We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Of Alpena
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great stay....”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our travel plans changed and we needed to stay in Alpena overnight with only one day notice. The Best Western website showed this hotel full....but when I call they confirmed us for a room the next night and actually made some changes in order to accommodate our needs.

The motel was extremely clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have had in a mid-range motel. The motel is located in a very safe area and convenient to the interstate.

I would definitely stay at this motel if I were to visit the Alpena area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    84
    44
    2
    4
See reviews for
64
69
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Located on the outskirts of town, the word "average" was invented to describe this place. There was nothing wrong,but on the other hand,neither was there anything exemplary. The rooms were clean. The WiFi worked as did the lobby Internet station. There was a nice indoor pool with a couple of exercise machines nearby.

Perhaps this motel's best attribute, however, was its close proximity to a Walmart (directly across the highway) and all sorts of other retailers and dining options.

Room Tip: Jimmy Chen's across the parking lot was pretty good for dinner. Full bar, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed over one night, July 5, 2012. The lady who checked us in was outstanding. When we found a problem with the fridge in our room, she switched is to another room immediately. (a nicer room at that). Sorry I didn't catch her name. She was helpful with local directions and recommendations, and always cheerful.

The hotel is on a busy road, right across from a Walmart, Applebee's, and other shops. Our room faced the road and was surprisingly quiet through the night. Flat screen tv, wifi, air conditioning, all worked fine. Pillows are a bit overstuffed (foam) and lumpy for my liking, but fine for my companion. Bring your own pillow. It's an older hotel, but well maintained. Everything was clean, in good repair. We didn't try the pool.

Breakfast has Douwe-egberts coffee machine, tasted weak, so we grabbed a cup from Mc Donalds across the street. Cereal, rolls, juice, fruit, waffles were just fine.

Hotel is about 5 minute drive from the Lake Huron shore. We had a good value for Fourth of July week- with AAA , or bill was $84 including taxes for the two of us. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomervilleMAfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here over the 4Th of July, very clean, large rooms, king bed very comfortable. Refg, micro and coffee.
Parking right out in front, no long hauls. We were about 2 miles from down town, but there is a Home Depot, Walmart, Apple Bees and a Chinese Rest. next door. For the rate we paid, it was more than worth the stay. They have a nice cont. breakfast in the a.m. for those not wanting to leave the hotel. Service is excellent!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A clean well-kept older faciity both inside & out. Price was good but we were put in a very small room with enough furniture for 2 rooms! Barely enough space to turn around in. Two double beds, one good, one not so good. Very small bathroom, everything in on small space. Fridge crammed into wardrobe, leaving little space for clothes. On the plus side, Breakfast offered a pretty good variety. Front desk employees were friendly & helpful. We could have asked for a different room but chose not to, so our own fault, I suppose. We wouldn't stay at this BW again. Not a very comfortable stay. Alpena is an old town but very clean & interesting to explore...lots of history & an interesting Maritime Museum downtown....well worth checking out.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you accept it. We didn't & should have. Surely they have some wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiserandolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. The rooms are predictable, but the beds are very comfortable. The pool and hot tub were nice, although I'd like to have more bubbles in the hot tub. The breakfast was very good and includes boiled eggs, sausage gravy and waffles. We appreciated the free breakfast, as one of the other hotels in town does not offer it. Our room had two entrances, one from the outside (parked at the door) and the other from the interior hallway. The local Walmart is across the street, and there is an Applebee's and a McDonald's next to it. More fast food restaurants are down the street. The nightly rate was the lowest we found in town, and we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
335 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Being people who usually enjoy the security of having a pre-made hotel reservation for a destination, we decided to try what others do often . . . wait until we get to a community to find a hotel. Our first stop was at a competitor (which we've used in the past), but the room rate for the night was unacceptably high, even though the hotel did not seem totally booked, or busy. So, we asked this desk person for directions to other hotels in the area, and she complied! (I guess she REALLY did not want our business!) We were happy with the rate at Best Western, as well as the cleanliness, quietness, and breakfast! The front desk person was friendly, helpful, and made excellent recommendations for finding dinner in the waterfront community, just a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bosanchubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
1.9 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
480 reviews
18.1 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
51 reviews
16.9 mi away
Churchill Pointe Inn
Churchill Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in Hubbard Lake
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Alpena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Alpena

Property: Best Western Of Alpena
Address: 1285 M 32 W, Alpena, MI 49707-8105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Alpena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Of Alpena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpena
Alpena Best Western
Best Western Of Alpena Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing