We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very nice place to stay in Sucre! the staff is very helpfull, the place is clean and they have activities for the hosts every day (like salsa classes, traditional dance night, all-u-can-eat pasta, Spanish classes, etc).

Breakfast is nice and you hace a menu to choose extras from...

Beds are not super conformtables but it´s ok for the price you pay.

Here you have sort of a middle point between quiet and party hostal.

We had a great time here and I would totally recomended :)

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hostal, away from the dinning area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desirete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    123
    37
    22
    14
See reviews for
5
84
155
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giessen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at the Hostel for two weeks. As I attended spanish-classes for two weeks I ask if I could help out in the bar or so.

The owner offered a free bed and free food AND Discount on drinks for helping out in the bar and the marketing...I agreed.

The Dorms are much nicer than you are used to in hostels in south america! The staff is super friendly and Claus, the owner(speaks english, german and spanish), does everything to help you. He is around 24/7 and even helps you to explore different bars even though the bars are his competitors. In other words: He is very caring.

You won't regret staying here!

I was working, learning spanish and having fun for two weeks in Sucre and this Hostel! I'll miss the time.

Till

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Till L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We were a little concerned when we did not get a reply from the hostel when we emailed them the online confirmation from Hostelworld 2 days before asking if we could leave our bags as we were to arrive early from Cochabamba on a night bus. We arrived to find 2 german backpackers explaining to another couple with no reservation that the hostel is often overbooked, so the couple left (this was 8am and reception was not open) luckily our reservation had been received, they just hadn't replied.
Our room was clean, the bed a little lumpy and old - we rolled into the middle - and the room is quite cold with no heater. But the main thing is it is clean and quiet with a hot electric shower. And there are blankets.
There are some hammocks around, and the bar is always popular. The cafe/bar meals are quite good, but slow service and the coffee is awful. The club sandwich is good and the pizzas too.
Breakfast (the one included in the rate) is inconsistent. First day was terrible, next was ok, the next was brilliant.
The wifi is shockingly unpredictable. We realise this is technically not the hostels fault, though they could change service providers or complain to their supplier. In fact we went to cafe Metro just near the plaza most days to use the More reliable wifi and have good (well, better) coffee.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great food,breakfast included, but you can pay little extra for a big one. Friendly owner hammocks nice garden,projector screen for movies, tours organised from reception. Best hostal in Sucre so book in advance as usually books out.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Ask for room Crista, very quiet and at the back away from the dorms,hammock outside the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION: Moved here after suffering the psychotic owner at The Beehive and very glad we did so. Beautiful big building, big beds and a real friendly welcome made us feel much happier here!

STAFF: Really friendly, happy to help whenever possible and Claus, the owner is a real nice guy.

DORMS: We were put in an 8 bed dorm which we ended up having to ourselves for the duration of our stay. The beds are big, the cleaners (really lovely!) did a great job on a daily basis to keep the place spick and span.

BREAKFAST: Simple but adequate.

FACILITIES; There are hammocks everywhere to relax on, a beautiful garden and an on site cafe which serves food at reasonable prices. Also, the hostel is really close to the centre, the mirador and other restaurants.

INTERNET: The wifi was hit or miss but a computer is avalable to use, which we were very grateful for as we managed to upload 4 months worth of photos without a single problem!

OTHER; The one thing that was slightly disappointing was that the ensuite shower was freezing. We were told this was due to the hostel being renovated to electric heaters rather than gas and were told to use another shower but on occasions this was either cold too or wanted to be used by others.

Would you stay again? Yes

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here after a horror of a stay at the beehive and we found sanctuary here. The owner made us feel welcome and made sure I was ok when ill. The bar is cheap and lively at night and the hostel its self is beautiful. It is cheap here so don´t expect luxary beds or hot showers.

Don´t go anywhere else in Sucre. This is one good hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a really nice time. Simple brekkie included which is really nice! There is a cafe which sells food all day which is simple but nice, also a bar. Wifi is good. All in all we had a great stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AineM191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#6 of 55 in Sucre
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.2 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kultur Berlin Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kultur Berlin Hostal

Property: Kultur Berlin Hostal
Address: Calle Avaroa 326, Sucre 2034, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful historical colonial Hostel, it has Restaurant Cafe & Bar. We offers traditional Bolivian, German & international cuisine alongside a wide range of hot and cold drinks, local and imported beers, wine and cocktails. From 9:30 pm till 10:30 pm our Bar runs a happy hour by one drink get two. Check out the "Happy Hour Card" :-) Privat rooms, Bungalow and Dormitorio, all incl Continental Breakfast (Buffet) served with tropical fruits depending on the season. In the heart of our building there are two more courtyards: one courtyard with a lovely fountain and a tropical garden for boundless possibilities of relaxation for all our guests no matter if you stay in the dorm or bungalow. Regular social events are held here including Tango and Salsa nights, language exchanges and cultural events. Ask for our bundles of Accommodation and Spanish classes, privat or group lessons, in our language school "Sucre Spanish School". Free WIFI is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kultur Berlin Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing