We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, flexible, friendly. It's not the Waldorf Astoria”
Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The folks that run the place make the hotel a goo dplace to stay. Yes stuff is out-dated and not pristine. Yes it is a motel style and not a hotel. But coming here with 10 people to go to a game this was the perfect place. Close enough to M23, walking distance (1.5miles) to the stadium. Right next door to a trader joes for beery treats :-) Breakfast was decent enough.
Staff were very friendly and very flexible and we had a good couple of nights of sleep for a decent price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCITUATED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had booked three nights but left after the first night. Renovation is needed urgently, the room smelt bad, the bathroom ventilation was very mouldy. Not just the room neighbours but also the street were very noisy. Very disappointed. No additional comments as we cannot recommend this location at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Positives: Clean, safe, friendly, accommodating, WiFi, Pleasant place. Recommend a short stay.
Negatives: Beds are hard and very, very, very uncomfortable, Pillows are non. No pool. Meager breakfast - bread, coffee, juice, cereal (2).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoconoTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Bruce, the owner, is great to deal with. We had high expectations when we came here but unfortunately Bruce was out of town. Check in was easily accomplished. However this accommodation would not suit people with any disabilities as our room was upstairs and it was difficult to get heavy bags up. No help was available.

We arrived at 9pm on a Sunday evening - no food available either at the airport or anywhere around so we resorted to popcorn out of a vending machine that ate up our money. When we complained the following day we were told that the machine did not belong to the motel. They really didn't appear to care too much.

We asked for a room with a kitchen, which we got. However there was no way of washing dishes; no dish liquid, no cloth or brush and no tea towel. When I asked at reception I was greeted with surprise and I ended up with a disposable cup with dish liquid, a facecloth from the bathroom for a cloth, no sponge or scourer and a ripped towel that was a rag for a tea towel. We stayed five nights but this was never changed.
There is no toaster in your unit so if you miss breakfast, you can't make toast.

There is a Trade Joes right next door which is great but the selection there is quite limited but adequate if you don't want to take a bus ride to Whole Foods down the road. Whole Foods is a lovely grocery store but a bit of a walk, especially carrying bags of groceries.

One of the girls in reception was great but the guy, whoever he was, couldn't care less.

There is free wireless internet in the rooms but it is sporadic and kept crashing. Very slow connection. There is one computer in the breakfast room for guest use.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have stayed in Ann Arbor before and being a college town most accommodations are a little pricey. We located the Lamp Post Inn and the price was a little cheaper, (not a great deal by any means, this room was 139.00, in our travels we've stayed in rooms that cost 54.00 dollars that topped this by a mile) but it had good reviews, and we thought we'd save a little money. We have traveled for years and have only had one other experience quite as awful as this one. The building was old, but we don't mind a little wear and tear, if it is clean and well maintained. The room STUNK of cigarettes(it was a non-smoking room), must and stale beer!! Worst of all was the carpet was filthy, and the bed linens, bath linens and the sides of the mattresses were stained with who knows what! No wonder they make you pay in advance, because they know you would never stay if they didn't . Ann Arbor is an amazing city, don't ruin your trip by staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bovroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at the Lamp Post Inn while on a road trip. Prior to our arrival we made a reservation for a room with two queen size beds. We thought the room we reserved was similar to the rooms with two beds shown on the website and that the room was smoke free. When we arrived we were given an outdated and worn kitchenette room with two double beds that wreaked of cigarette smoke. The following morning I complained to the person at the front desk. Their first response was that this was an upgrade from our original request and that we should be pleased with the upgrade. I then discussed the issue about the cigarette smoke. Their response was that maybe the person who stayed the previous nite smoked. I then explained that even though it seemed that the room had been treated to mask the smell, that obviously a smoker had lived in that room for a long time. Their response was that sometimes the kitchenettes are rented to people who stay for extended periods of time and that maybe there was a smoker who rented the room for an extended period. Throughout this discussion I had the impression that the person at the desk was indifferent to our bad experience and that they knew more about the history of that room than what they were willing to divulge to me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohio_traveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I was very happy with the Lamp Post Inn. The first impression was a friendly staff and very helpful. The accommodations were exceptionally clean. You get an outstanding value for your money. Location is close to town. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetairieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#32 of 35 in Ann Arbor
159 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#30 of 35 in Ann Arbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £52 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor
The University Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing