We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
203
109
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
109
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews briarwood mall towne place suites pool toys full kitchen small kitchen sized refrigerator yogurt walking distance to the mall waffle iron suite hotels pool area was clean short drive parking lot dorm room king bed free breakfast housekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Easy location to get around Ann Arbor. Quiet location near the mall in a row of motels. No restaurants next door but plenty within a short drive...must check out any of the Zingerman locations for great food. We will stay here again. Clean with very friendly staff and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate on the mall side for quieter rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime Q, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

MikeKerrey,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take advantage of the close destinations in Ann Arbor. Our team will be ready for your next trip to Ann Arbor!

See you soon,
Jaime Quayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This all suites hotel is in a convenient location very near a major expressway. However that causes some challenges when attempting to sleep at night. If you are a late bird, the noise does quiet down in the wee hours of the morning. Rooms are spacious, clean and very accommodating to the business traveler. The free breakfast is another story: the yogurt was frozen, the oatmeal was pretty dried up and the breads etc. were nothing special. Staff was friendly and there are cookies at the door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMichigan1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime Q, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

JaneMichigan1544,

Thank you for taking the time to respond, we appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast. What you experienced with the breakfast is not the norm and apologize that this was less than satisfactory. We are addressing the issues you had so that you and other guests will not experience this in the future. I hope you'll consider staying with us during your future trip to Ann Arbor, and we'll do our best to ensure a quieter experience.

I look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Jaime Quayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very new to the area. So new that if you look on google street view and it's not there. It is a little better than your average Towneplace Suite, I think Marriott had updated the decor so it looks a little higher end.

The bed was very comfortable. I had asked for extra pillow and received them. The towels could be better so they don't feel that scratchy when using, but they do the job. All the rooms came with a small kitchen, including a two element stove, microwave, dishwasher and fridge. Keep in mind there isn't an oven so make sure you buy food that can be cooked with other methods.

Each floor comes with ice machine but not a vending machine. Food, snacks and drinks can be purchased from the market area on the first floor.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub which is a big plus for staying during colder seasons. There is a decent size gym that opens 24/7.

The staffs were very friendly and helpful. I was greeted every time I see a staff member, regardless of where I was.

It is in a very convenient location, close to the mall, highway and a short drive to dt Ann Arbor.

The only down side I can think of is the breakfast. First of all, if you are big on proper hot full American breakfast, this hotel's continental breakfast is not going to satisfy you, but there is a kitchen in your room so you can substitute. Also, the breakfast area is extremely small, you will most likely eating breakfast in your room, which is not necessarily a bad thing.

Overall it is an excellent place, new, clean, convenient and perfect for family or casual travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime Q, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

McBerr,

Thank you for your response and I appreciate your time expressing the details of your recent stay with us at the Towneplace Ann Arbor. I'm glad you had a chance to interact with our friendly team throughout the hotel! We have listened to guest feedback such as yours concerning a desire for an expanded breakfast. Select hot breakfast items will be offered in the future and I hope you'll have the chance to visit Ann Arbor and take advantage of this soon-to-be new feature.

Have a great day,
Jaime Quayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Very clean, cheerful, attractive and efficient lobby area. Sundries and snack items available for purchase. Continental breakfast w/waffles available, although we had to leave early and didn't eat it. We had a studio room with two QUEEN (not full) beds. Many hotels now only offer two full beds, so it was very nice to get queen beds. Although a studio, it was not spartan. As you enter the room, there's a galley kitchen with full size stainless refrigerator, two-burner glass cooktop, microwave, sink, dishwasher, dishes, cutlery and even hardwood-like floors (kitchen area only). On the opposing wall, there's a huge closet that's probably 8+ ft wide. There was a large rectangular table that comfortably seats 4 people. One minor complaint is that the table has a raised lip around the edges, so you cannot simply sweep crumbs off the surface as they get retained by the lip. Flat screen TV is a little small (24"?) when viewed from the beds, but gets HD and is adequate. Cellular (Sprint) and WiFi signals were good in Rm 225, and no complaints about WiFi speed. Room furnishings are nice and simple things like different colored walls and tasteful wallpaper really give the place a modern and upbeat feel. Unlike some hotels where parking is tough if you come back late, 60% of the parking spaces were still available on a Sunday night at 11 pm. We got a great AAA rate of $85/night + tax. I don't know if that will be available next time, but even though there are a bunch of hotels within a mile or two, we will definitely return to this one in the future. Hotel located about 3 miles from Central Campus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime Q, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Leejia,

I value your response and am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your recent experience here at the Towneplace Suites Ann Arbor. I'm glad you enjoyed the room amenities and hotel decor during your stay. Our team looks forward to having you again during your next visit to Ann Arbor! Feel free to check our AAA rate availability for your future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime Quayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This location just opened in October 2012 and you an tell!! Everything was clean and new looking. We were there for a basketball tournament along with 5 other famlies; the rest of the team stayed in other hotels. We stayed in one of their King suites; one king bed, pull out sofa and Kitchen. The room was quite small but perfectly laid out. When you open the door, you are in the kitchen area. It is galley style with a full size fridge, dishwasher, 2 burner ceran stove, and all the dishes/utensils that you would need. In the same area is a huge closet. The sleeping area has the bed on one wall and across is the sleeper sofa and a desk/wall unit with shelves. The bathroom is beside the bed. Under normals circumstances the room is big enough, but once you pull out the bed in the sofa, it bumps against the bed, so there was only about a 3 inch gap to walk through if you had to use the washroom at night. The beds were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was really nice and the decor was very modern and bright. Our son who is 19 said that it would have made the perfect dorm room as it designed so well.

The pool area was great! they had all kinds of pool toys to use. The breakfast area was a little small as there was only seating for about 30 people. If the weather was warmer it would have been better as there was a patio with lots of tables and chairs that you could sit out side by the breakfast area. Also good to know is the Briarwood Mall is right beside the hotel, took 2 minutes to walk there and there is a Target and grocery store just one exit away.

The front desk staff was WONDERFUL!!! Especially Justin. He helped us out with so much, I couldn't thank him enough. The Marriott is VERY lucky to have him as an employee as he was the definition of what customer service is all about.

Room Tip: Don't get a King studio suite for more than 2 adults as it's very tight quarters, would be ok for 2 adults and 2 kids though.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Columbia809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime Q, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Columbia809,

Thank you for choosing the Towneplace Suites Ann Arbor, I'm glad you had a chance to stay with us on your visit to Ann Arbor for your basketball tournament. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to respond. I have let Justin know how much his service had a positive impact on your stay with us and our staff will continue to provide similar experiences in the future! I invite you to stay with us during your next trip to Ann Arbor!

Have a great day,

Jaime Quayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews