We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on our annual roadtrip and really enjoyed ourselved. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. The front desk gave some great recommendations for local bowling & restuarants. We have never stayed at red roof ins before but would love to try them again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear CuriousTravels2014,

We would love for you to visit us again when your road trip brings you to Ann Arbor again next year! There are Red Roof properties all over the United States and I'm sure they would love to have your business as well . If you would like a directory mailed, please call us at 734-996-5800 and we would be glad to mail you a few. Thanks again for choosing us and I'm thrilled to hear you had such a great experience at our Ann Arbor North location.

Regards,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here over New Years when we were in town for the Winter Classic. The hotel was a fair distance from downtown, and the stadium, but the rooms were very reasonably priced, and the reviews were good. The place was very busy, but Jeff and Barb on the front desk were very friendly, and went out of their way to help us get a cab downtown to the New Years Eve street party, even though they obviously didn't have the time. The rooms were very nice; very clean, comfortable beds, and it was great to have a fridge. The Wifi was fast, and hassle-free. Breakfast at the Big Boy restaurant across the lobby was fast, tasty & cheap. We had a great stay. My only complaint (and this is not a big thing...) the toilet paper was really harsh!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Cheryl G,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor about your trip to Ann Arbor for the 2014 Winter Classic. What an event! I'm pleased to read that you had a positive experience at our location and we were able to provide excellent service to you. Please come visit us again in the future,

Regards,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband and I were on a trip to see family in northern MI last week. We decided to stop in Ann Arbor (hubby is a former U of M grad) to see a show at the Ark. We booked the RRI/AAUN in advance. Upon arrival, there was a bad snowstorm. The lot was being cleaned and we were greeted in a friendly manner upon checkin.

The only negative was the bathroom light. It wouldn't come on right away, but would flash and blink. We called the desk and they changed the bulb, but it didn't affect what was continuing to happen. We believe the bulbs might be the culprit. The light did come on after a warmup of flickering.

Now onto the positives! These rooms have been updated with modern amenities. Our room was clean, the mini fridge and microwave were clean, spacious and worked very well! The bed was very firm and absolutely comfortable. The flat panel tv had a good channel selection. The internet WIFI connection was great. We had easy access to downtown Ann Arbor, even with the snowstorm raging outside. The room's heating unit worked great and was it was easy to set the thermostat to make the room comfy.

When traveling to AA again, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmericanTravelerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear AmericanTravelerJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor and welcome back to the Ann Arbor area. We appreciate you letting us know about the light so that we can correct the issue. I am glad you like the modern decor of our new rooms especially the extra amenities such as the microwave and refrigerator. We look forward to your future visit with us!

Regards,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Red Roof Inn on Plymouth Road caters to families receiving medical care at the VA and the University of Michigan. The rooms are standard and clean. The housekeepers are outstanding and incredibly sweet---they work diligently and hard. Over time they recognize us and welcome us home like family---we are always amazed that they remember us and ask about our loved one. The service is exceptional. They even have a bonfire that allows guests to visit with other families going through medical issues---they should check into billing insurance for this therapy---it was most healing to share with others. After repeated long term stays over the past couple months, the staff has become an extended family. They take the time to inquire on our loved one without being intrusive. Their humor and extra care has been a huge support. I witnessed one staff member assist a patient short on money with a gift so they could travel home. We grew especially fond of Barb and Sarah at the front desk who always had kind words and smiles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear macfive,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our property and especially our staff. I am elated to read that you felt we were compassionate and like family to you in your time of need as that is exactly what we strive to do on a daily basis. We sure hope that your loved one is on the road to recovery. I will be sure to share all your comment with our staff. Please know we would be glad to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Management allowed a motor home to park outside our room and run it's generator off and on all night. I called to complain at 11 pm and 4 am and they did send someone over to ask them to shut it off but it would re-start after the guy went back to the office. You can't even do that legally at a campground. I'm going to try and get a refund. They need to get someone who can control the parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank bluego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear bluego1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn. Let me start by personally apologizing once again for the noise issue that you encountered during your stay. Our multiple attempts to alleviate this isolated incident fell short of your expectations and I am sorry. I would like to personally invite you back to give us another try. I look forward to speaking with you again.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I recently stayed here for a football weekend at U of M. It was a clean, renovated room at a better price then most other Ann Arbor hotels. The hotel was quiet, wifi was included, and we got a breakfast voucher at the big boy dinner next door. That being said it is pretty bare bones- no closet, tiny bathrooms, and overall just the basic things you need- nothing more. All and all it was a fine experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Becca C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our location on Trip Advisor and visiting us over a U of M Football weekend. I am happy to hear that you found a hotel to satisfy your travel needs in terms of cleanliness and price. I personally look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Barb and May were so helpful! All staff was responsive and friendly. Restful and an easy drive to U of M. Located close to many shopping as well. So happy they allowed my dog, Greta to stay with us! Coffee is always available and the breakfast is always good. These things altogether add up to consistent and constant service, friendliness, cleanliness, and all of this with a value that is not easily found.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Tracie O O,

Thank you for staying with us and all your wonderful comments regarding your stay. I'm thrilled to hear you found our staff helpful, location convenient, and property clean. I hope Greta enjoyed her stay as well.

Sincerely,

Jeff Hernandez - General Manager
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
3.8 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North

Address: 3621 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2659
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £51 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, in landscaped surroundings - 4 mi fm downtown Ann Arbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing