We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stay here for value and convenience and the Lamp Post offers both. Sure, it's not the Four Seasons but unless you plan to spend all day in your room and miss room service, how important is that? This last trip we realized that the little strip mall around the side of the Lamp Post is also a resource--Trader Joes and a sandwich shop, cleaners, other stores. And in warm weather, DQ Blizzard lovers, there's a DQ just around the corner. And free Wifi that's perfectly serviceable.

Only gripe: the pillows are sad little things.

Room Tip: We took advice from the reviews below and asked for a room over the lobby. It was fine, but because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryBWashingtonDCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Mary B -
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review of Lamp Post Inn. We are thrilled you found our hotel more than adequate for your stay in Ann Arbor and hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you to the area in the future.

B. Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent a week at the Lamp Post Inn in November, and we had a lovely time. It is two miles from the University of Michigan, which is walking distance for me. It is a very pleasant walk through a mainly residential area. If you don't enjoy walking you can catch the bus. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haines_AKMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Haines -
So happy that you found our location convenient for both walking and public transportation. Thank you for taking a moment to leave the positive feedback for others to read.

Regards,

B. Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Quite honestly I have stayed there several times in last years. This is the best place in town. It is situated very close to University. It is well connected as it is in the intersection of Washtneaw and Stadium. Very close to county park. The rooms are nice and have cross ventilation which is very important specially for longer stay. The balconies are very good and overall gives a very saline atmosphere. Added advantage is that a shopping complex with Trader's Joe is adjacent to the hotel, which makes it very convenient. The staff is superb and friendly. Yes, rooms could be bit cleaner and they can change breakfast menu on a regular basis ... other than that I will give 5 stars for this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Krishna -
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review for The Lamp Post Inn. We really appreciate the feedback are are thrilled you found the location convenient and staff friendly. We hope you will continue to choose us for future visits to Ann Arbor area.

Regards,

B. Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

King size bed, clean rooms opening towards huge parking lot, great sunshine, free breakfast and free internet!
Over all great value for money!

2 miles off Ross School of business, bus stop nearby! Friendly owner / receptionist! Great experience!

Just one irritant! Reception closes after 11 PM, so no help available after that. I came out of my room for a minute, forgot the keys inside and was locked out with outside temp 25F, and I was in Jeans and at shirt!

Otherwise all well, would probably stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

RGAAN -
Very please you found the Lamp Post Inn a great value during your recent stay in Ann Arbor. Very sorry about your experience with the keys! We do hope you will choose us again should your travels bring you to the area.

Regards,

B. Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at this place when on a post-doc fellowship to U of M. Hotel is fine for basic things like a bed, a stove to cook meals on, etc. The facilities are old, but the staff tries really hard to keep things clean. There is not much room to fault them there. But, the Wi-Fi system for the guests just sucks. I stayed here over the summer for 2 weeks and fought with it, and had planned to stay for 3 other 3-week periods, but after the first week of the second trip, I had had enough and changed to another hotel (Extended Stay at the Briarwood Mall) with reliable Wi-Fi. Lamp Post Inn's Wi-Fi crashes several times a day, and is super slow. If you want to return to your room and continue your work of the day, this is not the place for it. Also, things would be much better if the hotel offered on-site washers and dryers. The cleaner in the shopping center next door will do laundry by the pound, but it would be much more convenient if guests could do laundry on the weekends, etc. Another thing: Trader Joe's next store really sucks ... I recommend taking the 4 line bus, or better yet walking, to the Whole Foods (a 10 min walk at most) to the east. Whole Paycheck aka Whole Foods has a much better selection of stuff. There is also a WalGreen's, Panera, B&N Bookstore, etc. there. Speaking of the buses -- they are pretty good, and if you don't want to rent a car (say you are a starving graduate student headed to U of M for a research trip), consider a Flex Pass ($58 for 30 days buses cost $1.50 each way, so you can save money if you ride a lot, like I did). Lamp Post Inn is nice if you want access to U of M central campus -- again, the 4 line will take you there. One final point -- no need to pay for taxi service to Lamp Post Inn from DTW. Take Michigan AirRide/Flyers whatever bus ... $12 gets your from DTW to the main bus center, and then another $1.50 (or if you have a Flex Card mailed to you before you travel to A2, it's already paid for) to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Frank -
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I am sorry you found the internet inadequate but i am appreciate the details on the area - these will certainly be helpful for future visitors.

B. Larson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trippin-with-you, Owner at The University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As others have mentioned, you get what you pay for. Never more true than with the Lamp Post Inn.

PRO: low room prices. Period.

CONS: Hard mattress; thin pillows; thin walls (you can hear your neighbors talking and what they're watching on TV); very few electrical outlets; bubbling and peeling wallpaper; very few--and small--towels; the hot water in the shower suddenly turns cold, then back to the set temperature, then very hot, then back to the temperature you set it at, over and over.

I never got more than 2 straight hours of sleep any of the 3 nights I was there because of the combination of the hard mattress and thin pillows. The rates are low, but not low enough to cover the negatives here.

I will never stay at the Lamp Post again, and will be telling others the same thing.

Room Tip: You really do get what you pay for. At a minimum most travelers want a place that's comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob5224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#30 of 35 in Ann Arbor
523 reviews
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £51 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor
The University Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing