We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sent here due to flood at Sheraton - but not as bad as I thought it would be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
West Sussex
Level Contributor
778 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Sent here due to flood at Sheraton - but not as bad as I thought it would be”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

After a poor experience at the Sheraton due to a flood following problems with the sprinkler system there, and after walking, with cases and at 10.30 at night in the dark, across a highway and several parking lots, we arrived to find a friendly receptionist who was efficient and helpful. Rooms were made available without any documentation or fuss and whist the rooms are basic, they were clean. It would have helped if the shower had been more efficient, though.

Breakfast was set out and again, rather basic to what I would have received at the Sheraton, at least there was hot coffee and muffins.

Whilst a Comfort Inn may not be the standard of hotel that I would normally check in to, I was pleasantly surprised at the service level and may consider the chain in the future and certainly recommend to others on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    70
    38
    19
    17
See reviews for
70
54
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Hotel was very clean and in a good location. Rooms were large and had microwaves and fridges which were nice. The internet was very slow and certain times of the day it was impossible to use. Also there were some employees gossipping very loudly in spanish near the breakfast room one morning and I found it very rude. I mean seriously, if you are going to have a loud personal conversation at work, the least you could do is have it away from your guests. Other than that it was pleasant, but it was
noisy at times.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzytravelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalhart, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Small, dated rooms. Blankets & sheets were worn. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmommy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Massillon
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at this Comfort Inn, and we have been very pleased with our rooms. They have always been clean and comfortable and reasonably priced.And with our son now a student at Eastern Michigan, we will be making frequent visits. This is the best hotel we've found, and I would recommend it to any other college parents looking for a great place to stay close to E.M.U.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a AAA discount if you are a member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I had a last minute training scheduled in Ann Arbor and looked for a convenient place to stay. This Comfort Inn was a great choice. The young lady at the check-in counter was friendly and efficient. She directed me to my room and later gave me a call to make sure that was room met my expectations. Very spacious for Choice Hotels standards and extremely clean. Dinner was provided during the week and featured typical GFS and Stouffer type meals. Not spectacular, but for a free meal, it was pretty good. Breakfast area was well stocked and clean as well. It was sausage patties and scrambled eggs the morning I was there as well as the waffles and continental offerings. Check-out was fast and friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drifter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed here when visiting a friend at grad school at the University of Michigan. My queen-sized bed bed room was enormous, with a very comfortable bed. My stay coincided with a heatwave, but the air-con was effective.

Big marks for attention to detail: there were enough & accessible electricity outlets; the room was spoltlessly clean; you get plenty of towels and toiletries; a sheet and duvet (lack of an over-sheet is a big bugbear I have with hotels...); helpful people at the reception desk; breakfast runs until 10am, which is relatively generous; and although the bath/shower had a plastic curtain rather than a slidey-door it fit properly and worked every time to keep water off the floor.

The only downside is that it is 2 to 3 miles from downtown; cabs typically cost about $12+tip; there is a nearby bus service into town during the day, for $1.50. So it is not the most accessible place in town. However, even if you price in a bus fair into town and a cab back at night, it seemed to me that it still works out a little cheaper than the more central Ann Arbor hotels, which seem to have inferior facilities/comfort given their reviews. So very good value overall, even if you are "on foot".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danno1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
365 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Clean & quiet hotel. Hot buffet breakfast. Good mall nearby, Macy's etc. Good size pool. Staff OK. The two evenings we were there, they ran a complimentary hot buffet meal, pasta, chicken wings, meatballs, that kind of thing plus cold fare.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 34 in Ann Arbor
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#23 of 34 in Ann Arbor
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites University South Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing