We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Independencia
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of G Adventures tour and had a very relaxing stay. The rooms are large and clean and the hotel is beautiful with lovely courtyards. Centrally located within walkign distance of everywhere you´d want to go.

Staff were helpful and breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Really great hotel. Offers a continental breakfast (plus eggs) every morning. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had troubles with the television but then we didn't go to Sucre to watch t.v., so for us it was really a non-issue. Beautiful centre court that guest can relax in if you get tired from walking around the city. Hotel is nice and close to most places you would want to go and see. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEJAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was here three nights staying on the ground floor in a double. It's true it can be a bit noisy if you leave the window to the courtyard open, but I had no problem sleeping, both with it open and closed. The rOoms are sufficiently large with great shower pressure, but mine did smell a bit musty. To me, the patio made up for everything!! It's a sunny, beautiful place to read or hang out when not enjoying Sucre from the outside...the room is just a safe place to sleep as far as I am concerned!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

A very grand, colonial style hotel with two lovely courtyards. A good sized room with plenty of space, large writing desk, bed side table, luggage rack and two beds. The room did get quite hot, especially in the evenings.

It's quite close to some church bells which can get quite noisy at certain times, it's also next to a girl's school and they were noisier than the bells! Therefore, I recommend some ear plugs. You might also want an eye mask as the curtains didn't block much light.

The bathroom was clean and fresh with a good shower.

For once they seem to understand the needs of the modern traveller, with plenty of electrical sockets around the room for recharging laptops and cameras etc. There were two free Internet terminals in the reception area, and they were a decent spec for a change.

After two nights the hotel asked if we would swap rooms. It was a much nicer room with a fridge and a sofa, a bathroom that had a bath and a shower - so we were happy to oblige. It was just round the corner from our previous room, but being northeast facing rather than southeast, it seemed to keep the room cooler and the light seemed to be less of an issue. We were a bit closer to the school though!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonShallcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Great hotel. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in South America. Rooms are different sizes. Nice courtyard, only downfall is that is can be noisy when plenty of guests are in courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank herbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Lovely hotel but the only negative point is the noise. Not because of the tourist with a significant lack of education who speak loudely in the corridors, but also the staff who shout from a patio to the other. Bad point. Room is a bit small. The building is really beautiful. No restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aymaraviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

This hotel was such a dissappointemt, I can only presume that they awarded themselves the four star rating.

Firstly we had asked a double room, specifically requesting a matrimonial bed as they call them in Bolivia. We were given a twin iroom and despite the hotel being half empty they refused to move us. The room was right next to the ground floor courtyard...very pretty, but very noisy - you can't help but be woken up throughout the night by fellow tourists coming back late or by the cleaners hooving right outside the door before 7am!

When we were eventually moved it was to a double room at the top of the hotel. Our wall seemed to join on to the cinema which was incredibly loud late into the night. The heat in the room at the top of the hotel was unbearible and the fan really didn't help. The only window in the room opened onto the courtyard which meant everyone could see right in...not what you want when you're sleeping in just your underwear because it's so hot.

The TV fell off the wall, nearly injuring me when I tried to turn it on. The staff, (who were rude and unhelpful throughout our stay) simply shrugged. They didn't replace it, repair it or even apologize. The trips they told us about were significantly more expensive than the same trips booked around the corner.

The breakfast was medocre and the showers were often cold.

I hate to be so negative, but everything was bad. I tell a lie, the location was good, just around the corner from the main square. But then lots of hotels were in equally good locations...I suggest you choose one of those!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Feeney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monasterio
Hotel Monasterio
#15 of 18 in Sucre
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Posada
0.4 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Independencia

Address: Calle Calvo # 31, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: £51 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Independencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independencia Hotel Sucre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing