We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kultur Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Ranked #1 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Amazing breakfasts, agency included in the hostel which booked everything from motorbiking tours to buses, restaurant included with delicious food at a more than decent price- everything you could want from a hostel! Only downside was the showers are a bit rubbish and hot water is no guarantee, as well as the fact that neither our dorm door nor bathroom door closed properly. But those are mere technicalities and things you easily get over. Had a wicked 5 night stay at Kultur Berlin!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was lucky they checked me in at 4:30 in the morning at no extra charge. Kultur Berlin is a huge hostel it has three courtyards one with a big garden. The dorm in the garden is a quiet place even so the weekend partys are awesome. A local DJ rocked the crowd. Bolivians passing by especially then. Come with friends or solo you will not be alone thats for sure. The restaurant offers great variaty including vegetarian meals. The bar is open all days till around 00:30 (weekends longer) serving beer and many drinks. Staff is nice and friendly too. Plan to see Sucre? I recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: The dorms are nice especially in the one in the garden.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank AxelC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is really a place only for Western backpackers - mostly young people and mostly Europeans and North Americans I guess. There are no locals here - except for the servants.

It's very cold in Sucre at night and there are no heaters in the rooms. Nor are there enough blankets to keep you warm at night. So a VERY freezing experience staying here.

The hostel is completely unflexible about check out time - you MUST leave as early as 10.30. Very annoying.

The food in the restaurant/cafe is very good. Though - mine was rather slow.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gits85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at Kultur Berlin on the recommendation of fellow travellers. This is a hostel which also has a cafe for the public. There is a large outdoor courtyard that was a good place to hangout at, although given it rained a lot during our stay, we didn't make that much use of it.

The cafe has good food, however it was difficult to know who were guests of the hostel & those eating/drinking at the cafe. This made it not as social as many other hostels we have stayed in.

Our room was super; beyond the courtyard and stand alone in the garden. It was spacious with a large double bed & bright bathroom. The only downside was wi-fi didn't reach to the room, but you are able to sit in the cafe, courtyard, etc.

Breakfast is a buffet of the usual - bread, jams, cereal, coffee, etc. They do provide a good fresh fruit selection.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Our experience at this hostel was mixed. The room we stayed in was nice, and had a decent bathroom. The hostel was also beautiful and the people we met were all nice. But, we could not get a lot of sleep between the loud music until midnight and the kids that started running around outside our door at about 6 am (which would have been fine otherwise!). I know it would be hard to turn down the music earlier, as there is a restaurant (which is great!) attached to the hostel, but this was one big negative for us.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Cons-This hostel is in desperate need of more toilets and showers in more central locations. The bunk beds are so low you can't sit up, even though the ceilings are quite high. The breakfast is quite basic.

Pros-Great location, generally helpful and very pleasant staff, especially the people cleaning the rooms. Actually hot hot water. Secure.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed in Hostal Kulturcafé Berlin for more than a week. The hostal and café are located in a beautiful old colonial building very close to the main square in Sucre. The rooms are spacious and so are the bunk beds with good mattresses. The breakfast which is included is the best I had in Bolivia with different kids of bread, fruits, yogurt, cereal, etc. The atmosphere is great, nice staff and the cafe and patio outside is a great place to meet new people/travelers. Lot's of Germans and Dutch people. If you are in Sucre, go to this place!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank sjoerd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.6 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#7 of 59 in Sucre
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kultur Berlin Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kultur Berlin Hostal

Address: Calle Avaroa 326, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range: £8 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in an important historical colonial era building which is filled with character and charm, our KulturBerlin Hostel is located in the heart of the city, just two blocks from the main plaza. We have the largest dormitories in Sucre and our private rooms have all the modern amenities and we serve “The best breakfast in South America” that is included on the price. We are a travellers' hostel run by travellers. Our themed evenings offer a great variety of activities and foods that provide the best in entertainment and help our travellers to stay on budget. Our Bolivian culture night – each Friday - is unique with a great cultural free show from the dancers of the "Sucre Ballet". One of our guests wrote: "Bolivian show on Friday night is highly recommended". We have a great restaurant, fantastic bar and a famous lounge where you can enjoy Bolivian and international dishes and it's the best place to make new friends or to catch up with old ones that you already met on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kultur Berlin Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing