We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good end to a bad day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN of Alpena
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Certificate of Excellence
Galion, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A good end to a bad day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived at the motel on motorcycles late in the evening after being caught in a bad storm. Cindy, the night clerk, dried our clothes and recommended an excellent restaurant that delivered to the motel. She allowed us to park our motorcycles under the motel's awning so we didn't have to cover them and offered us the use of a hose and towels to clean the bike the next morning. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Even though the motel was full, it was quiet and we were able to get a good night's sleep. We ate their biscuits & gravy and waffles before heading out the next day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debbe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    81
    43
    2
    4
See reviews for
63
67
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were extremely pleased with the staff at this location. We especially liked two of the girls at the front desk on Aug 20 21 and 22. Sorry we are not good with the memory of their names.. They all went above and beyond. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast as we enjoy the fruit and a hot breakfast. We knew in advance that it was an older facility but were very pleased in the upkeep etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank michaelpT1041ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Value is excellent, $71 per night with discounts, rooms are small but clean and neat and well maintained, pool and hot tub very nice but had to use room towels, staff was great, breakfast was minimal and the coffee was terrible (only coffee drinkers should make coffee). I would recommend this motel mainly for the value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Never stayed at a Best Western in the past, this property is older but well cared for and clean. Staff friendly. Our particular room had a "perfume smell" that was unpleasant, but everything else was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very Clean, Comfortable, Safe, with a friendly staff. Locally owned by a caring lady. Best place to stay if you can get in. I always prefer to stay here if I can. This is a popular place and is often sold out. There are a lot of festivals and fisihg derbies and special events that bring in out of towners to Alpena. Best Western is the best place to stay if you can get in here! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel was very busy for a Sunday night. Bikes everywhere, pickups, trailers and sedans in the parking lot. But the place was quiet, effectively managed and I got a good night's sleep, which is just what I was looking for, and at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: All of the first floor rooms have doors to the hallway and outdoors. Good if you are looking for con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Best Western in Alpena, MI and were very happy about our experience. We were there for the Michigan State HOG Rally and were treated very well! They even let us keep our Harley's in their garage one night due to rain and storms coming in!! Despite their Internet being down, overall it was a great place to stay! Would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
1.9 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
19.9 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
18.1 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Water's Edge Motel
Water's Edge Motel
#3 of 4 in Alpena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN of Alpena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Alpena

Property: BEST WESTERN of Alpena
Address: 1285 M-32 West, Alpena, MI 49707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN of Alpena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Alpena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpena
Alpena Best Western
BEST WESTERN Of Alpena Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing