We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like visiting friends”
Review of Big Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Lodge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like visiting friends”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Ok, so if you are looking for fancy high end lodging, this is not for you. As far as I know, there is no masseuse on staff. But if you are looking for clean, comfortable rooms and people who welcome you like friends, this place is awesome. In fact, my family doesn't stay anywhere else when we go rock hounding in Alpena. The place is family owned and run by kind, generous folks. We are happy to have found our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tawas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Outside of building looks great!! I called to make our reservation , only queen beds so we took a room with 2 queen beds.. When walking to our room, there were chicken legs spilled out on the sidewalk.. My husband unlocked the door ... Oh wow!! The carpet was filthy, the place looked like back in the 40s.. When I put my head on the pillow there was rumbling so I was awake most of the night.. The water heat kept making ticking noises all night .. Bathroom was pretty much a joke.. Not one place to plug in a curling iron or blow dryer :( The gentleman who booked me said "you are going to love your room" The kitchen light was burnt out. Only regular coffee was given. We won't go back.. Kind of a dump actually ...

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, Owner at Big Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
HI Elaine, thank you for the response. We would like to thank you for trying our motel. We try very hard to make sure everyone has a clean and comfortable experience. I am sorry that you did not let me know that there were any problems/issues. I would have taken care of them immediately, as I told you when you left from checking in. if there is anything don't hesitate to call. As for chicken bones. we were obviously the victim of someone throwing them there. I clean it daily and had already done so that day in the morning. I clean all the ashtrays and sidewalks and grounds every morning. the light bulb has been replaced within a half hour of receiving your comments, I simply did not know it was not working.. the pillows have a barrier for the guests protection from head lice or any other things that may come from being in a people business. you can take the protectors off if you wish. we provide them as a courtesy for your protection as well as clean cases.. I also noticed that you did not mention how large the suite you had was or the brand new serta perfect sleeper mattresses with matching comforters, walk in closets , the bathroom is from the earlier era and most guests have commented how good shape they are in. if we spend the money to redo them. then the price increases for guests. we are trying to make a pleasant clean environment that is family friendly with out killing a vacation or travelers budget.. you also had a full eat in kitchen and full living room with large screen tv.. approximately 800 ft of living space for under 100$. I will look into the bathroom plugs and make adjustments as needed to give a home atmosphere. again , thank you for the reply. please accept our apologies for your stay. and please advise us next time so that we may address any concerns immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit family. Yes the rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Rooms had everything we needed-fridge, microwave. Flat screen TV would have been nice. I can see this being a great place to stay during the summer. Its right across the street from a public park and beach. The staff were SUPER nice and accomadating! We were quite a distance from the front desk but still got good wifi signal. Yes the furnishings are dated but the bed was comfortable and the room was very neat and clean. We plan on staying here whenever we visit family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thestarrynight79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We enjoyed the location directly across the street from a public park on Lake Huron, a short walk to a terrific Supermarket, and next door to what we thought was the best restaurant in Alpena (we spent eight days in Alpena). The room had plenty of space and storage for two people. The was not much shelf space in the bathroom, but my measure of success in a hotel bathroom is hot water and great water pressure...and Big Bear Lodge had both of those. I had no trouble connecting to the free Wi-Fi and had good, fast service. Randy and Sarah make staying in the Big Bear Lodge seem like a B and B...one of the two (or both) is always there during the breakfast period to chat with the guests at the coffee table and offer advice and opinions on things to see and do in the local area. All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend the Big Bear Lodge to anyone searching for a place to stay in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent 4 nights at Big Bear Lodge on family business. The location is ideal, right across from Lake Huron and a few minutes drive to restaurants, downtown, the boat harbor, etc.
I have to start this review by saying Randy and Sarah Wilson, the owners are great people and will do anything to make your visit more enjoyable.
The rooms are very small, especially for 3 people. Rooms have a micro wave, coffee maker and small fridge. Not much closet space, extremely small bathroom, and small shower area. Plenty of hot water and the water pressure was great.
From what I understand the owners are fairly new and they are making improvements. My one gripe is the phones in the rooms were not working because the phone system is down and is quite costly to have repaired. So if you don't have a cell phone you are basically up a creek.
The pool was clean and fantastic, lots of chairs and umbrella tables around the pool area. Continental breakfast in the lobby.
I am very familiar with Alpena and know most of the motels are ancient and run down. Very few choices. I feel for what we paid for the room we didn't get much in return, however if you are looking for a basic room, no frills this would be great for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue49321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After being on the road for several hours, car trouble and literally exhausted, we came to Big Bear Lodge right on US23 in Alpena. The motel is "vintage" but the room was quite comfortable, exceptionally clean, and very affordable. We rested very well. They also had Wi-Fi service which was one of the two places I could actually get on-line the whole week! Randy and Sarah Willson were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was a nice touch. We would recommend this lodge to others. We will definitely stay here again on our trips to Michigan Now that we are aware of Big Bear Lodge, we will make reservations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargienTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Big Bear Lodge and it was very clean and comfortable. Our room had a queen bed and it was $69 for the night. There was a large refrigerator in the room so you can leave your cooler at home. About a 4 minute drive to downtown Alpena. The rooms also had a local restaurant catalog with menus and locations of several area dining choices. We didn't go in the pool but it looked nice. If you're in town I recommend staying here and checking out the glass bottom boat tour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparticuslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
2.4 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Of Alpena
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water's Edge Motel
Water's Edge Motel
#3 of 4 in Alpena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
16.2 mi away
Churchill Pointe Inn
Churchill Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in Hubbard Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge

Property: Big Bear Lodge
Address: 2052 US Highway 23 S, Alpena, MI 49707-4523
Region: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Bear Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value for the dollar,continental bkfst,good wi-fi, best views of Thunder Bay-Lake Huron, Clean and comfortable rooms, recent updates include new beds, new linens,blankets, and comforters. New Tapestry outdoor theme valances. All rooms well equipped with coffee makers in room, refridgerators, microwaves. We have 4 kitchenettes, two are lg with full living rooms, wide screen tv, full kitchen and bath. The other two have two seperate bedrooms and kitchenette, one has two full baths, and the other has 1.5. We also have an outdoor 8'deep pool heated to 84, with suntan deck. Come and take sanctuary from the storms of life, kick back and relax with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Big Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Lodge Alpena, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing