We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Elegance, Modern Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I picked Saravilla totally at random; part of the adventure for us. Rarely are we dissapointed by a B&B and Saravilla was certainly no exception. Jon and Linda were delightful and attentive hosts. Jon, a retired CMU professor, was extremely knowledgeable on not only the history of the home and its original owner, but the history of the several historic homes in the area. Our spacious bedroom had all the modern necessities yet retained the elegance of the spectacular homes built at the turn of the 20th century. Breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful. If we ever find ourselves in need of lodging in the Central Michigan area we would not hesitate to book another stay at the Saravilla. Thank you, Jon and Linda, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have stayed at a number of bed and breakfast establishments, but none as steeped in history as Saravilla. I am so glad that our first three choices for the get-away were completely booked. Saravilla was our fourth choice; but it will be at the top of our list the next time we find ourselves in the area.

Saravilla is a grand, turn-off-the-last-century mansion with all the magnificence that you would imagine. In our travels, we have visited some magnificent mansions and plantation homes, but for an hour or two. As a guest at Saravilla, you get to spend your days and nights living and sleeping with the opulence of a bygone era. It is truly an experience with history and a step back into time. But if you like to have your modern amenities along with your time travels, TV is in your room and wireless internet is available throughout the home.

We stayed in the Turret Room. No expense was spared to make this room comfortable and to add the little touches of elegance. The bed spreads, blankets, washcloths, and towels were all Ralph Lauren. The towels, especially, were a joy to use after exiting the in-room whirlpool spa following a long day on the Fred Meijer Heartland trail riding bikes. The Turret room features a king-size bed, which is often hard to find in a bed and breakfast.

There are many richly-appointed rooms where you can tuck yourself away for a couple of hours with a good book. The stately front porch is a great location for morning coffee or evening tea and conversation. The first-floor ballroom is huge and currently hosts a large dinning room table used for banquets, as well as a billiard table and a ping-pong table available to the guests. Just off the rear of the ballroom is a sun room with a hot tub available for use any time.

The home has been wonderfully restored by Jon and Linda and is a true treasure. They should be proud of their efforts, and the community, I'm sure, is grateful for their investment and efforts. Travelers: Don't miss this wonderful home and a superb excursion into history and grandeur!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Turret Room, but we peeked into the others and all look wonderful. All of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calmseas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The trip originally started out as a 25th wedding anniversary celebration; however, my husbands work had a change in plans, so my mother was kind enough to come with me. Neither of us had any experience with a B&B; however, our experience was so wonderful, I would love to take my husband there. The owners/Innkeepers should just change their names to "Friends" because that is how we felt once we met them and had a wonderful meal. PLEASE GO---it's so wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincinnati_OhioSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived around 9:00 p.m., and initially tried ringing the front doorbell. We were told that we had to drive to the back of the house, park, and enter via the guest entrance. The B & B is in a grand old Victorian house, full of antiques and beautiful woodwork. Our Garden Room was large, with a comfortable bed, and en suite bathroom. There were no choices offered at breakfast. A quiche was what was on the menu: take it or leave it! We took it and enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Check out the website for room descriptions, as each one is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Lots of room to spread out for a business meeting. Comfortably large guest room with everything I needed. Yummy breakfast. Great place to meet with colleagues.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I came to Alma on business and it was lovely to stay two nights in this huge, historic house. Beautiful antique furniture and amazing original woodwork set the stage as soon as you come into the first floor, and there's something wonderful to look at everywhere you turn in this rambling mansion. I was there during unseasonably warm weather in March, and I enjoyed the pond in the garden at the rear even though the landscaping hadn't entirely woken up from winter yet. It must be stunning in season!

My bed was very comfortable, the ceiling fan was strong and quiet, and I slept like a baby. Breakfast was delicious and filling, and the owners friendly and accommodating. What else can you ask for?

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank KalamazooHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lots of meeting space and privacy. Nice hosts, big room, and good breakfast. Great location. Enjoyed the pool table.

Room Tip: The stairs are easy to climb--even to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiMisterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 633 N State St, Alma, MI 48801-1640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Gratiot County > Alma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range: £81 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saravilla, circa 1894, is a 7-room bed and breakfast in the college town of Alma, Michigan. Built as a wedding gift, the 11,000 sf Dutch Colonial mansion affords guests large rooms, all with private baths, and grand public spaces that include a ballroom, library, billiard room, sunroom, and wraparound porch. A full English/American breakfast is included in all room rates. Upscale amenities in some guestrooms include working fireplaces and spa bathrooms; all accommodations are in large rooms with seating areas. Alma College, the Masonic Home, Mid Michigan Health Center, and the town's picturesque business street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Saravilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing