden is beautiful, the view over Sucre is superb, the owners are helpful and friendly, and the resident dog Zaza is the cutest little friend. We highly recommend La Selenita.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of travel this beautiful place proved to be! Maite (please forgive the spelling!) and Ricardo have built the perfect sanctuary and yet so close to the town. Beautiful views, lovely home made breakfasts, gorgeous patio to relax and soothe weary travellers. On our last day, ready to head to the airport, Maite was told there were 'no taxis'- she ran up the hill like a mountain goat while we waited outside the front door- 2 minutes later a taxi came up the street with her on board !!! And we were ready to go. This truly is a unique place and each cabana is very private with beautiful gardens. PERFECT!

Room Tip: If you stay longer term there is a small apartment adjoining the house- I believe there is a cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Sucre for a month and a half and after shopping around a bit on where to stay we landed here at La Selenita. The wonderful chill and fun family that runs it, the jungle garden oasis, the quaint and quiet cabanas, and the amazing view of the city instantly sold us. We ended up staying here an entire month and the owner, Ricardo, cut us a great deal which allowed us to pay the same amount we were paying in one of the smaller, way less awesome hostels we had been staying in.

It's technically only four blocks from the central plaza though the uphill walk to the apartment made it feel like more. However, we rather enjoyed this daily exercise and it's such a wonderful place to go back to making the walk well worth it!

One of our favorite parts was the tranquility of the patio space. The cabanas and patio are tucked far enough away from the street so you're able to enjoy the view of the city without all of the noise. You can barely even hear the blaring car alarms that strike about every 2 minutes anywhere you go in Sucre.

Ricardo and his family are also the nicest hosts of any hostel we visited or stayed in often offering us nuts and fruits from the garden, pieces of homemade dessert, and even a ride to the edge of the city when we left so we didn't have to hail a taxi.

I highly recommend this place to anyone staying long or short term! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMarie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in Sucre for 5 weeks and have seen various places and believe La Selenita is the best place to stay. The rooms are spacious and nice, there is a very convenient kitchen for guests and a nice dining room and lounge. As it is not right in the centre and a bit further from the road it must also be one of the more quiet places at night. There is a beautiful garden with all day sun (and shade) where we have spent many hours studying Spanish. An added bonus if you like animals is that there are a cat and dog, both very tranquilo and won't bother you if you are not into them, but if you are they will be your best friends.
There are a couple small points where improvement can be made though; we had cold showers on a regular basis, the tank is not big enough. Also if you stay long term your room only gets serviced about once a week. It would be nice if basic servicing could be done more often (toilet bin, toilet paper, towels). Kitchen didn't get cleaned at all in first weeks of our stay and needs more regular cleaning as well. Still we loved our stay at La Selenita and wouldn't hesistate to return if visiting Sucre again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardB255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

we have not managed to find in any other place in Bolivia. Amazing friendliness and helpfulness. Common kitchen was great, garden amazing, jams for breakfast delicious. We just wished to had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Maïte and Richard offered us a very pleasant welcome in their B&B, they will help you with anything you want (restaurants, bars, excursions) as they know a lot about the city and the country. They have lived in Bolivia for more than 20 years.
It was a true surprise to find this quiet and cosy place, only 10 minutes walking from the heart of Sucre. Besides, we enjoyed a wonderful view over the city from the garden.
The room was comfortable, spacious and very well decorated. Moreover, the bathroom had hot water and pressure, and was huge and clean.
Last but not least the BREAKFAST, a true moment of pleasure to start a great day with HOMEMADE jam, juice and bread.
In a word, this is the place to stay in Sucre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

After 3 days in the Salar of Uyuni we came to Sucre and found this magnificent place. We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Everything was perfect. Extraordinary breakfast, perfectly clean rooms, nice decoration of rooms and a beautiful garden with a wonderful view over Sucre. A perfect place to stay in the city - close to the city center but very quiet. The owners are very nice and friendly and made us feel like at home. Absolutely recommendable. Thank you for a nice stay at your place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.5 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.4 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#13 of 17 in Sucre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.5 mi away
Casa Verde B&B
Casa Verde B&B
#2 of 29 in Sucre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selenita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selenita

Property: La Selenita
Address: Calle Jose Mostajo 145, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Selenita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing