We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great reviews got it right!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I needed to find lodging in this part of Michigan and tripadvisor led me to this gem!

My daughter and I have never stayed at a B&B before but after reading the great reviews on here, we decided to give this place a try. We loved it! We stayed in The Garden Room and liked that it was set off a bit from main traffic areas (servants' quarters, you know) since we weren't sure if a B&B would be our thing. We saw some of the other beautiful rooms and even though ours was a bit smaller, I could definitely stay there again. Because I do plan on coming to the area again just to stay here.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hosts, the breakfast and wandering through the downstairs rooms. We did play ping pong and Scrabble but I wish we had had more time to spend just reading in one of the many beautiful alcoves, trying the hot tub or sitting on the porch. And even though we were there when the weather was incredibly hot, the accommodations were cool and comfortable.

I'm now curious to sample other B&B's but this one would be hard to top.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiana7611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Saravilla July 23, 2011 and were delighted with our experience. Our room, The Ammi Wright Suite, is gorgeous. This spacious room, named for the daughter of the man who had the house built, features large windows on three walls, a king canopy bed, a cozy sitting room with wood-burning fireplace, and original hardwood floor. The attached large bath has a whirlpool tub (with shower) and original sink basin.

Saravilla is a huge home--11,000 square feet--and guests are free to roam most of that space. Set on a lovely, wooded, corner lot, on an equally lovely street in Alma, we felt like we had stepped back in time to the days when Ammi Wright herself lived there.

Linda and Jon Darrow, our hosts, were gracious, friendly, and very helpful with dining suggestions, directions, or any other requests. They know the history of their home and surrounding area and conversations with them are interesting! Our breakfast was delicious AND Linda made sure to meet my dietary needs (gluten-free). I informed them of my gluten issues before arrival and they really appreciated the advance notification. If you have special needs just mention them at the time you make your reservations and they will do their utmost to accommodate you.

We heartily recommend a stay at Saravilla and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The website has accurate information about the rooms and has pictures, as well, which help with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LStokes521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Spent a night here with our young children while husband had a business mtg in nearby Mt. Pleasant. The house has an interesting history behind it - wait till you see the ballroom the father built for his spoiled daughter!

Our room was huge and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the owners were tolerant of the children, who ran around. There is a park steps away for them to play.

The town of Alma is walking distance but has seen better days. It's not anything to see.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luveedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We won a one night stay at the Saravilla at a local fundraiser in Comstock Park Michigan.
We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. What a great experience we had! Beautiful mansion, love the feeling of stepping back in time! It was a much needed getaway for my husband and I and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Very comfortable suite and bed! Jon and Linda the innkeepers made us a delicious breakfast and made us feel very welcome. We would highly recommend the Saravilla to everyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkchizmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I am not a huge fan of bed and breakfast lodging except when with a large group of colleagues or friends. This establishment is delighful, from the moment you drive up to it, to the warm welcome from Inn Sitters Laurie, Tim and Malcolm, to the comfy rooms and authentic period decorating. The food was fresh, high-quality and healthy. It was a delightful weekend, especially for a group of individuals with planning or other work to do in their well-appointed ballroom. Very welcoming!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIfan49265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We decided to give ourselves a gift and blindly searched the Internet for a quiet and restful place to spend Christmas Eve. We stumbled on Saravilla and decided to 'take a chance.' What a wonderful 'stumble.' A delightful place to begin with, it was very tastefully decorated for the holidays inside and out. The common area included, among other things, a pool table, ping-pong table, beautiful hot tub, sitting rooms, dining area, small kitchen, and . . .. We had the most delightful evening 'playing' and enjoying each other's company. Our room, the Ammi Wright suite, included a sitting room with a real wood burning fireplace all charged and ready for the simple touch of a match. In a matter of minutes after our 'play-date' we were listening to the crackle of the fire and watching the light flicker and dance on the walls as we enjoyed a quite glass of our favorite wine.

If that wasn't enough, Jon and Linda prepared a delightful and full breakfast for us to enjoy the next morning and sat with us so we could get to know them better. By the way, if you are looking for us next Christmas Eve . . we'll be in the Ammi Wright suite . . . the reservations are confirmed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcb42717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We recently visited our children in Alma, Michigan and stayed at Saravilla for the second time. What a lovely little gem! Jon and Linda Darrow have done a spectacular job of turning this old mansion into a beautiful Bed and Breakfast experience. If you like antiques, you will love perusing the many splendid rooms in this quite large home. Jon and Linda were very hospitable and Linda is quite a cook! Our breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere.
We highly recommend this gem for anyone traveling in the Alma or Mt. Pleasant area who want something charming and more pleasant than a hotel without paying more for it!!!
Linda and Chris

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mdg1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
16.3 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#10 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
152 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#1 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#1 of 4 in Alma
231 reviews
16.5 mi away
Gingko Tree Inn
Gingko Tree Inn
#1 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
36 reviews
15.8 mi away
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
#2 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 633 N State St, Alma, MI 48801-1640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Gratiot County > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saravilla, circa 1894, is a 7-room bed and breakfast in the college town of Alma, Michigan. Built as a wedding gift, the 11,000 sf Dutch Colonial mansion affords guests large rooms, all with private baths, and grand public spaces that include a ballroom, library, billiard room, sunroom, and wraparound porch. A full English/American breakfast is included in all room rates. Upscale amenities in some guestrooms include working fireplaces and spa bathrooms; all accommodations are in large rooms with seating areas. Alma College, the Masonic Home, Mid Michigan Health Center, and the town's picturesque business street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Saravilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing