We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I had read the other reviews before making a reservation to stay here and I also looked at a number of other hotels in the area.

I chose the Lamp Post Inn because I wanted to keep the cost of our trip as low as possible. I felt that it would provide the absolute basics required when you need somewhere to stay, at a good price, and I was not disappointed.

Yes, the rooms could do with a bit of a face-lift, but making them prettier or more luxurious would quite rightly increase the price of staying here. Our room was clean, there was basic housekeeping each day during our stay, and there was a TV with plenty more channels available than you get in other hotels. We also made use of the fridge, microwave and coffee machine. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch, with tea, coffee, cereal, bagels and muffins available. Again, this is something you don't always get included in the price of your room.

I would have liked it if the towels had been bigger - but for this price I will happily bring my own if I stay here again.

We did not need to go to reception except at the check-in/-out stage but on both occasions the receptionist was very polite and friendly.

Overall, I was very happy with what we got for our money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    39
    19
    26
See reviews for
39
29
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is a family run establishment and after reading the reviews I didn't have very high expectations but expected everything to be adequate.

The room was a bit dated and the furniture a bit old but everything was perfectly clean and acceptable unlike other budget places I have staid in.

The bed was a bit creaky and the fridge made a slight banging noise when it went off. That would have kept me awake but I identified it before going to bed and switched it off.

The bathroom was again rather ancient but everything worked as it should and it was flawlessly clean.

The breakfast was adequate and the breakfast room was clean and simple.

I would really have given this place 4 stars but I had the best shower pressure of all the hotels I staid in, including some pretty expensive ones. Got to give that 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandererUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Husband booked us at this place for the Michigan State vs. Univ of Michigan football game. When I entered the room I immediately started gagging uncontrollably - I nearly threw-up from the stench and the thought that I would spend a second of my life there. The filth and disrepair are appalling. There were open holes to the outside where bugs and cold air could get in. The carpet was warn down so low you were basically standing on concrete. The grim on the top of the carpet was visually nauseating. The paper thin mattress and filthy disgusting linens and bedspread were stained with blood and god knows what else. The bathroom had cracked tiles, mold, and some bugs crawling in the shower. There were some hand towels, but no bath towels - which didn't matter because we left within 5 minutes of assessing the situation. We prepaid so there was no chance for a refund. By the way, this is the type of motel hookers and druggies frequent, so if you ignore my warning, keep that in mind. We got a room at Kensington Court which was clean and close to the game. Stay away from thus place at any cost!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Applemartini71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
The Kensington Court hotel is one of Ann Arbor's most luxurious hotels and I am glad that your stay with them was to your satisfaction.

I seldom respond directly to a specific review since I believe that everyone has a right to their opinion (and we are fortunate enough to have many that disagree with yours), however, when opinions and conjecture replace fact, then I think it is mandatory for me to lay out the facts.

1) Based upon the information in your comments, I believe that your reservation was for Thursday evening and it was at that time that you received your keys. On Friday evening the keys were returned to the manager and the exact and complete statement to the manager was "the bed didn't work out for my wife's back".

2) The carpet, the mattresses and the box springs in your room were all replaced within the last two years.

3) The towels in every room include two bath towels, two hand towels, two washcloths and a shower mat.

4) The demographic mix of our hotel on a specific date probably includes a minimum of four professors; several doctors; numerous people visiting patients in the nearby hospitals; and a large group of graduate students that are either visiting overnight or are here for extended stay - for internships in dentistry, statistics, economics, etc..

5) Our football weekend customers vary slightly from that norm, however, I can say based upon years of ownership that most of them are couples and families that have stayed with us for years. I know almost everyone of them personally and none meet your conjectured demographic mix of hookers and druggies. Most are alumni of the University of Michigan. .

6) After reviewing the room with my manager and the director of housekeeping I do not believe there is any information to substantiate the assertion that the bed and linens had blood and other materials on them nor do I believe that most people would feel that a five to six inch mattress is paper thin.

I am truly sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, and I honestly mean that, however, I think it is unfair to write a review that is blatantly unfair and appears to create fact from opinion and conjecture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Oswego NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location to attend football games. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and clean. It is an older hotel so there is some wear. The staff is friendly and accomodating. We will stay here when we go back for another game!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

... than to stay in AA, Michigan at the Lamp Post Inn.
My family has stayed at the LPI for 6 years.. not just a day or two, but weeks at a time. We always choose LPI because of its great value, helpful 'n friendly staff, location, and most importantly ... supporting an AA small business.
My suggestion to those who have a problem or find issues with their room or stay at the LPI, find a staff member and ask for assistance. I guarantee they will do their very best to make it right!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is the most dreadful experience I have had with a hotel/motel. It requires an impressive degree of chutzpa to charge for a room in the condition offered to me. It was dingy, threadbare, poorly lighted and "cooled" by an a/c unit that sounded like a Mac truck. The bath tub was 50% enameled, the rest had flaked off; the bathroom door was split and peeling. The "towels" were thinner than my oldest tee shirt. Everything was downscale and well past useful life. In town for my own reasons, I thought I would suffer through one night, took a shower and lay down on the mattress for a couple hours. As I got up to go a meeting I killed a bug on the side chair. I left, did my business and found a clean, servicable Comfort Inn at a better price. The Lamp Post declined to offer any refund because I had used their room. Indeed, the desk clerk treated me as if I was cheating them.
Did I mention that the first room offered was a shambles? Did I mention the couple in the next room were napping with the door open? I am sure it is better than being deployed to Iraq, but it has zero value as a place to stay. I have been in better maintained prisons (as a guest). Do they give negative stars?

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Since I have in-laws in town, I don't believe that I've paid to stay in A2 since my undergraduate apartment lease expired in 1984. However, during this trip circumstances forced us to choose other accommodations, three days one weekend, and one day the following weekend. We chose the Lamp Post because a.) it's within a mile of family, and b.) it offers one of the best prices in town.

For those of you who are worried the LP might be testing the lower limits of your cheap motel endurance, keep in mind the following.

PROS
*Good location in SE A2, next door to Trader Joe's, a short drive to Whole Foods, and five to ten minutes from stadium (west), campus (northwest), and highway (east). Easy entry and exit.
*The people at check-in are good communicators and efficient with paperwork - do you suppose they're Ph.D. students or something? I wouldn't be surprised.
*Mattresses are very good; we had no problem sleeping.
*Maid service is really good. We left the room at 9 or 10 a couple days, and each time everything was neat and tidy when we returned at 2 or 3.
*In each of the two rooms we occupied, there was a good showerhead, with plenty of free flowing water.
*Free Wi-Fi and TV both work fine.
*We were pleasantly surprised how quiet things were for a relatively full motel, but can't personally testify to noise level for game weekends.

CONS
*The rooms really show their age. Lots of glumpy caulk holding tile together in bath area. Still, it was relatively clean glumpy caulk.
*The towels and sheets are not particularly high quality, but are clean and replaced every day, unless you ask otherwise.
*The breakfast isn't much more than carbohydrates and coffee - but remember Trader Joe's is next door, like 50 yards across a parking lot, and there's a drive-through coffee shop across the street (no crosswalk, so be careful).

The LP really isn't so bad. It's sort of like going to Grandma's house, but at least Grandma is a pretty good housekeeper. And she knows you love your iPhone, laptop, cable tv, etc., and has made provision for you to use those things.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#29 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
2.0 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Property: The University Inn
Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor
The University Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing