We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is great, rooms are comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just back from a week long stay, have to give props to the staff as they are very friendly and accommodating. Hotel is located right next to the freeway and rooms on the third floor (don’t know about other floors) can be very noisy. Breakfast was typical for hotels that offer free breakfast, cereal, instant oatmeal, english muffins, toast, yogurt. But stay away from the hard boiled eggs. They boil and peel the eggs way in advance then sit in a refrigerator until they are the consistency of a rubber ball. Shopping malls just yards away and although there is no restaurant on site it’s just a short drive to downtown where there are countless. All rooms have refrigerators, dishwashers, plates and utensils, a microwave and a two burner cooktop, great for extended stays. Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the TownePlace Suits by Marriott Ann Arbor. We are so happy that you chose our hotel! Our team works hard to exceed all of our guests expectations and we are so glad we did so with your stay. I am sorry about the noise that you experienced on the third floor. I hope it did not disrupt your sleep too much. The front desk does have white noise machines if you would like one on your next stay. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel for our wedding to be able to bring our pup (the $100 is pretty pricy however) - which worked out PERFECT! We had a one bedroom suite which was big enough for us and our wedding stuff (bonus!). The hotel is new and the rooms are super clean, bright and pretty. The free breakfast in the lobby is great with lots of options, both healthy (wheat english muffins & hard boiled eggs) and indulgent (waffle maker). The lobby and eating area are both small, and there is no restaurant or bar - but that was not the purpose of our trip so it didn't effect us. The thing we enjoyed the most about our stay was the friendly and incredibly helpful staff! They were genuinely interested in all of their guests and went out of their way for us and everyone else I saw them interact with. We can’t say thank you enough to Brittany and her entire team!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Meryl! Thank you for such a kind review. I speak for myself and the rest of the team when I say that we really enjoyed having you, Chris, and Stella here for your big day! I would have to agree with you, we do have an amazing staff who genuinely cares about all of our guests and their needs.They take pride in what they do and they are great at it! I was so happy to hear from them that your day turned out perfect when I returned to work on Monday morning. Whenever you come back to the Ann Arbor area to visit friends or family, we would love to welcome you back!
Thanks again!
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Nice hotel. Good value for money. Not close to University but not too far. Will need a car. Free breakfast was sparse but typical for this level hotel. I'd stay here again if I needed to be in Ann Arbor. Thankfully, all kids have graduated, now!

Room Tip: Get government rate if you qualify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Julian! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You must be so proud and relieved now that all of your kids are done with school! It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor. We are currently working on the expansion to our breakfast. Thank you for your feedback on that.
Thanks again and Go Blue!
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I really like this place. Everything felt and smelled new. The staff was friendly, the work out room was a good size. The pool and hot tub was great. The hotel was right beside the mall, awesome location. The breakfast was included and was good. We really liked the suite rooms. The room was a great size. We would defiantly stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank capm177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for the review, capm177! You were correct in guessing that the hotel is new. We just opened our doors in October of 2012. Thank you for your appreciation towards our suites. Our studios are 30% larger than the average hotel room making the stay more comfortable for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Ann Arbor.
Thanks again!
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here one night enroute to a family reunion. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and suited our needs. One piece of advise: if you plan to have kids sleep on the couch, opt for the 2 queen room instead of the King with a couch. It was a little cramped.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Flyrodtrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Flyroudtrouter! Thank you for the review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor. I would have to agree with you, the Studio Two Queen room is best when staying with more than two people. We hope to welcome you back the next time you and your family are in Ann Arbor.
Have a great day!
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was a very well kept inn in a good location. The young woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I arrived later on a Sunday afternoon and the adjacent Briarwood Mall was closing. I didn't feel like driving into town to eat and the hotel does not have a restaurant. The clerk suggested that I might like the restaurant at the Hilton Garden Inn on the other side of the parking lot. She was right. The waitress and meal there were excellent. I was coming off a cross country trip with the expected good and bad lodging experiences. This was a good one and an nice way to end my 2 week stay in the U.S. before returning to Canada. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffy_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for the review, Jeff! I appreciate your kind words and feedback from your stay here at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor. It was wonderful to read that your experience with us was a great way to end your trip. I will be sure to let our team know of their job well done. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Thanks again!
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stopped at this property on our way to northwest Michigan and will be back every time we make this trip.

From the greeting by the room clerk to the immaculate comfortable studio the visit was perfect until checkout. The small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishes, glasses, flatware and coffee was well stocked. The bath had sufficient towels, shampoo etc. Breakfast was excellent.

They even have a wall-sized map on one side of the lobby where the staff willingly helps with suggestions and directions. You can see any local destination from the hotel in one view.

Obviously we were very impressed and the stay was a joy especially compared to the disaster that was the Hilton Royal Palms in Myrtle Beach two weeks ago. The Town Suites gives four time the service at one-fourth the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany V, Sales Coordinator at TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for a GLOWING review, Bill! I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations from check-in to checkout. One of my favorite features of the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Ann Arbor is also the TowneMap! It makes it easy to see the locations of Ann Arbors local favorites. I hope that your travels bring you this way again soon as we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Brittany Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
3 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ann Arbor
Hyatt Place Ann Arbor
#11 of 35 in Ann Arbor
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor

Address: 1301 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1562
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#3 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £81 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott® in Ann Arbor is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen and high-speed Internet access. You can keep up with your exercise program in our fully equipped fitness center or relax & play in the indoor pool and hot tub. Whether you are here for business or pleasure the proximity to many major businesses and attractions make the TownePlace Suites byb Marriott® the choice when staying in Ann Arbor. Conveniently located to University of Michigan, Briarwood Mall, University of Michigan Hospital, Mott's Children's Hospital and downtown Ann Arbor the TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Ann Arbor South is the hotel of choice for business or leisure travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing