We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual looks, classy taste.”

Monahan's Seafood Market
Ranked #88 of 592 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American
Description: Monahan's has been in business for over 37 years. Lunch is served 11-3 Mon-Sat. Not only do we have a bountiful case of fresh seafood daily, we fillet whole fish in store. We have an ever-expanding file of recipes in the store and here on our site. We also offer a full complement of made-to-order, easy-to-heat take-home gourmet meals. And if you come by our store at lunchtime, we'll happily serve you the daily special, something from our menu or cook to order any item in our case.
Restaurant details
Description: Monahan's has been in business for over 37 years. Lunch is served 11-3 Mon-Sat. Not only do we have a bountiful case of fresh seafood daily, we fillet whole fish in store. We have an ever-expanding file of recipes in the store and here on our site. We also offer a full complement of made-to-order, easy-to-heat take-home gourmet meals. And if you come by our store at lunchtime, we'll happily serve you the daily special, something from our menu or cook to order any item in our case.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Casual looks, classy taste.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

For a sit down lunch this is a great spot. Everything is always fresh. Sauces are nice, but I'm especially fond of their fish and chips which come out piping hot. It's not fast food, but the sites and smells around you while you're waiting can keep even little children happy.

They also have parchment wrapped ready-to-go meals which are very nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Market and Diner!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This seafood market in Kerrytown also offers a few small counter-side tables. Monahan's offers an array of fresh fish and shellfish as well as a chowder of the day. You can select fish from the case and order a cooking style and sauce. Their coleslaw is also quite nice - very fresh and not too much sauce. Several of their sauces and spice rubs are available for purchase.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieSmoragiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
217 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Kerrytown classic”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

On this busy Saturday afternoon at Kerrytown I stopped by Monahan's with a friend for lunch. My friend ordered the monkfish with spinach (great idea!), while I got a cup of their always-wonderful hot clam chowder. (Was that fresh octopus and red snapper I see in the display case?) We found a small table in the nearby lobby area, and spent a very pleasant hour catching up on each other's lives. Kerrytown is such a crossroads of Ann Arbor, we were delighted to serendipitously find a friend, who joined us. The food and atmosphere made for a most pleasant experience. Oh, and by the way, after lunch we had some fun roaming the nearby shops. Before we knew it, the afternoon had flown by. Thanks, Monahans!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hearingsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't miss it”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

fresh fish. varied menu. friendly service. 2 happy customers. only wished that we lived in the area, we would definitely come back. we had the fish tacos with a side of really delicious spinach. just a small informal place but the best food we had in ann arbor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamknowswhatshelikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sets the standard”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Amazingly fresh seafood of the highest quality, with friendly expert advice on preparation. Their minuscule lunch counter will satisfy your raw oyster cravings or offer a simple dish. Take-home semi-prepared fish dishes have saved many a hostess. Absolutely the best. You'd have to be at the docks to outdo Monahan's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monahan's Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Monahan's Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing