We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place To Stay For A College Scouting Trip!”

Inn at the Michigan League
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at the Michigan League
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Place To Stay For A College Scouting Trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed here to scout out the University of Michigan campus for a high school senior. Wonderful place to get the feel for the campus and close walking distance to downtown. You get a voucher (one per guest) to use at the coffee bar (breakfast burritos and other food available but not open on Saturdays and closed until 10 AM on Sundays) or mini mart downstairs (great selection and can use on food or beverage). Nice perk! Noise can be an issue as these are older rooms that have been rehabbed (not sure if dorms at one time) and there is noise from the hall. We had guests from a wedding and there were a lot of kids staying during our visit. Self service coffee and tea available across from check-in area. Only drawbacks we saw were the noise and the access to the fourth floor is via a small elevator in the middle of the hall. Packing passes for a lot about a block away are available at no charge.

Room Tip: Might want to ask about the rooms at the end to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elumnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
9
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

If your visit is related to the U of M, or you want to be in walking distance to university buildings or the downtown, then this is an excellent place to lodge. Those are the positives. As for being a quality place to lodge, the Inn at the Michigan League falls short. The decor, fixtures, carpet, bed quilt, curtains, and overall ambience is reminiscent of the early 70s. While the lobby-style seating outside the room doors is charming, it also presents a significant noise problem. You can literally hear any, and all, conversations in the hallway. I literally heard someone opening a can soda. Keeping with this noise problem, the elevator is extremely loud and extremely annoying.

As an alum, I have a strong affinity for the U of M - and the Michigan League. Thus, it pains me to say that my stay at the Inn was my worst lodging experience ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Boonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Farmington,MI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Michigan League for three days. It was a chance to explore Ann Arbor and reminisce our college days! The Inn is centrally located on the UofM campus, and as a result we were able to leave our car parked in the structure(for free!) and walk everywhere in town! The building itself is stately and lovely, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and inviting. The first floor has a lovely sitting area that is spacious and well appointed. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: You might request a room that overlooks Ingalls Plaza. It is a pretty view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
417 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed over Artt Fair weekend and the staff was not at all prepared for quest: our room was not cleaned, Internet did not work, and no one seemed to care. The rates for our stay were out of touch for what was offered; no breakfast included and really poor accommodations Would think twice before booking again. Bell Tower is much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

There are three hotels in this general vicinity and I chose Michigan League because it had the most reasonable price. Given the fact that it's on the fourth floor of a school building, my main concern was that this would be closer to a dormitory than a hotel. That fear was quickly allayed when I arrived to find a large, clean, well-appointed hotel room. Staff at reception were always friendly and willing to help. The building itself has wonderful character and is in a great location, on Central Campus right across from the Burton Memorial Bell Tower and steps to State Street. Parking was free (a block away), which was a nice surprise and something I'm not used to from other hotels. We were each provided with $4.50 vouchers that could be redeemed at the downstairs cafe, or a number of other neighbouring establishments. I should mention that our room didn't have a phone - not a big issue for most people these days. There's also no room service or laundry available. All in all, I was very happy with my stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karmacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

good place if you are a prospective student, but certainly nothing special as far as accommodations. good price for the area and great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Inn at the Michigan League for 3 nights. We were in town for a wedding, so there was a block of rooms.

It definitely has a dorm feel, especially when your friends are just down the hall. The location is wonderful, right in the heart of campus. We were able to walk to and from the wedding. We ran to the Nichols Arboretum (spectacular!!!) every morning. We were also able to walk to all restaurants, bars, movies, and Shakespeare in the Arb(oretum). On our way home from Shakespeare, we were able to watch the movie "Hugo" outdoors, in the quad adjacent to the Michigan League (as part of the Ann Arbor summer festival).

The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. A pleasant surprise.

For the money, I thought it was a fun and fabulous place. If you are looking for more luxe accomodations, stay at the Bell Tower Inn.

Room Tip: It's noisy, so we used the IPod dock next to the bed to play white noise on a repetitive loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#27 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Michigan League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Michigan League

Property: Inn at the Michigan League
Address: 911 N University Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1265
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Inn At The Michigan League Hotel Ann Arbor
Inn At The Michigan League Ann Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing