We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nothin' Could Be Finer"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“"Nothin' Could Be Finer"”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

... than to stay in AA, Michigan at the Lamp Post Inn.
My family has stayed at the LPI for 6 years.. not just a day or two, but weeks at a time. We always choose LPI because of its great value, helpful 'n friendly staff, location, and most importantly ... supporting an AA small business.
My suggestion to those who have a problem or find issues with their room or stay at the LPI, find a staff member and ask for assistance. I guarantee they will do their very best to make it right!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    39
    19
    26
See reviews for
39
29
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is the most dreadful experience I have had with a hotel/motel. It requires an impressive degree of chutzpa to charge for a room in the condition offered to me. It was dingy, threadbare, poorly lighted and "cooled" by an a/c unit that sounded like a Mac truck. The bath tub was 50% enameled, the rest had flaked off; the bathroom door was split and peeling. The "towels" were thinner than my oldest tee shirt. Everything was downscale and well past useful life. In town for my own reasons, I thought I would suffer through one night, took a shower and lay down on the mattress for a couple hours. As I got up to go a meeting I killed a bug on the side chair. I left, did my business and found a clean, servicable Comfort Inn at a better price. The Lamp Post declined to offer any refund because I had used their room. Indeed, the desk clerk treated me as if I was cheating them.
Did I mention that the first room offered was a shambles? Did I mention the couple in the next room were napping with the door open? I am sure it is better than being deployed to Iraq, but it has zero value as a place to stay. I have been in better maintained prisons (as a guest). Do they give negative stars?

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Since I have in-laws in town, I don't believe that I've paid to stay in A2 since my undergraduate apartment lease expired in 1984. However, during this trip circumstances forced us to choose other accommodations, three days one weekend, and one day the following weekend. We chose the Lamp Post because a.) it's within a mile of family, and b.) it offers one of the best prices in town.

For those of you who are worried the LP might be testing the lower limits of your cheap motel endurance, keep in mind the following.

PROS
*Good location in SE A2, next door to Trader Joe's, a short drive to Whole Foods, and five to ten minutes from stadium (west), campus (northwest), and highway (east). Easy entry and exit.
*The people at check-in are good communicators and efficient with paperwork - do you suppose they're Ph.D. students or something? I wouldn't be surprised.
*Mattresses are very good; we had no problem sleeping.
*Maid service is really good. We left the room at 9 or 10 a couple days, and each time everything was neat and tidy when we returned at 2 or 3.
*In each of the two rooms we occupied, there was a good showerhead, with plenty of free flowing water.
*Free Wi-Fi and TV both work fine.
*We were pleasantly surprised how quiet things were for a relatively full motel, but can't personally testify to noise level for game weekends.

CONS
*The rooms really show their age. Lots of glumpy caulk holding tile together in bath area. Still, it was relatively clean glumpy caulk.
*The towels and sheets are not particularly high quality, but are clean and replaced every day, unless you ask otherwise.
*The breakfast isn't much more than carbohydrates and coffee - but remember Trader Joe's is next door, like 50 yards across a parking lot, and there's a drive-through coffee shop across the street (no crosswalk, so be careful).

The LP really isn't so bad. It's sort of like going to Grandma's house, but at least Grandma is a pretty good housekeeper. And she knows you love your iPhone, laptop, cable tv, etc., and has made provision for you to use those things.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We recently stayed for a couple of weeks at the Lamp Post Inn. The value is outstanding but even more importantly Bruce Larson and his staff went out of their way to make sure that we had an excellent stay.

Mark D.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at this motel for one night during our stay in Ann Arbor. We booked the room through Hotwire, not knowing exactly where we would end up at the time of booking. The rate was ridiculously low (under 40 EUR) for a four person room, and since we were not familiar with this (independent?) motel we were a bit worried what would be waiting for us once we got there (1 star rating, varying reviews on TA etc).

But once we got to Lamp Post Inn all our fears disappeared: what was waiting for us was a perfectly ok motel, with large and clean rooms in a quiet location (3-4 km from the city center).

There is a Trader Joe's just behind the property, and as the rooms are equipped with refridgerators you will be all set. There's also a cafe across the street if you need a fresh brew. Free wifi was also included and worked without a hitch. The breakfast was pretty standard fare that we've gotten used to in motels, with just the basics. No complaints about the front desk service either.

If you are planning to stay in Ann Arbor (which we recommend, a really nice and lively little town), Lamp Post Inn can be recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlouhimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I went to present my work at the NIME Conference and I stayed 10 days in the Lamp Post Inn. It is the best relationship between price and quality that you can find in Ann Arbor. The mattress is nice. People (Mr. Larson, the clean service and the office girls) are always ready to help you. A few meters from the Joes Supermarket. Near from downtown. Only 5 minutes by Bus. A complete breakfast. Free coffe during all day. Free internet. I hope come back someday. I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pp681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I think most of the people on here like to complain. This place is a cheap place to stay, so if you're looking for luxury go elsewhere. Old, yes. A bit rough, yes. However, I've seen far worse. One tip: get to the breakfast early if you want anything good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haller4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you point out, we are not glitzy but we have clean and affordable rooms and we truly appreciate your comments. I am sorry about running out of several items on the breakfast table but as you probably realized from the number of people in the breakfast room this Sunday, the graduation crowd was even larger than we anticipated. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#29 of 34 in Ann Arbor
146 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
2.0 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Property: The University Inn
Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor
The University Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing