We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cat allergies anyone?”
Review of Casa del Sol B&B

Casa del Sol B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa del Sol B&B
Ranked #6 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I choose "terrible" to grab your attention. It's not that bad, but it is weird.

It's someone's house, and she lives right there with you. It's more rooming house than B&B. There were two long-term foreign (students? visiting scholars?) in the other rooms. One talked loudly on Skype, and we would have been able to understand every word if we spoke that language. Fortunately, we were not trying to sleep at the time.

We booked the room at the last minute for Homecoming weekend in Ann Arbor -- when hotel rooms are impossible to find. So that was cool.

Marta is an earthy, laid back type. We told her we're laid back, too. And we ARE laid back. But we still expect certain things.

For one, we expect a bed and a breakfast at a bed and breakfast. When we arrived, Marta said she might be leaving town that night, so we might have to figure breakfast out for ourselves.

We expect to be told if there are cats.

As many as 1 in 5 Americans is allergic to cats. We are two of them. Heather woke up from her nap wheezing, eyes swelling. Her clothes were covered with cat hairs. (Evidently the animal had been sleeping on the pillows!) Under the bed, a huge ball of cat hair and dust sat, just out of reach. You can see it here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PqVLWjycYGw

There was nothing we could do but strip the bedding, and swallow some drugs. There were no available rooms within a fifty mile radius, and we had to be up in the morning to work.

Meanwhile, Marta put the cat outside for the night. People who don't have allergies often think this will solve the problem. (I let it back in, the poor thing.)

Marta told us she removed cat references from the web site. I waited a month to see whether she'd put the info back up. She hasn't. Because Trip Advisor exists for exactly this purpose, I'm sharing this info.

As it happened, Marta's out-of-town trip fell through. She cooked Heather a breakfast of organic brown rice & eggs which Heather said was excellent. I slept in (antihistamines are good that way).

There's a sideboard with a Keurig single cup coffee maker, a basket with Kashi granola bars & instant oatmeal.

The breakfast nook is attached to Marta's kitchen, which is simply the kitchen and breakfast nook of somebody's home. Marta's laid-backness extends to this kitchen area. I got the idea that one could help oneself to stuff. I helped myself to a glass from the cabinet and had a pint of tap water, but didn't actually look around for goodies.

It's not as close to downtown as the other two B&B's mentioned below, but not too far. There are no toiletries, so make sure to bring your own.

My other B&B experiences in Ann Arbor include Cadgwith Too, which is also like someone's house, but completely detached from their living area, and very clean, with a private breakfast area. First Street Garden Inn is more traditionally B&B, with the owners living in a separate building on the property. I recommend both of these.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rob-mccolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta S, Owner at Casa del Sol B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Rob,

I wanted to let you know that Hank, the cat, has moved to Brooklyn, NY. I was watching him for my daughter while you were here. There are no pets in the Casa. I apologize that your stay was less than ideal, but thank you for your feedback.

Innkeeper, Marta 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Picked Casa del Sol for the location, but after several unreturned phone calls we showed up to find Marta was not available. Woke up in the morning to the same thing ... no communication, no breakfast, no hospitality. Will look for other options next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickSJM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent 5 days at the Casa del Sol in April 2012. It is a lovely place to stay, located in a quiet neighborhood and yet not too far from downtown. The rooms are cosy and colorful, and the rich and delicious breakfast is served in the nicely decorated kitchen/dining room. Tee, coffee and snacks are available all day long. Marta is a great host, she was very obliging and showed us round town. We really enjoyed the home-like atmosphere and the pleasant company (of both Marta and Hank, the cat!). If we ever come back to Ann Arbor, we will definitely stay at the Casa.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
4  Thank urmelviech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent a long weekend in December at Casa del Sol B&B and were very pleased with Marti's graciousness. She went out of her way to provide us with restaurant, arts, and shopping recommendations. Because of the rainy weather, we made the short drive to downtown Ann Arbor and easily found parking. We then were able to walk the downtown area and even the U of M campus. In sunny weather, we would have never driven at all! Each breakfast was unique, healthy, and yummy! The house, especially the kitchen/dining room, is decorated as to inspire the feeling of warmth, but also intrigue about the life of Marti. We believe that Marti's mother-in-law stated it best, "The sun always shines at Casa del Sol."

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Parents Weekend at U of M can be a tricky time to find a hotel as everyone triples their prices and savvy parents book ahead. We lucked out with Casa del Sol, a most charming b&b and passed a restful weekend with the feeling that we were spending it with a friend. Yummy, healthy breakfast, cleaner than clean facilities and charming hostess who made us feel at home the moment we arrived. The downtown area of Ann Arbor is bumper to bumper, so we were grateful for the pleasant drive back to this quiet neighborhood. Superior comfortable beds and yummy coffee/tea 24/7. A great find!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HotFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed at Casa del Sol for a week-end while taking an art workshop nearby. Great location and easy to find in a quiet neighborhood. The house has lovely gardens in front and is very colorfully decorated with lots of artwork inside. Delicious breakfasts are served in the cheery kitchen/dining area looking out onto the back yard. My bedroom was a perfect size and had a very comfortable bed. Shared bath with everything I needed. Lovely cat who will keep you company if you like. Free internet access too. Owner is very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. I would definitely stay here again. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Casa del Sol is a great place to stay in Ann Arbor. The house appears very friendly in the way it is furnished and the rooms are cozy with outstanding comfortable beds. The location of the house is in a quiet and safe neighborhood and there is a bus connection to Downtown Ann Arbor within 3 minutes of walking distance. The house owner, Marta, is a lovely person, who makes you feel as if you were at home in the first minute you arrive and who prepares delicious breakfast for you every day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianeH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
1.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#6 of 35 in Ann Arbor
761 reviews
1.8 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#15 of 35 in Ann Arbor
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
1.2 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol B&B

Address: 1234 Creal Cres, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-2414
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol B&B Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing