We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious host, beautiful house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you like a B&B experience -- chatting with the owners, meeting the other guests at breakfast -- then you will enjoy Avalyn Garden. The owners, the Perrys, are welcoming, warm and gracious hosts that are friendly but not intrusive. We enjoyed our chats with them over the course of the weekend and felt that they genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay. They are generous and thoughtful with little touches, like water bottles in all the rooms. Speaking of the rooms, ours was lovely. We stayed in the Monet, which has a spacious king-size bed that takes up most of the floor space in the room, but we did not mind that as we were only in the room to sleep. The bathroom is roomy and very nicely outfitted. Breakfasts were lavish and quite tasty. The location is ideal - a very short drive to the south end of campus and but far enough removed from student housing that you don't feel like you are surrounded by frat houses. And the garden around the house is lovely. We were fortunate in that the other couples staying at the same time as we did were interesting and pleasant - we spent an hour talking at breakfast! We would happily return to this B&B for our next trip to Ann Arbor - one of our favorite towns.

Room Tip: We chose the Monet room for the king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom_to_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

From the moment you get here you'll know you picked the right place. The owners are very friendly but not at all invasive. I stayed in the Monet. It was spacious, comfortable and the bathroom/shower was really really nice. There is a fridge in the room for your beverages. Breakfast included fruit, french toast, juice and coffee which was delicious. The house is very well appointed with comfortable places to sit and read. You will really enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were treated so very well at this B & B! The accommodation were perfect, the owners did not miss a thing that would make you feel welcome! The breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten, it was not your typical eggs, we had Blueberry French Toast and it was superb! Then the 2nd morning we had Poached Peaches with Mascarpone Sauce on top and it was so very good and a Potato and Bacon Quiche with fresh fruit! Such original ideas for breakfast. The room was super comfortable and the bathroom was amazing, so very pretty! The owners were so very nice. Gave us recommendations of where to eat and what to see. The grounds of the home are beautiful and the inside of the home is beautiful!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monet and it has a King bed which we liked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevcakes04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although I am a frequent user of Tripadvisor, this is my first review regarding a place that we have stayed but the lovely accommodations and hosts have may me break out of my shell and share the great experience we had. As we headed to Ann Arbor to celebrate our daughter's graduation, we ended up choosing Avalyn Garden. What a lovely home and hosts! Our room was perfect for our needs. The detail to design was great - even my 17 son commented on the cushy bath mats. Our breakfasts were better than can be described. We were greeted with smiles in the morning and lovely fresh fruit plates to start our meal. Donna and Lee were prompt in answering our emails and questions prior to our arrival and made us feel like family during our stay. I am so glad we have another daughter that goes to school at Uof M so that we have a excuse to go back. Without any reservations, I highly recommend Avalyn as a great B&B in Ann Arbor.

Room Tip: All were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnieRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our stay at Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast was exceptional. The home is beautifully appointed, and our room was comfortable and inviting. Our hosts were interesting and engaging, as well as helpful in finding great restaurants. Breakfast was amazing and large enough to keep us fueled until dinner. We will plan on staying at Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast the next visit to Ann Arbor. This will be our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

So glad my usual hotel was fully booked and I found Avalyn Garden while visiting my daughter at UMich. We like to sample the many excellent restaurants in Ann Arbor when I visit, so a B&B is the perfect option. The amenities were 5 star - beautiful and very quiet room, spacious bathroom, luxurious linens and soft fluffy towels - attention to detail is everywhere and nothing is too much trouble for the welcoming hosts. Charming sitting room with fireplace. Delightful dining room with large communal table where chatting with fellow guests is as much fun as the delicious breakfast. Just a 5' drive from central campus so a perfect place to stay when visiting - close but away from the student bustle. So glad my daughter is just a freshman and I will have many more opportunities to return!

Room Tip: The Monet room is stunning and truly lives up to the Monet analogy of peace and tranquility but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachComber2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just got back from staying at this fabulous B&B for the weekend. Great experience from start to finish. The home is lovely and Impeccablly maintained. The owners, Lee and Donna, are so gracious and our breakfasts were delicious. They keep a Keurig coffee maker with snacks and fruit out all day which we really appreciated. Located in a perfect spot in Ann Arbor. This place is a must stay when visiting this wonderful college town. My only complaint.....I couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancydoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
2.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#6 of 35 in Ann Arbor
788 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
2.2 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#5 of 35 in Ann Arbor
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1930 Washtenaw Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £90 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalyn Garden Bed and Breakfast is located on Washtenaw Avenue in Ann Arbor, one quarter mile south of the University of Michigan campus and one and a half miles from downtown Ann Arbor. It is a thirty minute drive from Detroit Metro Airport and five minutes from the U of M hospitals. Our goal is to provide guests with a warm and enjoyable experience and a desire to return for a second visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalyn Garden Bed And Breakfast Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing