We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful stay and you will too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saravilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Charming, super clean, comfortable, excellent service and great hosts make you, literally, feel right at home. Great breakfast! My daughter and I stayed 1 night to attend the Alma College Freshman orientation. Loved the proximity to downtown Alma where we explored the area. I wish I could have stayed at Saravilla another day just to relax on the front porch and use their hot tub. Beautiful well-kept grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our first time at a B&B, so we weren't sure what to expect. The room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. We had our own bathroom and were provided with everything we could have possibly needed. Jon and Linda were wonderful hosts. We were made to feel right at home. We would definitetly stay there again!

Terry K.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here two nights. We were on a bike trip. What a lovely
experience! The room was great! The breakfast was very good.
They allow you to pick your breakfast time, that was nice!! Jon &
Linda are great hosts! We are going back in September with friends!
We would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

8 of us rode our bikes to Alma and stayed at Saravilla. Jon and Linda were exceptionally hospitable to us and served all of our needs. They allowed us to put our tandem bikes in their garage, and accommodated my wife's special need for breakfast! The rooms are spacious and well cared for and each room has it's own bath. Thank you Jon and Linda for helping us have a great time on our mini-tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Saravilla B&B is in an 1890's historic home that has been lovingly restored and renovated into a charming Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The main level of the house has meeting rooms and games rooms. Linda and Jon are wonderful hosts, attentive to your every need. This is a perfect place for a getaway in Alma.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A lovely, historic B & B. Linda and John are gracious and very accommodating. Linda makes a wonderful breakfast also. John knows a lot of Alma and local history which makes very pleasant breakfast conversation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a great time at the Saravilla this weekend. The innkeepers were very, very nice and gave us a wonderful tour of the house and it's history. The house is BIG, really big, and nicely furnished in an eclectic mix of antiques. There are beautiful touches all over this house. The woodwork is phenomenal and the original wallpaper, radiators and fireplaces are charming. There are plenty of rooms to sit in on the first floor and the guest rooms and baths are all lovely. Many special touches everywhere. We enjoyed the selection of decaf teas in the evening. The home baked cookies in the cookie jar and the chocolates too. There is a hot tub in the solarium , a ping pong and a pool table. It is a beautiful home and a great stay, the bed was comfortable and it was peaceful and quiet. We were able to have our Alma College student daughter meet us there for breakfast (delicious!) and we were able to enjoy a nice long visit with her in a quiet, home-like, environment. So much nicer than sitting in a restaurant or walking through the local Walmart, lol! We will definitely be staying at the beautiful Saravilla again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amd6551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
16.3 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
153 reviews
2.7 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#1 of 4 in Alma
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 633 N State St, Alma, MI 48801-1640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Gratiot County > Alma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range: £80 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravilla Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saravilla, circa 1894, is a 7-room bed and breakfast in the college town of Alma, Michigan. Built as a wedding gift, the 11,000 sf Dutch Colonial mansion affords guests large rooms, all with private baths, and grand public spaces that include a ballroom, library, billiard room, sunroom, and wraparound porch. A full English/American breakfast is included in all room rates. Upscale amenities in some guestrooms include working fireplaces and spa bathrooms; all accommodations are in large rooms with seating areas. Alma College, the Masonic Home, Mid Michigan Health Center, and the town's picturesque business street are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Saravilla Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing