We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Reasonable price and a very nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn Ann Arbor (on State St.). Friendly staff, clean & quiet. Quick, trouble free check in. Front desk helped us get a cab to our New Years eve entertainment in Ann Arbor. Clean quiet room. In the morning we arrived to the breakfast 20 minutes late but the staff member cleaning up the area welcomed us to help ourselves to the breakfast items that were still out, and most items were. We had bakery items, oatmeal, fruit and coffee. Quick, trouble free check out. Very Nice Stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiderXB12x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2008

We usually stay at a next higher class of hotel but could not find anything in Ann Arbor. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was.

The rooms were a basic hotel room but very nice. Nothing looked shoddy. The beds were very comfortable. The walls between rooms could be better but we did not have a large problem in the evening. During the day we could hear the group next door.

We needed directions to around University of Michigan and the front desk did not have any maps. I obtained one later and dropped it off with them but the front desk clerk did not seem interested in having it.

The breakfast buffet is typical to what you will see to this class of hotel. The hotel is across from the Briarwood Mall which was convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 127_Hill_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We booked our reservations six weeks in advance and paid $99 + tax per night. After travelling all day we checked in around 11:00 PM. The hotel looked ok, not great. It needs updating, the carpet is worn and dirty through out the building. Everything looks worn, walls, carpet, furniture. Nothing looks fresh and clean. There is stale smell to the building.

After checking in, we went to the room assigned to us. Upon opening the door we discovered the room was occupied, complete with a nude man on the bed. We quickly exited the room and returned to the front desk (luggage in tow) after waiting in line again, we were given another room on the opposite side of the hotel (again, luggage in tow).

On first glance the room looked ok. We had been traveling all day and were looking forward to a relaxing bath in the jacuzzi tub. When we turned on the jacuzzi, scum quickly formed on the surface of the water, we did not get in the tub, it was too disgusting.

So we went to bed instead. When pulling back the bed spread there were to large spots of what appeared to be menstrual blood that were clumpy and obviously not been washed.
Throughly disgusted and exhausted, we pulled the bedspread off the bed.

The next morning (Saturday, August 25) we returned to the front desk to ask to speak with a manager. There was not a manager on site. The place was packed with guests and there was no manager. I couldn't believe it! There was no one to assist us. The desk clerk couldn't authorize a refund nor discount nor do anything about the problems we experienced. As we were discussing the problems the director of maintenance arrived and assured us we would receive a full refund and a phone call from the manager the next day. We heard nothing for 4 weeks.

It was such a terrible experience, I didn't want to deal with it any more and did not follow up with a manager. On September 18, over 4 weeks later, a GM called to inquire about our stay. He had found a note on the front desk manager's desk that we needed to be called. I related the above story and still the GM refused to offer us a refund. He said he needed to discuss this with his employees to get the full story. The next day he did call to say that his employees did not remember the story the way I told it! Inferring I was lying about the nude man in the occupied room! In the end he would offered me a 50% refund.

I've stayed in rooms all across America and for $100 bucks a night you can expect a decent room. These room are way over priced and the management is non-existent.

We travel frequently and will never stay at another Comfort Inn. It was truly the worst hotel experience we have ever had.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank djr512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

Very Nice Rooms. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Very Nice complimentary food items at dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SprintPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2007

Stayed here twice in February. Rooms were good and clean, main complaints were the very old carpet in the room, low water pressure in the shower, and road noise can be a problem if you are on the side of the hotel facing the freeway. There are several other hotels in the immediate area, this one was the lowest price with rooms available. The breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs, waffles, and sausage in addition to all the standard continental faire, although a little lacking in the fruit choices. The weekday evening food was decent also, with chicken strips or wings and something that looked like hamburger patties covered in gravy, along with some kind of potato, rice, and pasta. There were also assorted chips and dip, veggies, and cheese and crackers. Drinks were just a couple of 2 liter bottles of warm soda that tended to be flat.
The first trip I did see people from the budget hotel (Best Value Inn) next door coming over to use the pool, one night I heard one of them banging on the rear lobby door to get in to use the pool, the front desk clerk came over and opened the locked door (I was able to get in that door by using my room key in the card reader) and then the clerk propped the door open with a small rock. The rock was still there on my return trip a few weeks later, so apparently they are OK with people from the other hotel using their facilities

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank swbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

My husband and I stayed one night after a Football game. The room was on the small side but clean, comfortable and quiet. I give extra points to a hotel that uses fitted sheets on the bed and the bathroom had an actual working exhaust fan. The breakfast room was very small but there were plenty of open tables. The mall is accross the street with lots of restaurants but everything was very busy. We went accross to the other side of the freeway and found a wonderful Japanese restaurant with immediate seating.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

The rooms were decent: clean and relatively comfortable. A small fridge and microwave in the room make longer stays a little more economical. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and 'dinner/afternoon snack' which is especially helpful when traveling with kids and trying to stick to a budget. The dining area is very small, though. Too many tables and chairs packed into a small place. Larger guests and wheel chairs would have a hard time in the dining area. The pool, while nice, needs to be cleaned better and more often. Two of my three kids wouldn't swim in it because they said it felt 'slimy'. My one BIG COMPLAINT, however, is that there's a budget motel right behind the hotel and those guests come through for the food and to use the pool. You don't see the motel from the road. I'm not sure if the motel is part of the same group that owns Comfort Inn but they share the back parking lot as well as the amenities. Twice the number of guests using using the facilities. Something to think about when booking.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank libbyglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 35 in Ann Arbor
157 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Address: 3501 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £63 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University South 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites University South Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing