We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross!”
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Ann Arbor
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I was in town for a tango festival at the university. I'm not sure what they meant to gain by attempting some sort of strange style aesthetic but the room is just downright creepy as other reviewers have said. I didn't want to walk barefoot on the floor because it was very dirty and seemed to be made of wallpaper or any other super cheap plastic. The beds were very uncomfortable and the room itself was designed and lit to give it a sort of eerie feel. There is zero comfort element to this place. On top of that, there was some sort of gang activity in the room next to me and I honestly feared for my safety. Didn't sleep a wink and would never pay to do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 516mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I found this motel to be perfectly adequate for the price. The beds were comfortable, flat screen TV was great, there was adequate room in the hotel, and no carpet (I like a carpet-free room). Bathroom and shower were actually quite good. It was obvious the rooms had been updated somewhat recently. I didn't get to visit the motel pool because it was raining, but it looked very nice from where my room was located. I do have a few suggestions. 1) Provide free internet. Paying for internet was costly and complicated. In this "age of technology" there is no excuse for a hotel to not have free internet. (After all, highway rest stops manage to provide free wi-fi.) 2) Oh, one other complaint: PROVIDE SHAMPOO. Please. Isn't there a cost-effective way to do this? Thank goodness I had thrown a motel sized shampoo from a different hotel into my travel bag. This time I was prepared, but in the past when I've stayed unexpectedly at a Motel 6 I have found myself using bar soap to wash my hair. Not good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was surprised and glad, to see the remodeled version of Motel 6. Tile floors are a great improvement. The TV worked well, the bed was comfortable, the linens were all spotless. The staff was more than just polite - they were very friendly. The laundry room came in handy after a week of traveling, and worked well. I would like to have had an internet connection, but with McD handy, that wasn't a problem. Maybe in the future?
Bobbie S.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have never had any issues with Motel 6. We stay NASCAR weekend.. We heard no outside noise. The rooms are clean. There is A LOT of construction. That is not the motels fault but plan a few extra minutes to get out. I do not like that it is the only motel that charges for internet service. We still save money staying here however. Consider staying on your next trip to the Ann Arbor area. No frills but a nice nights stay without breaking the bank!

Room Tip: Away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Have stayed at this motel a lot of times. We have family who live here so that we visit at least twice a year. Several years ago they were one of the first Motel 6's to undergo the 'Euro Remodel.' In the ensuing years it has gotten more and more beat up - ragged at the edges. This time it looked like it might have been spiffed up a bit. New paint and maybe new flooring - at least it looks lighter than I remember. The underfloor, however makes alarming noises as you walk across it that makes it feel like it might just break through.

The toilet still has a great deal of trouble flushing. It takes three tries to get it all to go down. The bedspreads have oily stains. That said, it was clean and quiet. Well probably stay here again, but I keep, wishing it were nicer.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I like that this Motel 6 was recently remodeled, and it is in a great location with easy on/off Interstate access, close proximity to Briarwood Mall, the Ann Arbor Airport, and numerous places to eat (including McDonald's, which is within walking distance, so you can take advantage of their free WiFi instead of paying for Motel 6's).

The bed was comfortable, as was the little booth sitting area. However, Kimmy in the front office was busy with a personal telephone call, and after standing in front of her, and listening to her chatter away for almost 10 minutes, I gave up in frustration, and walked out without my final receipt. Also, there was loud music, which was turned down when Melissa at the office was told about it (twice), but it kept getting turned back on.

Had it not been for Kimmy and the music, this Motel 6 would have gotten an excellent rating from me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TapestryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here during our daughter's move-in. It is slightly expensive compared to the Red Roof Inn @ Belleville. We assumed that closer to the UoM area would be nicer. That was a mistake. The rooms were nice, with a type of hardwood floor that felt weird. We got a room backing to the trash compacting firm in the back. Probably our luck (or the way we looked, tired after 10 hr drive).
The worst was, the noise insulation - there was NONE. We wanted some sleep and every door opening and closing would rattle the whole section. Despite we turned the A/C high and slept under the comforters (freezing in the summer of 2012) to avoid the noise.
The TV remotes were non functional. We were happy to move out and move into the apartment of our kid (no facilities, sleeping bags and no TV). We slept nicely that night and enjoyed it better than the Motel 6. Wish we had stayed with Red Roof Inn.

The staff was nice, but what is the point if they are servicing a run-down property,

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle quad, or facing the road. It feels safe. In the night it is really scar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ann Arbor - Univ of Michigan
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#31 of 35 in Ann Arbor
157 reviews
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Address: 3764 S State Rd, I-94 at Exit #177/State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1661
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £40 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ann Arbor 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Motel Six Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Motel Six
Ann Arbor Motel 6
Motel 6 Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing