We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were in town to have dinner with our daughter who is in Grad School at Michigan. This is a pet friendly hotel, which we did not need, but was nice to know. Glen checked us in and made us feel welcome. We requested a room on the main floor, 113 and were very happy with it. Clean, comfortable and convenient we enjoyed a good nights rest. We checked out after a lovely breakfast in the morning, cold cereal, orange juice, yogurt, bananas and coffee. Just enough.
When we returned home realized we had left our fan in the room. After a couple of calls, Beth, head of housekeeping called us and let us know she found it and was going to send it to our home. Can't ask for more. Booked 4 rooms in December for our daughter's graduation. Looking forward to another pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Convenient to U of M and any activities be it football or graduation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello Shayne! It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for all of your kind words. I will definitely be sure to show your review to Glenn and Beth who provided excellent service. We are excited to have you back in December for your daughters graduation!
Go Blue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stay at this hotel for a week while we visited my sister for the Thanksgiving holiday. The room was nice, clean and modern. Plus it had full refrigerator and mini kitchen stocked with kitchen utensils. Nice feature for when you brought leftovers from meals. Hotel was right across from a large mall which made it convenient especially during the holidays! The staff was very helpful and courteous. From now on every time I visit my sister who lives in Michigan... I will be staying at this establishment!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qban1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Qban1961! Also, thank you for taking notice to all of the amenities that the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor has to offer. I agree with you, our location is very convenient for all travelers. If your doing your holiday shopping the next time you come in make sure to check out our shoppers package. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!
Thanks again!
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I wanted to stay at a place with a built in kitchen in order to reduce my unprotuctive time and allow for more work to be done.

I was able to get groceries near by and could pack lunches for the work site as well as come 'home' late and whip up a quick meal and get back to work on the free internet.

Between that and the great breakfasts, I was thrilled with TownePlace Suites.

The room is very clean, has great lighting and was extremely comfortable. I really appreciated having clean dishes when I returned each evening. The chance to brew a large pot of coffee and a full refrigerator, etc. It really felt like home which was a great stress relief.

I'm sure the workout room and the pool were both great, but I really didn't have time to use them.

I would recommend this hotel to ANYBODY. Business travel, a couple, a family. Having a bit of 'home cooked food' is fantastic. There was even thoughtfully provided plastic storage container for left overs.

I also like the desk with the pull out section. I could use this pull out as a table or as a side desk as necessary.

I will look for other TownePlace Suites in my further travels. What a great place and great experience.

Room Tip: I thought I might be put off by the closeness of the interstate, but it didn't bother me one bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for such an outstanding review, Tim! I love that you referred the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor as your 'home' while here for business. Our team works hard to make every guest feel the same way whether they are here for one night or one year. I hope that if you are ever back in Ann Arbor for business or to visit the beautiful city, that we can be your Oasis again!
Have a wonderful day !
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel had great reviews so I reserved a suite for my wife and I and sister in law. The room was beautiful clean and modern. The major problem was the pull out couch. Well it was a pullout alright with basically no mattress to speak off. We called for a foam mattress to put on top of what was there but that barely helped. If you offer a pull out for a third person the hotel should make sure you can actually sleep on it. That is the reason people rent hotel rooms right? For a nights rest right! We complained the next morning and apparently they have had a lot of complaints about their sofa beds. Ya think you can fix it soon? And how does a big chain wind up with poor quality mattresses like that.

Room Tip: Highway near buy avoid rooms on that side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear chefantoine,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor and for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

I'm very sorry to learn that you and your guests had an uncomfortable stay with us. We offer a variety of room types which, in addition to the studio with a king bed, also include a studio with two queen beds as well as a two bedroom suite which features a queen sized bed in each bedroom. I am sure that either of these two room types would have been more suitable for you and your guests.

We do want to make this right for you as we believe in making sure our guests are satisfied. You can reach either myself or our Sales Coordinator, Brittany Villa, at (734) 327-5900. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to having another opportunity to serve you as a guest.

Sincerely,

Josh Ross
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. You get more than you would in a traditional hotel room. It is very clean and new. I stayed in a studio king room. The room had a full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, and stove top. Cupboards were full of kitchen utensils. Nice features if you like to bring back leftovers after dinner, or keep your own beverages refrigerated in your room. This is a great place for families with children too.
The bathroom was squeaky clean. The hotel is within walking distance to the Briarwood mall. I will definitely return to this hotel when I go back to Ann Arbor.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, Bertha55! We agree that it is quite handy being able to prepare meals for your own family in our rooms, and it can also prove to be quite a money saver! We definitely look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Josh Ross
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband is usually very picky about hotels, but he was very happy with this hotel. . Convenient to highway, Briarwood Mall, and other shopping, and just a short drive to the UM area. Parking lot is safe and well-lit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived a few hours before check-in, and the housekeeping staff was about to prepare our room in about 30 minutes. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We were a little disappointed that we did not have an in-room safe. It seems like these days, all hotels rooms should have the in-room safe. Breakfast was adequate - waffles, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, chilled hard-boiled eggs, cereal, apples, bananas. Snacks and other necessities are available for purchase in the lobby. Overall, this is a great hotel. We already have reservations here for our next visit to Ann Arbor. We have stayed at a few different hotels in Ann Arbor, and this will be our top choice for the future.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot. We were not bothered by any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32tza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us, Terry K! We are always eager to help our guests in any way that we can and I am happy to see that we were able to honor your early check-in. While we do not offer in-room safes, you can always inquire about our safe deposit boxes available that the front desk. Thanks for making us your top choice in the Ann Arbor area, and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Sincerely,

Josh Ross
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is great. The location is very convenient to the campus. The rooms are bright and clean. The layout of the rooms is very nice--there is a kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and two electric burners. There is cutlery and plates. The bathroom is well laid out. Nice work area. The breakfast was fine. They have a grill outside if you want to do that. The staff are all nice. And the price is good--what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Manager at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review about our hotel, traveler2009Illinois! We are so happy to hear that your stay was worth every penny! I have to agree with you that our rooms have a terrific layout, and we were so happy to finally open up our outdoor patio area which includes grills for our guests to use. Be sure to bring your family back to visit again real soon!

Sincerely,

Josh Ross
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#5 of 35 in Ann Arbor
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ann Arbor
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor

Address: 1301 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1562
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#3 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £89 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott® in Ann Arbor is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen and high-speed Internet access. You can keep up with your exercise program in our fully equipped fitness center or relax & play in the indoor pool and hot tub. Whether you are here for business or pleasure the proximity to many major businesses and attractions make the TownePlace Suites byb Marriott® the choice when staying in Ann Arbor. Conveniently located to University of Michigan, Briarwood Mall, University of Michigan Hospital, Mott's Children's Hospital and downtown Ann Arbor the TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Ann Arbor South is the hotel of choice for business or leisure travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing