We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best atmosphere around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Best atmosphere around”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at Kultur Berlin for 6 nights and it is easily one of the best hostels I've stayed at in South America. Even though right now there are renovations going on i imagine they will make this place even better. The outdoor courtyard is great, the tranquil back garden area is even better. Hammocks in the garden gave it a nice laid back vibe. You can catch the sun in one or the other of these spots for the majority of daylight hours. Atmosphere is great. The staff were all nice and super helpful. I had one cold shower whilst there but, to be fair if you don't expect at least one cold shower at a hostel in south America you probably live in lala land.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 different dorm rooms, the first was a 8 man room called "Keith" I think? we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Sozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    122
    35
    22
    13
See reviews for
4
82
153
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had such a great time at Kultur Berlin. I spent over a month there whilst learning Spanish at the school linked with the hostel. Klaus the owner and his wife Rosett were always welcoming and Rosett was great to practice my Spanish. The hostel itself is well laid out with a combination of dorms and privates. They are currently building an additional 3 dorms with a load more bathrooms and a common kitchen. The café provides good food until this is completed. The rooms are cleaned daily and the beds made fresh which was pleasant My only minor complaint was the temperamental nature of the hot showers, but I put this down to the construction work taking place at the time. All in all I would definitely recommend a stay, the weekly Folklorica shows on Fridays draw locals and tourists alike and theres always something to do.

Room Tip: If possible Nicholas was a great 4 bed dorm with ensuite at very reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianwarren84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nowhere on their website is this described as a party hostal! Also 2 (cold) showers between 20+ guests is not really acceptable. Breakfast is decent if you have managed to make it up after a noisy nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huacachina, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I really liked the place when we got there - the staff were friendly and our dorm was really nice: even though they were just matresses on the floor they were good mattresses and had nice sheets. There is also a nice hammock area which was great for relaxing and reading. The only criticism I had of it was that there were nowhere near enough loos, but the manager said he was working on that so i willingly forgave it.
However, on Friday night there was a big party. I was having a really good time and I'd enjoyed the traditional Bolivian dancing which happened just before the party too. Everyone was having fun and the DJ correctly called out at about 10.25 that it was our last chance to get our happy hour drinks and we all headed to the bar. But when we were there (still with 4 minutes before the end of happy hour) the manager was behind the bar and told us that happy hour was already over and that we would have to pay full price for the drinks. This really annoyed me as, not only were the cocktails themself very bad and not really at all like what they should've been (specifically caiprinha and mojito, although i tried my first chuflay there and that wasn't great either, don't know if that was their fault), but it was the manager himself who was refusing us (and lots of other people) happy hour deals. It really put me off the place as the time was quite clearly still happy hour o'clock and it just seemed a bit stingy. In the end he said we could be the last 3 grouos to have the happy hour deal but it was too late as we'd already ordered chuflays, which were on permanent happy hour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Positive:

- very good breakfast (the best I had in South America)
- helpful and friendly staff
- great happy hour deals! (e.g. 25 Bol for 2 Cuca libre; and that every day)
- many comunal areas
- easy to socialize (also due to many social events)

negative

- not enough showers (however more showers and rooms are getting constructed)
- no TV room to relax in
- my mattrass was very used and not comfortable (some should be exchanged!!)

Overal impression: A very good hostel with the opportunity of becoming the best hostel in town, after having finished all construcion matters.

Thx!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeIXUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zittau, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for five nights. The first two in an 8 bed dorm over to the main patio and over the café. That was the usual hostel dorm, with the beds being made by cleaners on a daily basis. The cafe downstairs would play music until about midnight and become quiet after that. If people remained in the patio and chatted, you would hear it. So going early to bed really wasn't an option here. It may sound strange, but I also appreciated that the dorm was very dark at night! I switched dorms after two nights for wanting something quieter and was not disappointed: the hostel has a huge property and one of the dorms is in a lovely garden in the back, far enough from the main building to be very quiet. That was a very nice dorm and I can only recommend it for those who need some serious rest from travelling. Generally, given the size of the hostel, more showers and toilets would be nice. The toilets and showers were basic and cleaned once a day, meaning that they'd be somewhat dirty in the evening. The hostel is located very nicely and the price is really unbeatable. While they don't have a kitchen to cook in yourself, they do have a restaurant with good and very (!) cheap food and nice German beer. A real treat is the breakfast! In total, worth a stay with something for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolloknollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Want to stay in a majestic old colonial house? Want the perfect balance of chill out hammock zones and fun spaces with friendly local and expat staff? Feel like some Saurkraut? You got it, and all here in the middle of Bolivia. Kultur Berlin is one of the coolest, comfortable and most interesting places we stayed in Bolivia. We lived in Sucre for a month. After staying at Kultur Berlin for a week, the super friendly owner Claus helped us find an apartment and set us up with Spanish lessons. After we moved out from the beautiful Berlin, we continued to hang out at Kultur Cafe and soak up the vibe over lunch or after lessons as a meet up spot for a drink or two. The rooms are gorgeous, easy on the budget and comfy as, whether your in the awesome dorms or going private. This place is a must when heading to Sucre.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artiszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Verde B&B
Casa Verde B&B
#2 of 29 in Sucre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Oropeza Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hostel Colors House
Hostel Colors House
#7 of 55 in Sucre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kultur Berlin Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kultur Berlin Hostal

Property: Kultur Berlin Hostal
Address: Calle Avaroa 326, Sucre 2034, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful historical colonial Hostel, it has Restaurant Cafe & Bar. We offers traditional Bolivian, German & international cuisine alongside a wide range of hot and cold drinks, local and imported beers, wine and cocktails. From 9:30 pm till 10:30 pm our Bar runs a happy hour by one drink get two. Check out the "Happy Hour Card" :-) Privat rooms, Bungalow and Dormitorio, all incl Continental Breakfast (Buffet) served with tropical fruits depending on the season. In the heart of our building there are two more courtyards: one courtyard with a lovely fountain and a tropical garden for boundless possibilities of relaxation for all our guests no matter if you stay in the dorm or bungalow. Regular social events are held here including Tango and Salsa nights, language exchanges and cultural events. Ask for our bundles of Accommodation and Spanish classes, privat or group lessons, in our language school "Sucre Spanish School". Free WIFI is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kultur Berlin Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing