We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waters Edge Motel Alpena, MI”
Review of Water's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Water's Edge Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Alpena B&B and Inns
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waters Edge Motel Alpena, MI”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Motel in very poor condition. Needs major updating. Stayed there one night only because all other area motels were filled. Now I know why. I would suggest checking out a room before formally checking in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I chose this motel based on the pictures and descriptions shown on its website. Because we were staying for a night during a holiday weekend, I thought it best to make reservations first. Since I had given my credit card up front, I was afraid to back out in fear that my card would be charged anyway. I should have taken the chance. The room was filthy dirty and I am sure the sheets had not been washed or changed. The bathroom was so tiny & dirty, it was almost impossible to use it. The owners had a lot of nerve charging $77 for this ~ they sure don't spend the money on improvements or maid services. We couldn't get out of there fast enough in the morning and sure won't ever stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alpena hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The place stinks and is old and dirty. If you are at all particular about your stays out, this is NOT the place for you, especially with the family. We were lured in by the "pet friendly", but not even happy about the dog laying on the floor. Unless you have pets and are in a bind, keep looking elsewhere. We are braving the night, but will be cancelling the rest of our stay here. The previous reviews are confusing about clean and nice, but I guess it all depends on what you are used to on a daily basis and how you live.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing , Michgan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I agree with earlier post that rooms nearer #10 are best, I got # 9 by chance. My dog was welcome. To be fair , the room wasnt that great, but not bad or dirty. The comforters arent new , might have a burn hole or two, the TV is old (but it worked), and the bathroom is tiny, but has a working shower at the normal height.
I'd suggest asking to see a room if you are very particular. The owner was very nice and I wouldnt want to suggest they put their place up as luxury . It is ON THE BEACH and their land is next to a much larger city beach so, it'd be a big bill if Holiday Inn owned it....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a mom and pop motel. Our King bed was comfortable and the sheets were good. The bath towels were thick and soft. The carpet was stained and probably dirty but otherwise the room was clean. The large picture window offered a lovely view of the lake. Nice beach. Can walk to restaurants. I recommend staying in a room numbered 5 or higher since they are further from the road. We did not hear traffic noise in our room (number 5). The owners were very nice.

I would stay here again -- but not for my anniversary...!!

Room Tip: close to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The view of the water and beach area was spectacular. The hospitality and service was outstanding. The accomodations were splendid and met all our needs. We definitely will book here again in our future visits in this area.
Rick & Kim Wittner

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickim1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainwell, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I had booked at the Water's Edge Motel based on reviews from other TripAdvisor users. Unfortunately, things must have changed. When I arrived, the man running the place didn't think I had a reservation - he had to call his wife to figure it out, which didn't inspire confidence in their management skills.
The room was neither clean nor "cottage like." When I peeled back the comforter on each bed, I had to brush off hair and sand from the sheets. The bathroom looked like the walls had recently been painted - because there was white paint slopped on the unfinished woodwork. There were open seams in the door leading into the wall, and the ceiling was pitted and had bits of plaster (?) dripping. Gross. The shower head was positioned about mid-chest (I'm 5'9", my husband is 6'1" - we had to duck in order to use it). There was a cupboard and two drawer in the bathroom, which would have been nice if they weren't stained and musty. There was hardly any counter space in the bathroom, so only the toothbrushes were able to be left out - I had to pull everything out of my bag to get ready in the morning.
There was a line of plastic sheeting over the carpet from the front door to the bathroom - I suppose for people tracking in from the beach outside. Admittedly, the beach access was nice - but the public beach is a couple of doors down, so it's not like you couldn't go to the public beach to access Lake Huron.
The door had crazed glass windows that allowed light into the room in the morning - and the curtains allowed light in from underneath - so sleeping in was impossible. The outlet next to the table in-between the beds didn't have a three-prong plug, so I had to plug my computer and cell phone charger into the outlet shared with the wall A/C unit. There was no hair dryer, so I left with a wet head.
The price was NOT $55/night for a "classic standard" room - it's leaped up to $77/night! Frankly, if this had been a $55 motel room, I wouldn't have had such high expectations. Next time, I'll spend $79 and stay at a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrincessInArmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at Water's Edge Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
A friend of ours alerted us to the comment regarding our accommodations. It was obvious that our housekeeping staff was not performing their duties to our satisfaction. They have since been dismissed and we have hired new staff. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Susan and Pete - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
2.2 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#5 of 7 in Alpena
208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Of Alpena
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpena - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Alpena
51 reviews
19.3 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Motel

Property: Water's Edge Motel
Address: 1000 State St., Alpena, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Water's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Water's Edge Motel of Alpena. Located on beautiful Thunder Bay, the Water's Edge Motel of Alpena is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort, or travelers looking for adventure. Whatever you are looking for, the Water's Edge Motel of Alpena is the perfect hotel choice for your visit.The Water's Edge Motel is just steps away from some of Alpena's finest attractions. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, museums, and many beach front parks.Loaded with comforts and amenities, the Water's Edge Motel is an outstanding value. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Water's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Motel Alpena, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing