We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very clean and friendly staff during a hectic time. The rooms were nice and comfy. The breakfast was also great and a lot to choose from. I have stayed at many other places and this one was really great. It is right off the freeway, which makes it easy to get in and out. Unfortunately, the TV was old and could use updating. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanatic_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    69
    37
    17
    17
See reviews for
67
54
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Assonet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were looking for a place to stay before a wedding we were traveling to in Ann Arbor. This place fit the bill nicely. Super-convenient location and more amenities than we expected. We could have stayed longer and would have if we were not already scheduled to stay with several other couples at another hotel within walking distance of the Comfort Inn. Very good free breakfast and we were surprised by a free unadvertised supper (Mon - Thurs only) the night before, too. WiFi seemed spotty, but the food, nice hot tub and pool, in-room fridge and microwave, and very pleasant staff more than made up for it. I would easily stay there again if we found ourselves in the Ann Arbor area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The WIFI here does not work, the comforters are disgusting, the towels looked like they were turning blue from being so old, the TV in our room did not work (finally had to have a front desk employee come up to our room to help us, it was very intrusive and a large pain--even the employee admitted the TVs often do not work), the room smelled of smoke and is very small and stuffy, and there were old stains on our sheets. One front desk employee offered us a 10% discount - we declined because we'd rather just pay for our room and never have to deal with this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Spent one night here in September, 2012, to visit UM. The hotel is right off the freeway, so it is really easy to get to and to get gas before leaving town.

The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the swimming pool and hot tub were deserted. The breakfast was plentiful and had lots of variety. My only complaint was that getting onto the wireless was a bit slow/cumbersome. Oh, and the pillows were squishy, but that is a matter of personal taste.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I travel to Ann Arbor nearly every year for a football game. My first choice is always this hotel. I can't seem to match elsewhere the clean rooms, consistent service, great rates and location. I stayed there again two nights earlier this month. The room was clean, the staff friendly, and the breakfast excellent. The Manager - Maggie - is friendly, hands-on and role-models customer service for her staff; she operates a very well-run hotel. I was made to feel comfortable. On my morning of departure I left the hotel very early, even before the complimentary breakfast time had begun.The host preparing it gave me a couple of food items out of the kitchen despite the time. I simply have never had a bad nor even a marginal experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have stayed at this Comfort Inn several times in the past four years. Initially I was quite pleased with the property, and it was soooo much better than the other Comfort Inn at Carpenter and Washtenaw. But over time I have noticed it getting rather shabby. The cleanliness is not up to par, the beds are not as comfortable, the pool is becoming a disaster and the WiFi is a joke.

I do not say these things lightly. I am very quick to write a good review if I like a place. The location for this hotel is great - right across the street from Briarwood Mall and not far from the U of M stadium. There are lots of restaurants within a reasonable distance, and it is right off I-94.

As I mentioned, I stayed here a lot in the beginning because it was good quality at a good price, but as the quality has declined, I have taken my business elsewhere.

I have been wondering if this hotel is under new management - maybe the same guys who run the one on Carpenter. If the owners would spend the money to rehab the property and take care of it, this could be #1 on my list again.

Room Tip: In my experience, the rooms I've had on the third floor are preferable to rooms on the other flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencairn, Ont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed for 5 nights over the Labour Day weekend while working in Saline. My room on the 3rd floor was comfortable, clean and spacious. Every thing worked. Wireless was a bit weak so I plugged in instead. The indoor pool and hot tub were excellent. The workout equipment looked fine, but I was too lazy to try it. The hotel is close to every thing in Ann Arbor. The staff were friendly and efficient. I will definitely stay there again when I'm in the area. The free breakfast was better than going to McDonald's..... sausages, scrambled eggs, pancakes, etc, juice and coffee. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTheITGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#29 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#25 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites University South Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing