We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Of Alpena
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Certificate of Excellence
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived one night early for an event and needed a room. We checked rates at other chains. Alpena Best Western was the best choice for our stay. We prefer Best Westerns, but they are often priced more. The one in Alpena , MI was priced quite reasonably for the service we received.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    83
    44
    2
    4
See reviews for
64
69
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed tue thru thur it was in room 130 with my own whirlpool in my room plus a roll away bed. Room was clean beds were wonderful and so was the lazy boy chair in room Which I was extremely happy for because I had back surgery and I used it about 4 am every night!! Towels were white and fluffy smelled good, I know because I went threw so many from going in pool, hot tub, and my own whirlpool in my room. My mother who is 76 years old loved the whirlpool ALOT!! I had no issues at all, If I needed something all I had to do was ask, towels, coffee, blankets, pillows yes I was a needy guest but was all given to me with a smile. I was grateful and left them a little tip for the extra smiles. When I checked in I asked where to eat, Chinese across driveway that was wonderful. another time I called desk ideas for pizza JJ's I was so happy I brought the clerk some pizza. I read all the story's here on trip adviser, I always go here first to read what people say. I can tell you all stays are different. BUT, the owner greeted me hello and goodbye she brought me my roll away bed and pillows and blankets what owner would do that if they did not care about her customers and her business! How wonderful to find a caring person in this crazy world. Now breakfast, was not extremely wonderful, but it was fresh, clean and good! I do not have a chief in my kitchen in the morning so I really did not expect one here. Breakfast was yogurt, cereal hot and cold, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, fruit toast, bisquit and gravy and the best waffles ever!!! I had the pool to myself and hot tub to myself. There were truck drivers, and families with little kids and families with the boys who could be loud but really it was a quiet stay. Hotel was full both days so book ahead. Also take advantage of the points and stay at best western and get those points for a free room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in Alpena for a wedding and booked the Best Western. The room was clean and served our needs for a short trip. We booked again for another stay. They have reasonable rates.
The one thing they could improve would be flatter pillows.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiegranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Overall pretty good. Lack of extra towels unless you brought used towels in exchange. Good location in the city. Quiet. Had playground and also available grills to use if you wanted to grill out. I would probably stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is a pretty dated hotel and my room was cramped. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was acceptable. The location is pretty good for traveling out of town to the west and is only 10 minutes to the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean, but the rooms are really small. Ok for one person, very tight for 2. The rooms have been somewhat updated. They have a fitness room with new equipment and the free breakfast was adequate. OK for a basic stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is clean and friendly staff. Services are limited but so also are the choices in Alpena. The beds are ok for one night but after 3 nights my back was killing me. The breakfast is good since you can make a waffle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank gwmeyer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpena
1.9 mi away
Ramada Alpena
Ramada Alpena
#4 of 7 in Alpena
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Alpena
Days Inn Alpena
#2 of 7 in Alpena
477 reviews
18.1 mi away
Grand Lake Resort
Grand Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Presque Isle
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Thunder Bay Resort
Thunder Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Hillman
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 3 in Alpena
50 reviews
1.8 mi away
Water's Edge Motel
Water's Edge Motel
#3 of 4 in Alpena
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Alpena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Alpena

Property: Best Western Of Alpena
Address: 1285 M 32 W, Alpena, MI 49707-8105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Alpena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Of Alpena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpena
Alpena Best Western
Best Western Of Alpena Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing