We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the hospitality”
Review of Casa del Sol B&B

Casa del Sol B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa del Sol B&B
Ranked #6 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
SJ Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the hospitality”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Picked Casa del Sol for the location, but after several unreturned phone calls we showed up to find Marta was not available. Woke up in the morning to the same thing ... no communication, no breakfast, no hospitality. Will look for other options next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickSJM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent 5 days at the Casa del Sol in April 2012. It is a lovely place to stay, located in a quiet neighborhood and yet not too far from downtown. The rooms are cosy and colorful, and the rich and delicious breakfast is served in the nicely decorated kitchen/dining room. Tee, coffee and snacks are available all day long. Marta is a great host, she was very obliging and showed us round town. We really enjoyed the home-like atmosphere and the pleasant company (of both Marta and Hank, the cat!). If we ever come back to Ann Arbor, we will definitely stay at the Casa.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank urmelviech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent a long weekend in December at Casa del Sol B&B and were very pleased with Marti's graciousness. She went out of her way to provide us with restaurant, arts, and shopping recommendations. Because of the rainy weather, we made the short drive to downtown Ann Arbor and easily found parking. We then were able to walk the downtown area and even the U of M campus. In sunny weather, we would have never driven at all! Each breakfast was unique, healthy, and yummy! The house, especially the kitchen/dining room, is decorated as to inspire the feeling of warmth, but also intrigue about the life of Marti. We believe that Marti's mother-in-law stated it best, "The sun always shines at Casa del Sol."

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Parents Weekend at U of M can be a tricky time to find a hotel as everyone triples their prices and savvy parents book ahead. We lucked out with Casa del Sol, a most charming b&b and passed a restful weekend with the feeling that we were spending it with a friend. Yummy, healthy breakfast, cleaner than clean facilities and charming hostess who made us feel at home the moment we arrived. The downtown area of Ann Arbor is bumper to bumper, so we were grateful for the pleasant drive back to this quiet neighborhood. Superior comfortable beds and yummy coffee/tea 24/7. A great find!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed at Casa del Sol for a week-end while taking an art workshop nearby. Great location and easy to find in a quiet neighborhood. The house has lovely gardens in front and is very colorfully decorated with lots of artwork inside. Delicious breakfasts are served in the cheery kitchen/dining area looking out onto the back yard. My bedroom was a perfect size and had a very comfortable bed. Shared bath with everything I needed. Lovely cat who will keep you company if you like. Free internet access too. Owner is very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. I would definitely stay here again. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Casa del Sol is a great place to stay in Ann Arbor. The house appears very friendly in the way it is furnished and the rooms are cozy with outstanding comfortable beds. The location of the house is in a quiet and safe neighborhood and there is a bus connection to Downtown Ann Arbor within 3 minutes of walking distance. The house owner, Marta, is a lovely person, who makes you feel as if you were at home in the first minute you arrive and who prepares delicious breakfast for you every day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Casa del Sol B&B is a delightful place to stay in Ann Arbor. The rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast is excellent. Marta is a welcoming hostess. If you want to stay in a quiet, home-like environment near the heart of Ann Arbor, stay at Casa del Sol.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secondjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.8 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#16 of 34 in Ann Arbor
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
1.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#27 of 34 in Ann Arbor
427 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol B&B

Property: Casa del Sol B&B
Address: 1234 Creal Cres, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-2414
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol B&B Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing