We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing historic house!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing historic house!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I came to Alma on business and it was lovely to stay two nights in this huge, historic house. Beautiful antique furniture and amazing original woodwork set the stage as soon as you come into the first floor, and there's something wonderful to look at everywhere you turn in this rambling mansion. I was there during unseasonably warm weather in March, and I enjoyed the pond in the garden at the rear even though the landscaping hadn't entirely woken up from winter yet. It must be stunning in season!

My bed was very comfortable, the ceiling fan was strong and quiet, and I slept like a baby. Breakfast was delicious and filling, and the owners friendly and accommodating. What else can you ask for?

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KalamazooHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
73
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesville, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lots of meeting space and privacy. Nice hosts, big room, and good breakfast. Great location. Enjoyed the pool table.

Room Tip: The stairs are easy to climb--even to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMisterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I had the opportunity to participate in a business meeting and to spend one evening at the Saravilla Bed & Breakfast. This inn has more than enough room to hold meetings, has very comfortable beds and breakfast was wonderful. I would recommend this inn to anyone for business or pleasure. Jon and Linda are great hosts as well. Lou M

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were impressed with the beauty of this enormous (11,000+ square feet) historic home turned B&B! Our parents treated us to a stay at Saravilla which we were able to experience just before the birth of our second child. The breakfast and complimentary snacks were very satisfying, and Jon and Linda are very friendly hosts. The wi-fi was a little weak in our room, but we really didn't need to be spending time on our computer when the reason we were there was to rest and relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joylynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We have stayed at this B&B on two occasions while visiting a relative that resides at the Masonic Pathways home in Alma. The house is located close to the Masonic home and we found it comfortable and friendly. The breakfasts have been very good. The history of the building is interesting and adds to the experience of staying there. It's quiet, convenient, and offers a great alternative to a hotel. The only concern we had was that the beds were not quite as soft as we are used to, but we certainly slept well on them. The small bed in the Spitler room was more comfortable than the small bed in the Lancashire room.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Lancashire Room and the Spitler Room. Both were spacious and clean. The Spitl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavalierfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

i regularly visit the area for business and ALWAYS stay at Saravilla. Beautiful accommodations in a lovely walkable area. Will continually go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We only stayed one night, but the staff was wonderful in recommending a restaurant, and pleasant to interact with. This was our first time going to a bed and breakfast, and we are pleased with the experience. The room was beautiful, and the fireplace added to the overall coziness and charm of the entire visit. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Turret room was beautiful, had wood burning fireplace and attached bathroom with jacuzzi tub. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
16.3 mi away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
16.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
140 reviews
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Central Michigan University
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Centra...
#6 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Property: Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Address: 633 N State St, Alma, MI 48801-1640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Gratiot County > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saravilla, circa 1894, is a 7-room bed and breakfast in the college town of Alma, Michigan. Built as a wedding gift, the 11,000 sf Dutch Colonial mansion affords guests large rooms, all with private baths, and grand public spaces that include a ballroom, library, billiard room, sunroom, and wraparound porch. A full English/American breakfast is included in all room rates. Upscale amenities in some guestrooms include working fireplaces and spa bathrooms; all accommodations are in large rooms with seating areas. Alma College, the Masonic Home, Mid Michigan Health Center, and the town's picturesque business street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Saravilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing