We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Room for Sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Whiting, IN
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Basic Room for Sleeping”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We choose this hotel based on TA's ratings. I am always skeptical of Red Roofs based on experiences years ago. I know Red Roof is reinventing itself so we thought we would give it a try. The hotel is nothing fancy, pretty basic sleeping room. Mattress was a little hard. Room a little small but definitely had enough space for 2 people. The bathroom was clean as was the room. I thought the room was a little but compared to the others around it was a decent price for us. The hotel is attached to a Big Boy. They give you a voucher for a free breakfast. The Big Boy has a special menu for the Red Roof breakfast which doesn't really give you too much to eat. However, if you choose from the regular menu you get $3.50 off per person of your meal. My husband and I spent only $14 between the two of us for breakfast and we had more than enough to eat from the menu.

We would stay here again for an overnight when in the area. The clerk who checked us in and out was absolutely wonderful. We had dinner early and therefore got back to the room early. Our TV kept cutting out, it is satellite but there were no storms. An appropriate adjustment was made the next day. Sarah is a true asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting about your experience on Trip Advisor. I can appreciate the fact that you did some research prior to your visit. I am sorry to hear that your past experiences with the chain were not as positive as this one. My goal is to eliminate your skepticism by providing great rooms and service. I am glad to hear that your interactions with the staff were "Wonderful". We look forward to having you as a guest of our again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    103
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
91
70
42
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We picked this hotel because it is convenient to the Hospital Center and has a pet-friendly policy. We were so happy to find out that besides those pluses, the rooms are attractive and clean, with all the amenities we could want, parking is very easy, and the grounds are well-kept. What truly makes the hotel excellent is the staff, who were so helpful to us as we tried to maneuver through medical issues and timing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. I'm glad that you found our proximity to Ann Arbor area hospitals convenient. I will be sure to share your positive comments about the staff with my team. We understand that a lot of our guests are in town to visit medical facilities and we ensure they are kept comfortable while we provide the flexibility needed for the stay to be enjoyable. I appreciate that you thought so highly of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I just had the opportunity to stay at this Red Roof Inn and what a treat it was. The first impressions were positive with the facility having great curb appeal and an easy to find location. And, then the room--wonderful. The room was spacious with a perfect office area, was meticulously clean, had a nice contemporary feel with clean lines and smooth surfaces, had exceptional lighting, and everything worked perfectly. The complimentary breakfast was voucher to the adjacent Big Boy. In short, I could live here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPatrick33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent positive experience with us. I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our curb appeal as well as our renovated rooms. Spacious and contemporary was exactly what Red Roof Inn had in mind when the concept was designed. Thanks for the positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for my daughter's graduation and it was pet friendly. The rooms have been updated and it was a nice size. The hotel has exterior room doors and we were able to park right in front of our room which was very convenient with our little dog. The breakfast vouchers really needed to be used on the breakfast buffet (unless you are not very hungry), but the buffet was very good. Do get your free coffee in the hotel lobby so you don't have to pay for the coffee at Big Boy.

Room Tip: Get free coffee in hotel lobby before you get the breakfast buffet which will charge you for coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking to time to post your comments and visit our location over graduation weekend. Congratulations to your daughter on her recent graduation. I am glad you found our exterior entrances convenient. Most guests seem to feel the same way, especially when traveling with a pet. We look forward to having you as a guest of ours again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Red Roof Ann Arbor for my daughter's college graduation. The rates were great and we got a breakfast voucher for the Big Boy next door. Crystal, at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly. She was patient going over our group reservations and helped make our stay very enjoyable. I will stay here again next time I'm in Michigan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 30196Ssil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for visiting Ann Arbor and choosing our location over graduation weekend. I am glad to hear you found our staff helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Congrats to your daughter again for her recent college graduation. We look forward to your family visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had never stayed at a Red Roof before but trusted my fellow Trip Advisors and we're glad we did. It's in great location just off the highway and has a Big Boy restaurant attached for getting dinner and the next day's breakfast ( breakfast voucher is good for $3.50 off a meal or can be redeemed for one of a wide selection of breakfasts.)

We had room 136 which is at the back of the hotel. The room is in a quiet location, away from traffic, has hardwood floors which is a nice feature because you know they are clean. It has a rather small bathroom and has no fridge/micro/coffee machine.

** The hotel is used extensively by travellers who have appointments at one of the areas several hospitals and I noticed that management has taken a lot of care to insure easy access for handicapped patients. In those areas there are wide parking areas and a very good ramp system.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay as well as researching the property by reading the comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and decided to choose us over all the other area Ann Arbor hotels. Next time, please inquire about our deluxe rooms, which do include the micro-fridge units, iron/board, as well as a personal coffeemaker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Great service from when we first walked in the door till we left the next morning. Barb was on the desk in the evening when we arrived and could not do enough for us. Gave us a great room at a great price and breakfast was incl at the Big Boy attached to hotel. We could not get our wi-fi working and she went above & beyond until we had our problem fixed. Rooms have just been recently renovated so they are clean and comfy. Great location to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stunbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location on Trip Advisor. Providing great customer service is one of our main focuses and I'm thrilled to hear you were well taken care of throughout your stay by Barb and the rest of the staff. We look forward to providing you with the same experience next time you are in the Ann Arbor area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.8 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North

Property: Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Address: 3621 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2659
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, in landscaped surroundings - 4 mi fm downtown Ann Arbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing