We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Some people may think they would feel more comfortable staying at a chain hotel, but they will change their minds once they sleep in the quiet comfort of the Saravilla Bed and Breakfast. We happened upon this gem with a recommendation from our son who lives in Alma. The home is a beautiful Dutch colonial home in the heart of Alma. We have stayed in the Garden room and the Turret Room, both equally charming. Breakfast is always a delectable combo of fruit/yogurt and a savory egg/bake. Coffee is available when requested and a toaster, bagels, etc. are also available. Linda and Jon provide a lovely and comfortable home away from home.

Room Tip: For a king size bed, choose the Turret or Garden room. The Turret room has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
71
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I was there for a weekend. Wonderful hosts, beautiful historical home. This is a very beautiful historic home. The hosts were so friendly and accommodating, even preparing breakfast early for me on my departure. I'm not much of a breakfast eater but the food was very good. I was in town to visit my daughter at Alma College. She and her boyfriend joined me at the house to study, then we enjoyed playing ping pong and billiards and touring the property. I've stayed in several B&B's and this ranks at the top.

Room Tip: The Highland Room was very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I had a wonderful visit at Saravilla in Alma, Michigan with my husband this January. I have stayed her previously and was so excited to go back and see it again. Jon and Linda are very friendly and accomodating. Our visit was comfy and cozy. If you are intriqued with the Downton Abby craze, I suggest a visit her to experienc true Victorian Charm from a time gone by.

Room Tip: I stayed in the garden room with the kind sized bed and attached bath with a claw foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

If you love to immerse yourself in times gone by I highly recommend Saravilla. There is a certain charm to old houses and this one has been lovingly restored and maintained by the owners. We loved everything about our stay; the rich dark woods, the window seats, the turrets and twists, the ballroom which now houses pool and ping pong with room to spare. Tucked off to one side is a garden room with a hot tub and exercise equipment. I am impressed that the owners are able to take such an expansive and elaborate house and make it feel so welcoming and homey. There is a little kitchenette for guests to use with a mini fridge, beverages, pretzels, etc, glasses, etc. There are chocolates by your bed side and robes in the closet. We chose to stay in the Highland room and we were offered and upgrade, but the room was very charming and we couldn't resist the plaid. We kept the room we had booked and it was toasty warm on a cold winter night. The bathroom was across the hall, but I believe all the rooms have their own bathrooms. This one was part of the original nursery with a sweet brick wall and an original fire place. It was a quirky little bathroom, but very elegant, we loved it. Breakfast and conversation in the morning were delightful and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We snuck a peak at the turret room and the The Ammi Wright Suite and both were amazing so next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppyGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

From the decor to the food to the building itself, this place was a pleasure every minute we were there! The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and felt private, and the people in charge were friendly but nonintrusive. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lldavids44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Saravilla a number of times and we would recommend it to anyone staying in the area. Jon and Linda make the visit comfortable and relaxing; it's much more pleasant and interesting than staying at any hotel. We look forward to the lovely rooms, the delicious breakfasts, the suggestions for local restaurants and excursions, and the chats with Linda and Jon as well as other visitors. You will definitely come back to Saravilla.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My daughter and I were going to be in town for a horse show and all of the hotels and motels were booked. We found Saravilla Bed & Breakfast online and decided to book a room there. We were very impressed with the facilities and felt like royalty staying there. It was fun to wander around in the evening and picture what parties were like there in the 1800's with the men playing billiards and the women prancing around in their finest dresses! The home is truly magnificent in beauty, our room was cozy and we had a private bath. Overall, a terrific experience and we were so pleased that all the hotels were booked! We plan to stay at Saravilla any time we are in the Alma area overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
16.3 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Central Michigan University
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Centra...
#6 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
16.3 mi away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
14.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Property: Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Address: 633 N State St, Alma, MI 48801-1640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Gratiot County > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saravilla, circa 1894, is a 7-room bed and breakfast in the college town of Alma, Michigan. Built as a wedding gift, the 11,000 sf Dutch Colonial mansion affords guests large rooms, all with private baths, and grand public spaces that include a ballroom, library, billiard room, sunroom, and wraparound porch. A full English/American breakfast is included in all room rates. Upscale amenities in some guestrooms include working fireplaces and spa bathrooms; all accommodations are in large rooms with seating areas. Alma College, the Masonic Home, Mid Michigan Health Center, and the town's picturesque business street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saravilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing