We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean with updated interior.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very clean with updated interior.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Although this Red Roof Inn has the typical appearance of a motel on the outside, we were pleased to see that the interior had been updated with nice woods that gave the room a warm feel.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the wireless internet signal was good. We had a non-smoking room and did not have any problem with room odor. The area felt safe and the location was great; it was near a highway interchange and only a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Ann Arbor.

I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank otsumami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Otsumami,

Thank you for visiting our property in Ann Arbor and taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all your positive feedback about our renovation as well as the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. Thank you again for allowing us to exceed your expectations. We look forward to having you as a return guest very soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    98
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
89
64
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had not expected to stay here but our reservation for another hotel was botched and there were no rooms left. The other hotel called Red Roof. Barb got us in to a king room right away. She even called us after we got into the room to make sure everything was okay. The room is spacious, has adequate outlets, a fridge and mike, but average lighting and a minuscule room for the toilet and shower. The sink area is outside the shower room and is quite modern with better than average counter space. The work desk is wonderful and there is another chair besides the desk chair. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTeamTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. I am sorry to hear that your previous experience with another Ann Arbor hotel didn't go so well, however I am glad we had a chance to have you experience our hotel for the first time. Based on your feedback, it appears that you enjoyed your stay and our renovated rooms. We will ensure you are treated just as well if you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Decided to stay here on my way to Detroit and the Henry Ford Museum, and must say, great decision. Nice rooms and friendly staff, rounded up by a pleasant location, great for a stopover. Well maintained and clean, and of course pleasant beds. You get a voucher for breakfast at Big Boy, which is attached, enjoyed the nice flowers outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitro59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay. Ann Arbor and Detroit have plenty of great attractions, I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the Henry Ford Museum. Thank you as well for your comments about our rooms, friendly staff, and overall curb appeal. We are looking forward to your next visit to Ann Arbor and would like to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel only for night but were amazed by the customer service. We were just moving into Ann Arbor and needed to stay at this hotel because our house was not live in ready yet. The staff at the front desk welcomed us warmly and provided batteries and a ladder (to change the batteries in the smoke alarm in our new house) free of charge. The hotel does not look much from the outside but the rooms have been recently renovated and the decor is very elegant. We really loved our stay here and would like to thank the staff for making our stay extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VidG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear that your experience was outstanding and the staff went above and beyond to provide you with batteries and a ladder to assist you in your new home. We will always do what we can to take care of you as our guest as you are are number one priority. Thank you for your positive comments about our recent renovation. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stay at a lot of Red Roofs because of the pet friendly policy and easy access to the out of doors, and this one shines above all the rest. Barb at the front desk always greets you with warm enthusiasm and efficiency. The rooms are updated and always very clean. Having a Big Boy attached to the front makes breakfast a snap. Across the back parking lot is an Appleby's for dinner, again with no driving when you're tired! There's also a CVS drugstore on the other parking lot corner if you've forgotten something. What more could you need?!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location as I'm glad to hear your experience was a pleasant one. One of the perks of Red Roof as a brand is our pet policy. This hotels prime location offers convenience as well as variety. Thrilled to know that you took advantage and visited our neighbors, Big Boy, Applebee's, and CVS. I am looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I liked the Red Roof Inn ,because it was close to the VA Ann Arbor Medical Intensive Care Healthcare Hospital. I was there for to weeks while my better half had heart surgery. Sarah at the Red Roof Inn did her best, to help get me a room, even when they were very busy. I was from out of town and I feel Sarah went out of her way to help me. I also like the shuttle bus to and from the hospital. Thank You all at the Red Roof Inn For all of your help.
Judy Converse, Hastings, Michigan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our location. Our close proximity to the VA and U of M Hospitals provided a convenient place for our guests to stay. I'm glad that you took advantage of our shuttle bus so you didn't have to deal with the traffic and parking in Ann Arbor. I hope that your husband is doing well and recovers shorty. Thank you again for choosing us and would love to have you again if the need arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting, IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We choose this hotel based on TA's ratings. I am always skeptical of Red Roofs based on experiences years ago. I know Red Roof is reinventing itself so we thought we would give it a try. The hotel is nothing fancy, pretty basic sleeping room. Mattress was a little hard. Room a little small but definitely had enough space for 2 people. The bathroom was clean as was the room. I thought the room was a little but compared to the others around it was a decent price for us. The hotel is attached to a Big Boy. They give you a voucher for a free breakfast. The Big Boy has a special menu for the Red Roof breakfast which doesn't really give you too much to eat. However, if you choose from the regular menu you get $3.50 off per person of your meal. My husband and I spent only $14 between the two of us for breakfast and we had more than enough to eat from the menu.

We would stay here again for an overnight when in the area. The clerk who checked us in and out was absolutely wonderful. We had dinner early and therefore got back to the room early. Our TV kept cutting out, it is satellite but there were no storms. An appropriate adjustment was made the next day. Sarah is a true asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting about your experience on Trip Advisor. I can appreciate the fact that you did some research prior to your visit. I am sorry to hear that your past experiences with the chain were not as positive as this one. My goal is to eliminate your skepticism by providing great rooms and service. I am glad to hear that your interactions with the staff were "Wonderful". We look forward to having you as a guest of our again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North

Property: Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Address: 3621 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2659
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, in landscaped surroundings - 4 mi fm downtown Ann Arbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing