We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Sucre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Independencia
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel is steeped in history, where the fathers of Bolivian independence first met to charter their course to freedom. Hence, Hotel Independencia. Classic colonial Spanish design, lush gardens in courtyard, Rooms are average in size. Everything is super clean and well cared for. Breakfast is the usual continental, with eggs available. Only steps away from main square.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithAcosta, Gerente at Hotel Independencia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013
Google Translation

Sus palabras nos motivan a seguir adelante muchas gracias por su comentario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

In the heart of Sucre, the hotel is in a perfect position for visiting museums and other places of interest as well as bars, restaurants and shops. The rooms are on three floors set around two colonnaded courtyards. The front one, just off reception, has a fountain and statues and the rear one has a formal garden with topiary and shrubs. Each floor has covered walkways dotted with period furniture and plants trailing down to the ground floor.
The rooms are a reasonable size and furnished in keeping with the character of the hotel. The bathroom is basic but has copious amounts of hot water for the large shower but, curiously, only cold water for the hand basin. A fan heater is provided, sometimes necessary even in summer.
A good breakfast is served in the ornate dining room which has chandeliers and decorated panels.
The staff was friendly and helpful and maintained a regular presence in the courtyards ensuring leaves were swept up and ashtrays/rubbish were cleared up.
The only hiccup was the intermittent wifi - a really minor whinge.
All in all, a cracking place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Beautiful Colonial style courtyard and great location. Wifi was available in my room which is a big plus in Bolivia. The room was comfortable and big. Breakfast was good and location was excellent, close to the main square and tourist attractions. The only negative would be the noise from fellow travellers and the kitchen being close to my room. The place seemed popular with tour groups and backpackers. Overall, a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithAcosta, Propietario at Hotel Independencia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you so much for your comment, we are very sorry for the noise near your room but the next time that you'll arrive to our hotel we will pleasure to give you a room very quiettly,

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great infrastructure and beautiful colonial decoration, with spacious rooms and bathrooms, heat and WiFi in the rooms. Very good colonial breakfast with fresh fruits and juices and a variety of pastries. Located one block from the main square and close to the main tourist attractions of Sucre. Staff is very attentive and helpful. My experience there would be perfect if I haven't stayed in a room just beside the kitchen that was very noisy early in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour traveling through south America. The location is excellent, as you are less then a block from the main square. We had access to activity vendors, shopping and decent restaurants/bars just minutes from the hotel. Wifi is intermittent within the hotel, but still available which was nice. they also have two computers in the lobby that worked better then some other places I tried in SA.
The hotel is decent and clean, by NA standards I would say it's a 3 star level over all, but very charming.
Staff was nice, continental breakfast was decent, and I got a fairly good sleep as we were at the back of the courtyard away from the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMcC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we loved it here. The hotel is quite colonial in style and has 2 really lovely courtyards where you can sit outside and there is a really pretty fountain. The room we stayed in was really sizeable with a fridge and tv with lots of channels (English speaking).

The location was terrific and close to the main square and whilst this is a huge city, the hotel was really tucked away and there was no noise from the traffic and city folk.The window of the room was overlooking the courtyard and on one night there was some noise from people sitting outside but generally it was very peaceful here.

The beds were nice and comfy with clean linen and the shower was powerful and hot.

The reception staff were so helpful and made us feel so welcome. In reception there are lots of mini safety deposit boxes where you can store your valuables which was nice to be able to do. There was also free internet next to reception where there were 2 PC's available for use with fast connection. The WiFi was really good with a strong signal in the rooms.

I would definitely stay here again. We stayed here as part of a GAP tour and by far this was one of the best hotels we stayed in throughout our 82 day trip in South America.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Love this hotel being so close to the main square just 1/2 block. It has 2 peaceful inner courtyards for you to escape and relax if you want to. Lovely atmosphere to complement this really beautiful city. Stayed 3 nights. Take a room on the upper floor - was able to leave window open. Away from the foot traffic of the lower floors not that the hotel was busy.

Room Tip: Top floor for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceSL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.1 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 mi away
# Pachamama Hostel
# Pachamama Hostel
#6 of 18 in Sucre
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#8 of 18 in Sucre
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Marino Royal Hotel
San Marino Royal Hotel
#10 of 18 in Sucre
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Independencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Independencia

Address: Calle Calvo # 31, Sucre, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sucre
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Independencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, bedfinder AG, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independencia Hotel Sucre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing