We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good for its price range”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely good for its price range”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed here when visiting a friend at grad school at the University of Michigan. My queen-sized bed bed room was enormous, with a very comfortable bed. My stay coincided with a heatwave, but the air-con was effective.

Big marks for attention to detail: there were enough & accessible electricity outlets; the room was spoltlessly clean; you get plenty of towels and toiletries; a sheet and duvet (lack of an over-sheet is a big bugbear I have with hotels...); helpful people at the reception desk; breakfast runs until 10am, which is relatively generous; and although the bath/shower had a plastic curtain rather than a slidey-door it fit properly and worked every time to keep water off the floor.

The only downside is that it is 2 to 3 miles from downtown; cabs typically cost about $12+tip; there is a nearby bus service into town during the day, for $1.50. So it is not the most accessible place in town. However, even if you price in a bus fair into town and a cab back at night, it seemed to me that it still works out a little cheaper than the more central Ann Arbor hotels, which seem to have inferior facilities/comfort given their reviews. So very good value overall, even if you are "on foot".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danno1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    73
    40
    19
    18
See reviews for
76
56
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 844 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Clean & quiet hotel. Hot buffet breakfast. Good mall nearby, Macy's etc. Good size pool. Staff OK. The two evenings we were there, they ran a complimentary hot buffet meal, pasta, chicken wings, meatballs, that kind of thing plus cold fare.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, Bahamas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The plus side to Comfort Suites -
Location: Right across the street from a mall, and near nice places to eat. My husband, teen son and I stayed for three nights while my son attended a baseball camp at the University of Michigan. While it was not within walking distance of downtown Ann Arbor, it is very easy to drive down State street to go to both the university as well as downtown. We liked the location alot.
Clean: Have stayed at places that were not so clean, so I really appreciate it when a room is clean.
Nice, but small gym and outdoor sitting area outside pool. I noticed though, that towels were not replenished for people in either the pool or gym areas during the weekend that we stayed.

Downsides: If you are staying for more than 2 nights, then you will get weary of the breakfasts. Not only is breakfast the same every morning, (sausage, "eggs", breads, waffles, etc) but it is served in a very small room where there is not much space to get even coffee without bumping into other guests.
Laundry is also located at the Red Roof Inn, which is next door, but it means exiting the hotel and walking through that property.
If you are looking for a hotel with a view, this is not the place. Nothing but parking lots surround it. The plus side to this is that there are plenty of parking spots!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yale, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Clean, clean, clean. Nice staff. Nice small pool. Adequate, all you can eat breakfast. Great location for the art fair. right next to the highway for quick access. The mall is right across the street and the shuttles run every 15 minutes. Beware a cab ride from downtown during art fair about twenty bucks with tip. A little pricey but we booked last minute. About one hundred and twenty five bucks, was a little steep for a three star hotel but okay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clintwood, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

There is good coffee in the morning and, the front desk is alert to your needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

In roaming around Michigan for a week, I was searching for value. After using some old hotel points earlier for freebies, I wanted to get the best value for under $100 with the usual upper budget chains - Hampton, etc. Found this Comfort Inn on Trip Advisor and for a quick stay you will not be disappointed. Only caveat - entrance is kind of hidden on a busy road - the landscapers need to cut around the sign. Otherwise clean and comfortable for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Good value. Nice room...great breakfast most days and pizza in the afternoon. Overall wonderful stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: The king with sofa bed is best value and big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmtx_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 35 in Ann Arbor
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#23 of 35 in Ann Arbor
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites University South Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing