We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, great location”
Review of Hostal Sucre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Sucre
Ranked #13 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, great location”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great hotel, very cute and European, good breakfast. Great location.

Wifi slow.

Cafe located next door is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    46
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
32
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Old fashioned, with a colonial air - friendly staff (possibly family-run) - the ensuite window was frosted, but there was no blind/curtain and as it overlooked the courtyard, we had to go to the toilet with the light switched off, all compensated though by a padded toilet seat! Stately restaurant served a good breakfast - coffee interesting though........

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Following a two-year old review from Lonely Planet, I decided to stay at Hostal Sucre. I planned to stay there for three weeks but after one week I could no longer stand the cold, old and not comfortable at all room. It is a pitty that this beautiful colonial building has not been kept up in good shape as a hostel. Don't get me wrong, the staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly and the hostel has an amazing colonial patio. But once you get in your room, see the old towels, stained sheets, soiled carpet floor...and then feel the cold Sucre nights in an already cold bedroom... You can find better places just as conveniently located for the same money. I did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FridaPrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sucre hotels

Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

During last July, me and my fiancée has been back packing through Bolivia, and stayed 2 days in Sucre. Hostal Sucre is a very nice place to stay. The hostal is a colonial Big House constructed around the 17th century, with high roofs and antique furniture.
It was a very nice experience, specially if compared to the other places we stayed. The room was pretty clean and confortable, the breakfest was ok, including fresh juice, coffe, bread, cheese and butter. The staff was very attentious, helped us a lot to get an express cab to go to Potosi.
Definitely, a place above aour expectations.

  • Liked — The colonial fency style
  • Disliked — The shower was or very hot, or cold
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ricampelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.1 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.2 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hostal Recoleta Sur
Hostal Recoleta Sur
#12 of 31 in Sucre
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
0.3 mi away
Kultur Berlin Hostal
Kultur Berlin Hostal
#2 of 56 in Sucre
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sucre

Property: Hostal Sucre
Address: Bustillos Street # 113 | Between Colon and Olañeta, Sucre 91, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Sucre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Sucre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Sucre, is located one block away from the main square, offers the following services: Rooms with private bathroom, carpeted, decorated in the most pure colonial style, distributed around two sunny patios, these rooms are equipped with permanent hot water, cable TV, Wi Fi Interne, National and international calls, coffee service, safety deposit boxes, garage, and all the services that the tourist or executive requires to have a pleasant stay in the capital of Bolivia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Sucre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing